PDA

View Full Version : ported box



ws140
04-24-2003, 12:21 PM
I am making a 2ft^3 box with a 2.5x12.5 port 13.5 inches long what frequence is that?

paikiah
04-24-2003, 12:24 PM
Based on my findings on WinISD pro usng a single shiva 2...

roughly 48Hz... SPL number, I'd imagine.

ws140
04-24-2003, 12:40 PM
nice that is what I am building for my kicker comp subs. How could I lower it down to 33 hz?

91lacdeville
04-24-2003, 02:19 PM
make the port longer.

91lacdeville
04-24-2003, 02:21 PM
it would have to be 33.89 inches long. And is that volume with the displacement of the sub(s)

ws140
04-24-2003, 02:23 PM
I am confused becuase I went to http://jlaudio.com/tutorials/ports/index.html and got 34.3 as my port frequency so is this right or not?

91lacdeville
04-24-2003, 08:44 PM
Originally posted by ws140
I am confused becuase I went to http://jlaudio.com/tutorials/ports/index.html and got 34.3 as my port frequency so is this right or not?
well according to my winisd program it would be tuned to 48 hz.

Randy Savage
04-24-2003, 08:47 PM
First of all, that box is too small for them, you are looking at around probably 1.3 cubes after displacements, and this is for 2 Comp's, right?

You need to go bigger, at least 3 cubes. If you want to stick with that size, though, you can make the port smaller, for example- make the port 2"x6"x12", that will achieve a tuning of 33 hz with 2 cubes.

ws140
04-25-2003, 09:36 AM
dude it is 2ft^3 for each sub after displacement. so that port is 2x6 by 12 inches long right?