PDA

View Full Version : deep bass

kbjt
05-05-2003, 11:15 PM
is it the lounger the pipe down the hole the deeper the bass????

paikiah
05-05-2003, 11:27 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
It's far more complex than that ...

http://www.diysubwoofers.org/prt/

hey Jmac, you know much about TL enclosures? As far as I know, TL boxes are what home audio speaker cabinets are. Are they good for SPL, or would it have to be super huge to achieve it?

paikiah
05-05-2003, 11:36 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
Not a whole lot ... I have no experience in either the design or fabrication of transmission lines ... They're supposed to be pretty hard to get right ...

harder than bandpass?

I heard form someone that loyd's got a TL box that's made for SPL... and I've also heard from elsewhere that a TL box for SPL was HUGE... size of a couch or something...

bigred78797
05-09-2003, 10:56 AM
Yes T-Line boxes can get huge. I built one that was over 100 L or 3&1/2 ft^3 without the port. It was huge but loud. I had my friends at my audio store to test it and it turned out 118.4 db @ 28hz with just one subwoofer in it( a cheap subwoofer at that) . I have one in my truck you can see it on inverted sub post. Usually i can get them tuned lower with a higher spl at the lower frequencies, over sealed or circular ported closures. Typically they are somewhat inefficient though, you can hit high db's at a tuned frequency but once you get out of that frequency range you begin to lose db's... but it's still loud but not as loud. They aren't really that hard to build or design, to me, but they are basically equivalent to the slotted ported boxes you see out there. They also require High excursion subwoofers, preferebly subs with Xlim over 10mm. I destroyed 3 $250 subs before figuring that out.

paikiah
05-09-2003, 11:04 AM
Originally posted by bigred78797