PDA

View Full Version : Converting a ported box to sealed



dan5505
02-24-2008, 01:24 AM
How would you guys do this. Here is my idea. Cut at the red lines and put new end plates on. I would cut it so that the net volume would be somewhere between 2.0 and 2.6 cubic feet. Anyone have a better idea?

http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t124/dan5505/sub%20box%20build/P1030063-1.jpg

fbi90909
02-24-2008, 01:27 AM
build a new box.

dan5505
02-24-2008, 01:28 AM
yeah, but i dont want to buy another sheet of mdf.

fbi90909
02-24-2008, 01:37 AM
depending on what tools you use to cut the box you may or may not get straight cuts. per say if you use a circular saw with proper alignment you might get a straight cut all the way around which you would then need a peice of wood to cover opening.
but if you use a sawzaw or a jig saw you're defenately not going to make a straight cut all the way around which would pretty much ruin the box..

it's easier to just build a new box instead of going through the hassle.

ngsm13
02-24-2008, 01:38 AM
Do it with a good circular saw... and go for it.

Glue and seal the inside with silicone...

nG

dan5505
02-24-2008, 01:41 AM
Do it with a good circular saw... and go for it.

Glue and seal the inside with silicone...

nG

Yeah, i think ill go that route. Right now, the vented box is useless to me so i might as well hack it up. I love your avatar by the way. LMAO

ngsm13
02-24-2008, 01:43 AM
:woot:

nG

IDSkoT
02-24-2008, 03:19 AM
nG wins again.

That whole thing seems kinda shady. You should build a new box, honestly. It'd be a lot easier. If you have a Home Depot by your house, you can get them to cut out everything (minus the cutout for the sub) at the store for free (with the purchase of the wood, of course) So you just have to cut out the sub, and glue.

Don't cheap out and waste such a good sub.

BrianChia
02-24-2008, 03:21 AM
**** dude, just glue a screw a piece of wood over the port and gasket it down. See how you like the lower Q box before you cut it up.

tez4life
02-24-2008, 03:56 AM
How would you guys do this. Here is my idea. Cut at the red lines and put new end plates on. I would cut it so that the net volume would be somewhere between 2.0 and 2.6 cubic feet. Anyone have a better idea?

http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t124/dan5505/sub%20box%20build/P1030063-1.jpg



Why are you switching from ported to sealed? Just curious....

Blove1991
02-24-2008, 10:18 AM
Why are you switching from ported to sealed? Just curious....

x5

crownvicdriver
02-24-2008, 10:22 AM
nG wins again.

That whole thing seems kinda shady. You should build a new box, honestly. It'd be a lot easier. If you have a Home Depot by your house, you can get them to cut out everything (minus the cutout for the sub) at the store for free (with the purchase of the wood, of course) So you just have to cut out the sub, and glue.

Don't cheap out and waste such a good sub.

I have gotten home depot to cut out box pieces for me before. They always usually come out with a few pieces off by 1/8 of an inch or less and I have to do alot of sanding. I just started doing my own cuts to save time.

dan5505
02-24-2008, 01:13 PM
I am going to try putting something over the port first, to see if i like sealed better. This was my first ported box and i found out that i dont really care for how it sounds. By sealing it, i was thinking that i would get a flatter response and better SQ. I can build a new box by myself, i have all the tools. Im just a cheap *** and dont want to pay another $30 for a sheet of mdf.

edit: also, i know i can get a flatter response by tuning lower. right now its at 32 hz. sealing it seamed easier though.

danp129
02-24-2008, 04:14 PM
Did you try firing the sub towards the back hatch?

dan5505
02-24-2008, 04:18 PM
no, i never did. I was told that would make it louder, and i dont really need it any louder. If anything, its too loud for a daily driver. So im lookin to get the best SQ i can out of it. Whenever i get it setup how i like it, ill carpet the box and make it look nicer. It looks like **** right now

DBDRAGGUY
02-24-2008, 04:25 PM
Save the box, and build another. A easier solution would be to cover the port, and add some scrap mdf to the inside of the enclosure to displace the extra cubes. I did something similiar a few years back by adding some small boxes to the inside of a large enclosure to manipulate the tuning frequency without hacking up a 15 cube enclosure.

dan5505
02-24-2008, 07:09 PM
I just screwed a plate over the port to try it out. Much better. I guess i just prefer sealed enclosures.

ultimate157
02-24-2008, 07:54 PM
Try up firing it. I have my mag up and it sounds good. Quieter than rear-firing.