PDA

View Full Version : will new tweeters work with the old crossovers?



teamd0m1nat3
03-24-2008, 10:08 PM
i have viper 550.2 components and one tweeter quit, so i'm trying to find replacements, but will a different tweeter still work with the viper crossover?

Millertime1028
03-24-2008, 10:09 PM
Just find tweets that will match the HPF of the crossover

hoss
03-24-2008, 10:10 PM
no they wont work.

XO's are dependent on inductance, woofer design, resistance, and also the speakers ability to play certain freq's.

budahbuddy803
03-24-2008, 10:11 PM
i believe that it will work,but might not be satisfactory. I was advized not to run the RSD mid off of my passive crossover, but i never got the reasoning behind it. I would think that because passive crossovers cannot be adjusted it might cause problems if its not matched up with what its suppose to be crossing over ,

60ndown
03-24-2008, 10:13 PM
i have viper 550.2 components and one tweeter quit, so i'm trying to find replacements, but will a different tweeter still work with the viper crossover?

might work depending on the tweeter.

teamd0m1nat3
03-24-2008, 10:14 PM
i believe it might work also. but as far as how well it will sound idk. i haven't been able to find any real specs on the crossovers and speakers so that makes it harder to find matching tweets.

damonhargroves
03-24-2008, 10:16 PM
it will work fine!

damonhargroves
03-24-2008, 10:17 PM
now if the crossovers were 2 totally diff. ones i can see there being a problem with the hpf filter but since they are you shouldnt run into any problems

teamd0m1nat3
03-24-2008, 10:18 PM
ok, i guess it wont hurt to try. right now anything would be better than missing a tweeter.

Millertime1028
03-24-2008, 10:19 PM
^ yea worth a try ..

teamd0m1nat3
03-24-2008, 10:20 PM
my mtx amp should be set to high pass anyways right? even though it's going into a crossover for the highs and mids?

tcguy85
03-24-2008, 10:25 PM
the way i see it is passive crossovers aren't perfect for any car to begin with. so how much worse can it make it. hell it could even make it better. you would have to try it and see.

passives just aren't optimal in car audio to begin with.

teamd0m1nat3
03-24-2008, 10:27 PM
it's very possible. does anyone have suggestions for decent replacement tweeters? and could some answer my amp question..

MiniVanMan
03-25-2008, 03:32 PM
Yeah, set your amp to high pass.

As for your question. First you need to know the impedance of the tweeter the crossover was built for. Don't just assume it's 4 ohm. Make sure. Measure with a meter if you have to.

Then we can suggest some tweeters for you.

While you're waiting, read through this. It's lengthy and full of graphs, and nonsense, but it will show you how, and why crossovers are not interchangeable with different drivers.

http://www.diymobileaudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17429

teamd0m1nat3
03-27-2008, 05:38 PM
thanks for the advice, i'm looking at these tweeters now:

http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Product/Item/Main.aspx?g=430&i=113KFCT207&c=3&tp=107&tab=review

they come with the crossovers, any suggestions???

nismos14
03-28-2008, 10:11 AM
Will it work? Yes, will it sound good? If you are lucky.

teamd0m1nat3
03-29-2008, 12:15 AM
Will it work? Yes, will it sound good? If you are lucky.

very true. i decided i'm going to get a new tweeter+crossover set, and keep the mids i have now, with the same crossovers...

so basically i'll have two set's of crossovers.. one set for mids and one set for highs.

hmm... if only i had an amp for every speaker : )

that would be over kill though.

MiniVanMan
03-29-2008, 11:15 PM
very true. i decided i'm going to get a new tweeter+crossover set, and keep the mids i have now, with the same crossovers...

so basically i'll have two set's of crossovers.. one set for mids and one set for highs.

hmm... if only i had an amp for every speaker : )

that would be over kill though.

That would be called going active, or biamping if you're using passive crossovers.

You do need to realize one thing. There are a lot of crossovers out there that need to have all outputs hooked up to the appropriate load.

You can blow a crossover by leaving the circuit open.

teamd0m1nat3
03-30-2008, 02:22 PM
That would be called going active, or biamping if you're using passive crossovers.

You do need to realize one thing. There are a lot of crossovers out there that need to have all outputs hooked up to the appropriate load.

You can blow a crossover by leaving the circuit open.

the crossovers i have now have a switch that say "parallel bi-wire" on them". is that only if i have two amps?