PDA

View Full Version : IVA-W200 with PTR7 Alpine Video Bypass



wheeler8921
02-23-2008, 07:52 PM
Ok, so I just bought an IVA-W200. I was curious if anyone has had experience on installing a PTR7 Alpine Video Bypass Module to enable DVD's to run while driving. Any information on the installation of one of these would be greatly appreciated. Is it as simple as twisting wires together, or do I have to ground wires to chassi, etc?

amoffitt
02-23-2008, 07:55 PM
I think your talking about TR-7 not PTR7( never heard of that) but its really simple to install the instructions are simple

wheeler8921
02-23-2008, 08:25 PM
the PTR-7 is the same thing as the TR-7. Idk what the P stands for, but this module allows you to do a lot of things electrically not just with the alpine bypass, but all i want is the alpine bypass. Has anyone installed one before?

bumpin buick
02-23-2008, 08:28 PM
I am interested in knowing also as I bought one a month ago and have yet to instal it. I bought it from twistedpunisher so Im sure he will be able to tell you how to use it

wheeler8921
02-23-2008, 08:31 PM
whats his real name? That user name wasn't valid.

inapontiac
02-23-2008, 08:34 PM
P = Peripheral

That's all. Same piece.

wheeler8921
02-23-2008, 08:47 PM
thought so. thx, anyword on how to install tho?

bumpin buick
02-23-2008, 08:51 PM
twisztdpunisher

bumpin buick
02-23-2008, 08:51 PM
im pretty sure thats it

wheeler8921
02-23-2008, 08:58 PM
ok, i see you got the w200. How you like it? Is the installation fairly easy and how are all the features?

bumpin buick
02-23-2008, 09:01 PM
i havent been home yet, so i havent installed it yet looks awesome though

theres vids on cnet baout it

wheeler8921
02-23-2008, 09:20 PM
yea i seen em. Looks sick can't wait for this person to get back to me. I hate buying ***** on ebay and people taking forever to get back to you. You think they would be all up on that cchit, but i gess not... my biggest pet peeve..

lashlee
02-23-2008, 10:28 PM
It's simple, just follow the instructions. IIRC, there is four, maybe five wires that need to be connected.

wheeler8921
02-23-2008, 10:38 PM
have u installed one before? People always say oh ya its easy and never done it then the instructions are way different and all foreign.

lashlee
02-24-2008, 01:08 AM
Yeah, did one about two months ago for my 205. Here is the instructions:

http://peripheralelectronics.com/periph_products/Instructions/PTR7INSTR%204-5-04.pdf

green wire connects to remote
blue wire to foot brake
white wire to parking brake
red wire to ignition wire

do not connnect anything else to the remote wire, and don't use the power antenna lead for the green wire.

Like I said, follow the directions, and there is only four wires to connect. It's already programmed out of the package to do the alpine bypass. If you need any more help, take it to a shop. Ruining a H/U because you don't want to spend money is foolish. A little money is worth having a unit that works like it should!!!

amoffitt
02-24-2008, 01:12 AM
if you can follow instructions and match colors that basically all there is to it, and a few triggers

Express-
02-24-2008, 02:46 AM
Yeah, did one about two months ago for my 205. Here is the instructions:

http://peripheralelectronics.com/periph_products/Instructions/PTR7INSTR%204-5-04.pdf

green wire connects to remote
blue wire to foot brake
white wire to parking brake
red wire to ignition wire

do not connnect anything else to the remote wire, and don't use the power antenna lead for the green wire.

Like I said, follow the directions, and there is only four wires to connect. It's already programmed out of the package to do the alpine bypass. If you need any more help, take it to a shop. Ruining a H/U because you don't want to spend money is foolish. A little money is worth having a unit that works like it should!!!

i printed that link off earlier tonight, but do i wire all of these wires to the harness on the w200, or the wires connected to the car. Also, is that green wire spliced into the remote or what? Connected to remote wire, then those two wires to the remote on the harness or what?
(This is wheeler8921) I was banned for zero apparent reason a few hours ago... absoutely absurd.

jluv
02-24-2008, 11:58 AM
Yep, just follow the instructions. They are pretty straight forward. I have done that install about 6 or 8 times.

lashlee
02-24-2008, 11:31 PM
i printed that link off earlier tonight, but do i wire all of these wires to the harness on the w200, or the wires connected to the car. Also, is that green wire spliced into the remote or what? Connected to remote wire, then those two wires to the remote on the harness or what?
(This is wheeler8921) I was banned for zero apparent reason a few hours ago... absoutely absurd.

The only one that will not be between the pac and alpine is the red. It will also connect to the car harness. The other three will go just between the pac and alpine harness.

If you can follow the directions, all these questions will disappear once you have it in front of you. It's really not that hard.

wheeler8921
02-25-2008, 10:35 PM
The only one that will not be between the pac and alpine is the red. It will also connect to the car harness. The other three will go just between the pac and alpine harness.

If you can follow the directions, all these questions will disappear once you have it in front of you. It's really not that hard.

cool, thx.

wheeler8921
02-28-2008, 10:31 PM
GOT THE ALPINE!
I installed it tonight and got the bypass working, but one thing... NO SOUND! Help me, how do i bypass my internal amp or fix this?

lashlee
02-29-2008, 12:47 AM
Are you using the internal amp, or using external? Are you using a 701 with it as well?

wheeler8921
02-29-2008, 09:31 AM
Yes I am using the internal amp, and I am not using a 701. Got the TR-7 to work first try, now its the ****sound..

lashlee
02-29-2008, 02:52 PM
It may be necessary to pull it out and wire it in off of a power supply, and check all the speaker wires with a separate speaker on a test bench.

wheeler8921
02-29-2008, 05:34 PM
I think its the blue wire on the car harness wired to the remote wire on the alpine harness. Imma go try that and let u know what I find out. I dont have any mounting brackets or anything like that, so I'm phuk'd. I may take it in town and have them do it.

wheeler8921
02-29-2008, 09:45 PM
got sound got video got bass. but the phuckin unit wont fit in my opening flushly. Way too ghey.. Imma run it into Audiosource tomorrow, and see if they can do something about it. I paid too much to not have it done right.

h0rsies
07-23-2009, 10:17 AM
wait what confuses me is all the grounding and stuff. and how do you find out which wires which in the car. do you know the colors of the car wires that the ptr7 has to connect to. Also it says to ground one wire to chasis and the other says to ground 2 times and wait 3 seconds. does that mean I have to ground 2 wires in 3 spots?

PaulD
07-24-2009, 04:18 PM
It's fairly straight forward ......

the ground 2 times etc ... is the PROGRAMMING part, once it's programmed you will only have one wire going to ground.