PDA

View Full Version : I need a new box for my two 12's



krisfnbz
03-13-2008, 10:20 PM
I tried searching but I couldnt get much info.

I think I need a new box for my TYpe S 12's. Right now im runnin in a prefab, and I think its about .75 per sub sealed.

Im thinkin about going to 2.5-3 cubes sealed for these. I want to retain the most SQ, Obviously I dont want to port these 300w subs to sound like ***....but I wouldnt mind getting SQL either.

Thoughts? powered off a PDX, so power is not an issue.

BuckyBoy
03-13-2008, 10:25 PM
Alpine recommends 1.17ft^3 sealed per sub.
If you need a builder let me know. I would love to build it for you.

Moto959
03-13-2008, 10:46 PM
I would be willing to build one for you, too. Just let me know!

DiDan
03-13-2008, 10:57 PM
i built a box for two 2005 type S for a friend of mine.

1.4 cu.ft. each worked pretty well.

if you want to gain a little on the lower frequencies go for a bit more, like 1.7 cubes.
less deep but some more kick in it would be like 1.2 cu.ft.

0.75 cu.ft. must sound a bit boomy and overdamped right now?! :(


DiDan

krisfnbz
03-13-2008, 11:36 PM
I appreciate it all guys.

miker
03-13-2008, 11:49 PM
Build bigger than they recommend. They recommend some **** like 1.75 ported for the type R.. you need more like 2.5....

krisfnbz
03-14-2008, 12:34 AM
Im probably going with 3-3.5 cubes...I really like these subs... they hit nice and clean. cant wait to finish deadening my trunk. Too many fuvking rattles. Cheap civic.