PDA

View Full Version : Can I chage the tuning?



Fear Of Theive
02-18-2008, 01:58 PM
I have a 4^3 box at 32hz,I would like to have the box tuned higher. but its a slot port so instead of building a box I was curious if their was a way i could do it without rebuilding.

http://s143.photobucket.com/albums/r144/FEAROFSNOW/box/

Pics of the box

Johnny Drama
02-18-2008, 02:51 PM
Good question.

dman4486
02-18-2008, 02:52 PM
cut the port shorter

jntarpwned
02-18-2008, 02:53 PM
I have a 4^3 box at 32hz,I would like to have the box tuned higher. but its a slot port so instead of building a box I was curious if their was a way i could do it without rebuilding.

http://s143.photobucket.com/albums/r144/FEAROFSNOW/box/

Pics of the box


If you cant get in there to chop some of the port off you will have to add wood to the inside of the box, making it smaller and tuning to go up.

Fear Of Theive
02-18-2008, 02:56 PM
I can get inside the box,just take out my sub?

dman4486
02-18-2008, 03:16 PM
I can get inside the box,just take out my sub?

that would work, if you have enough space to get to the port with a saw

Fear Of Theive
02-18-2008, 03:18 PM
ok,would i cut the part thats in the box or the wall? Like the tunnel going to the slot port? Where would i cut in that pic. maybe draw me a line :)

Fear Of Theive
02-18-2008, 03:21 PM
This should be sticked

dman4486
02-18-2008, 03:37 PM
:idea:if you want to get really fancy with it, calculate how much port needs to go away, and you could just use a circle saw and cut parallel to the port and then just re-cap the end...your port area would change though!!

ie. cut on plain with the ports longest side and add one new piece of wood..this way you would not be changing the internal volume of the box when you cut away the port.

Fear Of Theive
02-18-2008, 05:04 PM
If you have aim contact me

dman4486
02-18-2008, 06:11 PM
If you have aim contact me

sn? ill be downtown until 8:30 or 9 tonight, so i may not be of much help by the time i get back:toast: maybe ill get back with ya tomorrow if not late tonight:D

mlstrass
02-19-2008, 12:20 AM
You can cut the port shorter, but it won't be easy with that brace in the way. Also your internal volume will go up, so you might need to add some bracing or pieces of wood to shrink the box back down.

Reciprocating saw would be your best bet if it'll fit in there...

Fear Of Theive
02-19-2008, 11:52 AM
Mlstrass The box size doesn't matter so if i cut down my port my box may be like 4.2 cubes or something?

dman4486
02-19-2008, 11:55 AM
box size will make a difference to tuning....larger box=lower tuning with port being the same

Fear Of Theive
02-19-2008, 11:59 AM
Oh,ok So couldn't i just add some like wood to the bottom? or the side's

ctstyle
02-19-2008, 12:03 PM
Id Just build another one, why get into so much work of modifying it...

Fear Of Theive
02-20-2008, 03:09 PM
Yea what's gonna happen, i noticed I'm bottoming out.

So tuning higher will help that right?