PDA

View Full Version : Working on front stage with LOW BUDGET



ARK_SWAMP_RIDER
03-13-2008, 08:39 PM
I have 2 JBL 10's powered by a fosgate 2 channel amp. I am wanting to improve SQ, so thought adding a component set would be the best way to achieve that. Here are the ones I was considering, mainly to match my subs:
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_7432_--+OVERSTOCK+CLOSEOUT-+--+JBL+GTO507C.html
I would probably also add this:
http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Product/Item/Main.aspx?g=762&i=237XT52&search=237xt&tp=2809
This will be ran off of the head unit. How does this setup sound? I am on a budget of about $100, have considered an amp but want to try it off the head unit first. Is there anything better for the price? Thanks.

Colt9699
03-13-2008, 08:47 PM
I like JBL comps, had a set previously and they did quite well.

running them off the HU for now would be ok but an amp is highly recomended

ARK_SWAMP_RIDER
03-13-2008, 08:59 PM
I am going to look at a kicker 100.2 or 150.2 to power them. I am new, and my factory speakers sound good to me, BECAUSE I have never heard anything better. For that reason, I think running them off the head unit will be fine. If I do not like it, I will get the amp later, but that is a consideration. Thanks a lot, anyone else?

Colt9699
03-13-2008, 09:05 PM
for about the same cash as those JBL's you can get PG rsd's that everyone is raving about.

ARK_SWAMP_RIDER
03-13-2008, 11:48 PM
Instead of wasting money on low quality stuff, I am considering just replacing the factory speakers with these: http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Product/Item/Main.aspx?o=r&g=52100&i=500SPS17C2&tp=94&tab=review
I know it won't sound as good as the components and will be harder to tune, but will it help any at all since I will be running off the head unit? Thank you.

miker
03-13-2008, 11:54 PM
Pg RSD's *****..

ronjon228
03-14-2008, 03:14 AM
Yep, as all the others have said, PG RSD's. $87.00 SHIPPED from Ebay. Mine will be here Monday. :D

mlstrass
03-14-2008, 08:20 AM
Then pick up a Profile amp to power them when you get the $$$.....

ARK_SWAMP_RIDER
03-14-2008, 08:27 AM
I am still playing around with numbers to find out what I can do. I am guessing the RSD's will be a good set, much better than the others?? Thanks.

DejaWiz
03-14-2008, 09:40 AM
Yes, the RSd's will make love to your ears if you install and power then correctly. Deaden your doors, if not seal and deaded them. The RSd's love power according to all the reviews.... give them a clean 2x120-150w rms to get the most out of them.

Also look for deals on the Pioneer TS-C160R, as they can be had for around the $120 range. They'll do just fine off of 2x50-120w rms.

ace_800
03-14-2008, 09:51 AM
x5, it looks like now, on the RSd's

ARK_SWAMP_RIDER
03-14-2008, 01:04 PM
OK, system has changed. I am planning to run the PG RSD's, I guess 5 1/4 inch ones. I will power this with a Cerwin Vega EXL-400.4 amp. Does this sound like a good combo for less than $200? Thanks a lot.

Etac
03-14-2008, 02:54 PM
i cant wait till they run out of rsd's
im sick of hearing about these speakers lol

Symon_say
03-15-2008, 10:07 PM
i cant wait till they run out of rsd's
im sick of hearing about these speakers lol

They did like a month ago, and they bring more :p

miker
03-15-2008, 10:18 PM
OK, system has changed. I am planning to run the PG RSD's, I guess 5 1/4 inch ones. I will power this with a Cerwin Vega EXL-400.4 amp. Does this sound like a good combo for less than $200? Thanks a lot.


Umm, get a 2 ch amp, would be cheaper, and have more power.. (Not sure if you can bridge both channles on that amp.)

Bipolar
03-15-2008, 10:19 PM
PG rsd's for sure and any amp is better then running off the HU.........almost

miker
03-15-2008, 10:42 PM
PG rsd's for sure and any amp is better then running off the HU.........almost

?? He could spend that 100$ on a different 2ch amp and be happier. . .

tcguy85
03-15-2008, 11:10 PM
or get a 4 channel and bridge it for now, then when you decide to go active you'll have the 4 channels you will need.

miker
03-15-2008, 11:21 PM
or get a 4 channel and bridge it for now, then when you decide to go active you'll have the 4 channels you will need.

Well that would make sense wouldn't it.

ARK_SWAMP_RIDER
03-16-2008, 12:11 AM
LOL, after all this I may be trading vehicles, a great deal has came up. I am still considering this, but it will be a week or so before I know if I will still have the 4runner. I just found a deal on that amp, not really stuck on it. Thanks for the info.