PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer



R0ID_RAGE
03-04-2008, 01:49 PM
yes...not so much a quality system, but cheap...and sounded decent.

I've posted this before(like 4 months ago) and haven't figured it out yet.

Should a 22w x 4 (rms) HeadUnit **** up 50w RMS speakers? the HU volume goes up to 60, what would be the result of playing at that level--just for a short period(30 seconds)? would any damage be done to the speakers?

can someone find me better speakers...this is the HU
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_8567_Pioneer+Premier+DEH-P590iB.html
(pioneer premier 590ib...22x4 rms, 94dB impedence)
speakers were pioneer TS-A6881R 4-way
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_6379_Pioneer+TS-A6881R.html

is there ANY reason they would sound like **** now (other than wiring...they are wired correctly)

2002XLT
03-04-2008, 01:50 PM
you probably clipped them.

R0ID_RAGE
03-04-2008, 01:56 PM
you probably clipped them.

what exactly would i be looking for (sound wise) to know for sure?

and how can I prevent this in the future? HU has no way of setting gains, I had the HPF on...

also, if I buy new door speakers(ford)...what would the difference between 5x7 and 6x8 be? I'm using them strictly for mids/highs, 2 12's in the back for bass

also, would it be worth getting bass blockers for them? or should it be fine with only the HPF on?

btw, they sound horrible now at low and high volume...

R0ID_RAGE
03-04-2008, 03:23 PM
From the search button I see pioneer revs are very well endorsed by you all...

would these run fine off my HU? what would be the difference between 6x8 and 6.5 ?

also, what should I do about the rear speakers?

what about these in the back?
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=15347

ello?

R0ID_RAGE
03-04-2008, 03:52 PM
seriously^^^

should the revs work fine with my DEH590ib HU amp?

and should I get the infinities for the back, or should I match and get pioneer?

bdavies11
03-04-2008, 04:29 PM
You probably damaged the internal amp in the H/u. Even tho it says 22rms per channel u probably get about half of that to be honest. I doubt you'd blow ur speakers off headunit power.
If u have any other working speakers lyin around hook em up and see if they too sound like ****.
As far as preventing this from happening again.... Don't turn your H/u up to 60. ;)

R0ID_RAGE
03-04-2008, 05:10 PM
You probably damaged the internal amp in the H/u. Even tho it says 22rms per channel u probably get about half of that to be honest. I doubt you'd blow ur speakers off headunit power.
If u have any other working speakers lyin around hook em up and see if they too sound like ****.
As far as preventing this from happening again.... Don't turn your H/u up to 60. ;)

how high can you turn your pioneer HU up before it starts clipping. I'm getting it around 30. Is that normal, It just isn't loud at 30...at all.

R0ID_RAGE
03-07-2008, 06:14 PM
is there a way to check whether its my speakers or HU internal amp without having an extra set of speakers?

2002XLT
03-07-2008, 06:15 PM
you can take your headunit to just about any car audio place and they will bench it and let you know.

krisfnbz
03-07-2008, 06:35 PM
The Point is, when you are running any aftermarket speaker(or really any speaker rather), when powering with just the head unit you are not giving the speakers the power they want to see. Just by getting an amp you will improve your system like crazy...even if you dont want to listen to it at higher volumes.

Even some "cheap" alpines or pioneers, you will see a big diff in an amped signal.

R0ID_RAGE
03-10-2008, 11:20 AM
The Point is, when you are running any aftermarket speaker(or really any speaker rather), when powering with just the head unit you are not giving the speakers the power they want to see. Just by getting an amp you will improve your system like crazy...even if you dont want to listen to it at higher volumes.

Even some "cheap" alpines or pioneers, you will see a big diff in an amped signal.

would it be worth it now? If I got one, should I get a 4channel...wondering if you think my HU amp is completely shot, or if it would be ok to run the back 2 speakers?

or do you think I need a new HU as well? everything else works fine, the subs are runnin smooth(except my trunk rattle is sickening)

Pootie
03-10-2008, 11:25 AM
Just get an amp/

ultimate157
03-10-2008, 02:47 PM
you probably clipped them.

Wouldn't hurt the speakers.

R0ID_RAGE
03-10-2008, 05:03 PM
Wouldn't hurt the speakers.

anyone recommend an amp for teh ****** speakers?
2-channel or 4-channel?
preferably cheap:cool:

I do eventually want to throw some comps in there...not for another 4-5 months though.

ultimate157
03-10-2008, 05:26 PM
Check out profile amps...

http://www.profilecaraudio.com/amplifiers.htm

R0ID_RAGE
03-10-2008, 05:40 PM
Check out profile amps...

http://www.profilecaraudio.com/amplifiers.htm

...which one of those should I be looking at?
currently these speakers x4 http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_6379_Pioneer+TS-A6881R.html
rated at 50w rms
this HU http://sonicelectronix.com/item_8567_Pioneer+Premier+DEH-P590iB.html
22x4 RMS.

If i'm getting horrible quality sound coming from my speakers now, will it be ok to run my front speakers off a 2-channel amp and my rear off the HU...or will the rear speakers still sound awful?

so pretty much, should I get a 2 channel or 4 channel?

DejaWiz
03-10-2008, 05:46 PM
The CA440 or CL640 would be great choices if you want to amp all 4. Go with the CA200, CL300, 400SX, or the BA400 if you are wanting to amp just the fronts.

R0ID_RAGE
03-10-2008, 05:51 PM
The CA440 or CL640 would be great choices if you want to amp all 4. Go with the CA200, CL300, 400SX, or the BA400 if you are wanting to amp just the fronts.

which do you think? do you think my HU amp would be fine if it was only running the 2 rear speakers?

also, could someone point me in the direction of how I would go about wiring this amp(to the car). I already have an amp in the trunk for my 2 subs, with 4 guage running to the batter (fuse right on top of the battery)...should I just run 8 guage to the same battery through a fuse or ???

