PDA

View Full Version : necassary to change out plug wires?



MyFartsStink
03-29-2008, 01:58 PM
I am going to be replacing my spark plugs and if the wires dont seem to have any problem, do they need to be replaced?

revrider1
03-29-2008, 02:03 PM
Id do em both while im there

Paaco1981
03-29-2008, 02:04 PM
Yeah do them both. Even though they may look great, wires need changing too usually if the plugs need it.

vipervin
03-29-2008, 02:04 PM
i believe its recommended to replace both together

MyFartsStink
03-29-2008, 02:53 PM
What type of wire should I use? And how would I do it in a chevy astro van? The engine is way up in there. Would I have to do it from the inside and take that cover off?

Ignatowski
03-29-2008, 05:57 PM
every 5 years

themommyvan
03-29-2008, 06:00 PM
What type of wire should I use? And how would I do it in a chevy astro van? The engine is way up in there. Would I have to do it from the inside and take that cover off?

You have to do it from inside. The plugs are a pain in the *** to change. Do both you will kick yourself in the *** for not doing both.

rollerdj
03-29-2008, 06:07 PM
allways do them both at the same time. and make sure to use some of the silicon stuff to keep water out.

Ferendon
03-30-2008, 12:08 AM
Might even do the cap and rotor to be safe. Depending on the year model, it might have coil packs, which probably wouldn't be a concern.