PDA

View Full Version : Quick Build



Girr
03-21-2008, 01:00 AM
I pulled the plans for this box from the sticky in this forum. 2.6cubes @32hz. Don't laugh lol. Took 2 hours from start to finish with no table saw heres the results.


Pic one is the end of the sheet I found in the garage after sitting all winter.
http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/9341/ssl20770sa7.th.jpg (http://img180.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ssl20770sa7.jpg)


Got Glue? You can see the front end of Big Blue.
http://img504.imageshack.us/img504/5070/ssl20774wa7.th.jpg (http://img504.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ssl20774wa7.jpg)

And the non covered product. I don't need pretty I want sound.
http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/2390/ssl20775ce0.th.jpg (http://img262.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ssl20775ce0.jpg)


Old box HAHAHAHA Pre-fab FTL! I guess at least the sub had time to break in cause I wont push it hard in that lol.
http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/3618/ssl20767ee5.th.jpg (http://img150.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ssl20767ee5.jpg)

Be Gentile lol.

Moto959
03-21-2008, 01:03 AM
lol at the prefab. looks good, how's it sound?

Girr
03-21-2008, 01:05 AM
Goes in tomorrow after work. O quick question. Because I'm being lazy there is no hole for the speaker wire I was just going to run it through the port Besides cosmetics any problems with doing that?

treasony
03-21-2008, 01:06 AM
vids!

blackbonnie
03-21-2008, 02:44 AM
Goes in tomorrow after work. O quick question. Because I'm being lazy there is no hole for the speaker wire I was just going to run it through the port Besides cosmetics any problems with doing that?

thats perfectly fine, thats what most people do or you could drill a small hole in the side or back and seal it up with some hot glue/silicone. that works good to

Girr
03-21-2008, 11:44 AM
Just noticed I made a slight error in putting it together. In the port area as you see in the pic in the link I put the inside port peice on the L wrong put it under instead of outside on the peice. http://img29.imageshack.us/my.php?image=25cubes32hz3125sqin0zp.png
Compare to my pic. Will that make much diffrence? I think because its adding that much in length and adding width I think its going change my tuning. Can any one tell me If im right, and what the diffrence may be.

Girr
03-21-2008, 03:01 PM
Any one? Shouldnt make a big diffrence should it?

Girr
03-21-2008, 10:39 PM
WOW! The difference between a pre-fab box and one made and tuned (close lol) is just crazy! Ill never go back. I know I'm only pushing 420w may be closer to 500w (amp birth sheet says the amp is rated at 931w) But it hits harder than my old green kappa 12's. I'm going to keep it like it is and get my pg components now that I'm happy with the low end.

Still would like to know if any one can tell me what the tuning would be after my screw up lol.

miker
03-21-2008, 10:41 PM
pretty sure it is ... You have two different port widths.. lol

Girr
03-22-2008, 01:04 AM
Gonna have to build another this summer. It sounds good for now. Until then any one know what the tuning or if its tuned at all lol?