DejaWiz
03-10-2008, 06:33 PM
which do you think? do you think my HU amp would be fine if it was only running the 2 rear speakers?

also, could someone point me in the direction of how I would go about wiring this amp(to the car). I already have an amp in the trunk for my 2 subs, with 4 guage running to the batter (fuse right on top of the battery)...should I just run 8 guage to the same battery through a fuse or ???

It's all going to come down to preference. An amp will certainly clean up the signal (~1% THD from the amp vs. ~5% from the HU), but if you want to bring the sound stage forward, then amping only the fronts will certainly be the route to go.

As for which amp, compare the prices and rms at 4 ohms and then decide which will give you the best bang for the buck. Can't go wrong with any of them, imo.

Check out this little schematic: http://www.bcae1.com/images/swfs/systemdesignassistant.swf
...and take away 2 amps. Your wiring should look similar if you plan to use a distribution block (recommended, but not necessary).

R0ID_RAGE
03-10-2008, 09:08 PM
It's all going to come down to preference. An amp will certainly clean up the signal (~1% THD from the amp vs. ~5% from the HU), but if you want to bring the sound stage forward, then amping only the fronts will certainly be the route to go.

As for which amp, compare the prices and rms at 4 ohms and then decide which will give you the best bang for the buck. Can't go wrong with any of them, imo.

Check out this little schematic: http://www.bcae1.com/images/swfs/systemdesignassistant.swf
...and take away 2 amps. Your wiring should look similar if you plan to use a distribution block (recommended, but not necessary).

thank you, you guys have all been extremely helpful.


where would I go about getting a dist. block with a 4awg input, a 4awg output and an 8awg output?

btw, this might sound stupid, but i'll give it a shot anyway.
my sub amp is a PIONEER GM5300T (380w rms bridged @4ohm) 125w x 2 @4ohm...
can I use this to power my speakers, and get a class D for my subs like I should have in the first place (current speakers are rated at 50w rms)

obviously the amp isn't enough to power 2 12"CVR's...it is a good amp though(no problems in the year i've had it...does a **** good job for how little power its feeding the subs)

btw...if I do get another amp, will 600rms @1ohm on 2, 4ohm dvc kicker CVR's make enough of a difference that I will notice? and which would you choose?
http://sonicelectronix.com/item_8779_Pioneer+Premier+PRS-D1100M.html
http://sonicelectronix.com/item_4334_DEI+-+Directed+Audio+D1200.html
http://sonicelectronix.com/item_11795_Kenwood+KAC-9104D.html

DejaWiz
03-11-2008, 11:32 AM
thank you, you guys have all been extremely helpful.


where would I go about getting a dist. block with a 4awg input, a 4awg output and an 8awg output?

btw, this might sound stupid, but i'll give it a shot anyway.
my sub amp is a PIONEER GM5300T (380w rms bridged @4ohm) 125w x 2 @4ohm...
can I use this to power my speakers, and get a class D for my subs like I should have in the first place (current speakers are rated at 50w rms)

obviously the amp isn't enough to power 2 12"CVR's...it is a good amp though(no problems in the year i've had it...does a **** good job for how little power its feeding the subs)

btw...if I do get another amp, will 600rms @1ohm on 2, 4ohm dvc kicker CVR's make enough of a difference that I will notice? and which would you choose?
http://sonicelectronix.com/item_8779_Pioneer+Premier+PRS-D1100M.html
http://sonicelectronix.com/item_4334_DEI+-+Directed+Audio+D1200.html
http://sonicelectronix.com/item_11795_Kenwood+KAC-9104D.html

Not a stupid idea, whatsoever! It's always a good thing to utilize what you already have, and that amp will run the two fronts quite well.

Check out the KAC-X10D (http://www.millionbuy.com/kenkacx10d.html) and the KAC-X1R (http://www.millionbuy.com/kenkacx1r.html). Those 12" CVR's you have can easily handle a clean 400-600w rms each. You should notice a huge difference coming from roughly 190w rms each and going to 300-500w rms each.

As for the distro block, scout around at KnuKonceptz (http://www.knukonceptz.com/productMaster.cfm?Category=Distribution%20/%20Fuse%20Blocks) and Darvex (http://www.darvex.com/miva/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Category_Code=CAW).

R0ID_RAGE
03-11-2008, 11:44 AM
Not a stupid idea, whatsoever! It's always a good thing to utilize what you already have, and that amp will run the two fronts quite well.

Check out the KAC-X10D (http://www.millionbuy.com/kenkacx10d.html) and the KAC-X1R (http://www.millionbuy.com/kenkacx1r.html). Those 12" CVR's you have can easily handle a clean 400-600w rms each. You should notice a huge difference coming from roughly 190w rms each and going to 300-500w rms each.

As for the distro block, scout around at KnuKonceptz (http://www.knukonceptz.com/productMaster.cfm?Category=Distribution%20/%20Fuse%20Blocks) and Darvex (http://www.darvex.com/miva/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Category_Code=CAW).

would it be fine to run 4guage power wire from battery to distro, the 4 guage power from distro to SUB amp...and 4 guage from distro to SPEAKER amp?

or do I have to re-run 0 guage to my battery?

ryan8551226
03-11-2008, 11:52 AM
I would say you should be fine.

DejaWiz
03-11-2008, 12:29 PM
would it be fine to run 4guage power wire from battery to distro, the 4 guage power from distro to SUB amp...and 4 guage from distro to SPEAKER amp?

or do I have to re-run 0 guage to my battery?

Use the following tables here (http://www.bcae1.com/wire.htm) as a rough estimator to see if you will be exceeding the capabilities of what you have now.