PDA

View Full Version : Crossover next to amp



Lets Get It
03-20-2008, 12:42 AM
I read somewhere that it was bad to place the crossovers next to the amp. Is this true? I think they said like 3 ft away minimum

DBDRAGGUY
03-20-2008, 12:45 AM
I read somewhere that it was bad to place the crossovers next to the amp. Is this true? I think they said like 3 ft away minimum

What????? I have never heard such a thing.

Lets Get It
03-20-2008, 12:47 AM
yea it was on this forum

helotaxi
03-20-2008, 12:48 AM
Did "they" happen to say why? Not that it matters, still a bunch of crap.

Lets Get It
03-20-2008, 12:51 AM
i cant really recall, it was somethin like. the amp will cause the crossover to mess up cause of some kind of changin inside the amp. Im tryin to find the thread now

squeak9798
03-20-2008, 01:11 AM
Passive crossovers can pick up noise if located near sources of power such as fuse boxes, etc. This type of scenario may have been what the individual was referring to.....though I've not personally heard of any problems arising from proximity to an amplifier there have been instances where relocating the passive away from electrically "noisy" vehicle components has cured induced noise issues.

DBDRAGGUY
03-20-2008, 01:14 AM
Makes no sense, many of todays amps have a x-over built into them?

blackbonnie
03-20-2008, 01:44 AM
nonsense in my book

helotaxi
03-20-2008, 03:08 AM
Makes no sense, many of todays amps have a x-over built into them?

Not even related. Active vs. passive.

Lets Get It
03-20-2008, 11:21 AM
i cant find the post but im guessin its not true

Mr. C
03-20-2008, 11:23 AM
Have mounted x-overs in/on my amp racks for years. Had no problems.

cheapaudio
03-20-2008, 11:29 AM
ive got mine like 5 inches away from my amp

ashtrey1212
03-22-2008, 10:54 AM
I don't think its bad putting them next to the amp. But here's a question... Is it bad to mount them inside your doors? Cause thats where I got mine, and if I gotta run more wires anywhere else in my car I'm gonna be pissed.

Macklessdaddy
03-22-2008, 03:17 PM
ive got mine like 5 inches away from my amp

Whew,you barely made the 3 inch rule the o.p was talking about,move em 2 more inches closer and watch the noise in your system come alive:laugh:

konechiwa
03-22-2008, 07:53 PM
Passive crossovers can pick up noise if located near sources of power such as fuse boxes, etc. This type of scenario may have been what the individual was referring to.....though I've not personally heard of any problems arising from proximity to an amplifier there have been instances where relocating the passive away from electrically "noisy" vehicle components has cured induced noise issues.

the squeak has spoken. This thread should be closed and ended.