PDA

View Full Version : single chamber



MaXiMa
04-29-2003, 10:30 PM
ok if you have a 4 cuft box for 2 subs and u just keep it as a single chamber box would that be the same as having 2 2cuft chambers or 2 4cuft chambers? also kinda off the topic what gauge of wire do u think i will need for a 1600 watt amp?

Trixter
04-30-2003, 11:56 AM
It would be 2cu'/sub.

12g would be plenty.

MaXiMa
04-30-2003, 07:25 PM
you think i only need 12 gauge? **** i thought i was gonna need like 8 or 4. well i will need those a little later when i get my second amp

Wonderbread
04-30-2003, 07:30 PM
WHOA WHOA WHOA!!
what amp?
for speaker wire, 12 awg is as big as you are going to need... now pwoer wire is another story.

jbl_marshall21
04-30-2003, 07:40 PM
well is that a 1600 watt peak power amp or 1600 rms?

for 1600 rms i would say atleast 4 gauge or bigger. but if its 1600 watt peak then 4 gauge or smaller. bigger is always safer

MaXiMa
05-01-2003, 12:02 AM
i am probably gonna have 2 better audio 1600.1 pushin to 15" XXX. hopefully i will be able to shatter my rear winshield with this setup. if i dont i will use a bat.

Wonderbread
05-01-2003, 12:33 AM
k, taht's FAR too much power for that sub first off...
second off, your car's electrical system doesnt ahve a prayer, and you will need like at LEAST 0 awg wire...

Randy Savage
05-01-2003, 12:35 AM
Is there a point to sending that much power to an XXX?

Their RMS is 1600, not 3000....

Wonderbread
05-01-2003, 12:48 AM
plus, unless you getr the dual 1 ohm coils, there is NO point in runnign those amps..
the XXX is quad 1 ohm coils... the best you can do is run each amp at 2 ohm...
which is a ludicrous waste of cash

MaXiMa
05-02-2003, 07:53 PM
sry i messed up my post i ment i would have 2 better audio amps and 2 15" XXX's. u guys are right. now i will have to get the resonant engineerin amp for the subs.