PDA

View Full Version : Ported box question



kyle7560
03-24-2008, 11:24 AM
When making a ported box do you take the volume of the port into account when figuring out the volume.

groundpound4200
03-24-2008, 11:26 AM
no...its seperate. Pick a box volume, then work out the port.

kyle7560
03-24-2008, 11:33 AM
so if i need a 2.5ft box then i just make it 2.5 and throw in the port?

skadude016
03-24-2008, 11:43 AM
so if i need a 2.5ft box then i just make it 2.5 and throw in the port?

in the simplest terms yes

Immacomputer
03-24-2008, 11:55 AM
so if i need a 2.5ft box then i just make it 2.5 and throw in the port?

No. The airspace taken up by the port is NOT counted for net volume. Net volume is just the air in the enclosure that pushes against the port.

For example, if you have an enclosure with 12"x12"x12" internal dimensions and then add a port from the outside of the box (not going into it) the enclosure would still be a 1 cubic foot ported enclosure. But, if you put the port inside the 1 cube enclosure, you're left with a net volume that is less than 1 cube. You wouldn't call it a 1 cube box anymore because the port took up airspace.

skadude016
03-24-2008, 12:09 PM
No. The airspace taken up by the port is NOT counted for net volume. Net volume is just the air in the enclosure that pushes against the port.

For example, if you have an enclosure with 12"x12"x12" internal dimensions and then add a port from the outside of the box (not going into it) the enclosure would still be a 1 cubic foot ported enclosure. But, if you put the port inside the 1 cube enclosure, you're left with a net volume that is less than 1 cube. You wouldn't call it a 1 cube box anymore because the port took up airspace.

i think he meant 2.5 cu. ft. internal volume. at least thats what i thought he meant :)

iDesignBoxes
03-24-2008, 03:32 PM
No. The airspace taken up by the port is NOT counted for net volume. Net volume is just the air in the enclosure that pushes against the port.

For example, if you have an enclosure with 12"x12"x12" internal dimensions and then add a port from the outside of the box (not going into it) the enclosure would still be a 1 cubic foot ported enclosure. But, if you put the port inside the 1 cube enclosure, you're left with a net volume that is less than 1 cube. You wouldn't call it a 1 cube box anymore because the port took up airspace.

Couldn't have been said any better. Just account for port volume and subwoofer displacement and then add to your net volume.

kyle7560
03-24-2008, 04:11 PM
thanks for the help. I didnt think my box was gonna work because my port was gonna take up too much room so im fairly relieved to know the port area is taken off.