PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a new box???



ARK_SWAMP_RIDER
03-13-2008, 09:42 PM
I have a 97 Toyota 4runner. I currently am running 2 JBL GTO 10's pushed by a RF 360a2 amp. The specs say a sealed box should be .75 cu. ft per sub. I have this box:
http://www.proboxrocks.com/products/enclosures/unloaded/hatchback/210HB/index.shtml
I have heard much debate over prefab vs. custom, but would like some input on this for sealed applications. If I go custom, I will build it myself, and it will be my first box, so probably not excellent quality. Would the custom box be worth the time and effort? Thanks.

btdickey99
03-13-2008, 09:44 PM
yes

Famous_78
03-13-2008, 09:45 PM
Its always worth the effort your learning everytime.

SPY
03-13-2008, 09:48 PM
it says 1" thick mounting plate but how thick is the rest of it?

Looks like 1/2" to me. Should be 3/4"

As far as building your first box and having it come out crappy, you have to start somewhere. Or you can PM me (or one of the other box builders on the site) for a quote on a custom box.

60ndown
03-13-2008, 09:51 PM
I have a 97 Toyota 4runner. I currently am running 2 JBL GTO 10's pushed by a RF 360a2 amp. The specs say a sealed box should be .75 cu. ft per sub. I have this box:
http://www.proboxrocks.com/products/enclosures/unloaded/hatchback/210HB/index.shtml
I have heard much debate over prefab vs. custom, but would like some input on this for sealed applications. If I go custom, I will build it myself, and it will be my first box, so probably not excellent quality. Would the custom box be worth the time and effort? Thanks.

you dont need a new box,

hows your bass sound?

hoss
03-13-2008, 09:51 PM
dont need one, but if you want to learn and maybe have some fun with some buddies, why not :)

ARK_SWAMP_RIDER
03-13-2008, 10:03 PM
By no means do I have money burning a whole in my pocket. I am looking to do some upgrades, the list of what I was thinking is a box, component set, and maybe a second amp for the components. I have heard different opinions regarding this, sealed I dont know that it matters that it is prefab. If I dont build the box, that leaves me some money for the amp. I would like to learn, but if it isnt going to change the sound it isnt worth it to me, cause as you can see I could spend it elsewhere. Thanks.

hoss
03-13-2008, 10:04 PM
save the money then and do some reading type learning :)

.75 cubes of prefab = .75 cubes of home made...

ARK_SWAMP_RIDER
03-13-2008, 10:05 PM
BTW, SPY can you clean out your pm's?

SPY
03-13-2008, 11:51 PM
BTW, SPY can you clean out your pm's?

Cleaned

MyFartsStink
03-14-2008, 02:44 AM
Dont get a probox, this is the biggest waste of money.

ARK_SWAMP_RIDER
03-14-2008, 09:52 AM
I already had it, not looking to get it. I am running my current setup in it, which is why I was considering building my own. Why do you say dont get a probox?? Thanks.

djman37
03-14-2008, 10:07 AM
WOW
The good; HDF is used over other materials.
The bad;
(quoted from link from OP)
To achieve maximum performance, we recommend using an amp with "Bass Boost" and a 12 to 18 dB boost at 45 Hz with the crossover point at 90 Hz and down. With gains set correctly and "Bass Boost" turned on, your ProBox will deliver an awesome performance you'll want to show off to all your friends.

It doesn't mention internal bracing, so I doubt there is any and they don't mention material thickness so I'd agree it's probably 1/2"

edit again. the raw pic of the 'super bass' box does show ribbing.

ARK_SWAMP_RIDER
03-14-2008, 10:51 AM
So I am guessing a box custom built with 3/4 MDF would be better?