PDA

View Full Version : Help installing my Head Unit!!! please



maritoze
02-15-2008, 06:49 PM
Ok heres the deal I purchased a Kenwood kdc-789 and stock stereo had a 6 disc Cd changer i had the harness in and all hooked up but now sound then I realized that the speakers were all hooked up to a different cable wich has no plug to the HU

Im in the process of installing it as we speak and I need to know What I might have to buy Before the stores close

heres some pics
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h189/maritoze/100_0742.jpg

http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h189/maritoze/100_0741.jpg

how do i plug this
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h189/maritoze/100_0740.jpg

INTO THIS?>>????
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h189/maritoze/100_0742.jpg


All the other wires went into this of course
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h189/maritoze/100_0738.jpg

Please Help

Techchild
02-15-2008, 07:04 PM
Ok heres the deal I purchased a Kenwood kdc-789 and stock stereo had a 6 disc Cd changer i had the harness in and all hooked up but now sound then I realized that the speakers were all hooked up to a different cable wich has no plug to the HU

Im in the process of installing it as we speak and I need to know What I might have to buy Before the stores close

heres some pics
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h189/maritoze/100_0742.jpg

http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h189/maritoze/100_0741.jpg

how do i plug this
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h189/maritoze/100_0740.jpg

INTO THIS?>>????
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h189/maritoze/100_0742.jpg


All the other wires went into this of course
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h189/maritoze/100_0738.jpg

Please Help

looks like it goes into that circle on the right in the bottom picture

maritoze
02-15-2008, 07:06 PM
Oh no thats the stock H/U.That is where it went But all The speakers connect to that wire And theres no plug like that on the Kenwood

maritoze
02-15-2008, 07:23 PM
Could it be because the car has an external amp? will I need to bypass it somehow any help would be wonderful...plus the suns going down and I wont be able to finish

jmanpc
02-15-2008, 07:35 PM
Stock CD changer = no worky with aftermarket unit. What kind of car is it?

maritoze
02-15-2008, 07:41 PM
No Im now worried about thecd changer it came with a kenwood changer but the fact that I didnt get any sound when it was all installed to the harness becaus all the speakers were connected to that round looking cable that was SIMILAR to the cd changer cable.

maritoze
02-15-2008, 07:41 PM
No Im not worried about thecd changer it came with a kenwood changer but the fact that I didnt get any sound when it was all installed to the harness becaus all the speakers were connected to that round looking cable that was SIMILAR to the cd changer cable.

maritoze
02-15-2008, 07:43 PM
Its a 2002 Montero Sport Limited.

maritoze
02-15-2008, 08:47 PM
Anyone?

KaeZoo
02-15-2008, 10:42 PM
You do have a factory amp, though I'm not sure where it's located in the Montero. If you're keeping the stock speakers, you can buy a special harness that lets you use the factory amp with the new head unit. Here's a link. (http://www.amazon.com/METRA-70-7003-MITSUBISHI-INTEGRATION-HARNESS/dp/B0002ZGEO4) The Metra model number is 70-7003, if you want to call around and see if a local store has it.

maritoze
02-16-2008, 02:47 AM
thanks...I really appreciate it.