PDA

View Full Version : Built in Nav?



Shawn F.
02-12-2008, 02:21 PM
Can anyone please tell me what you think about this setup and if it has Navigation built in or do I need some kind of adapter. I need nav for the fire department so that is why I am looking for such a thing...
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=18720
I also want to have a good head unit for sound because in two months I am going to be hooking my car up with Kicker speakers and sub.
Thanks for any information!

ace_800
02-12-2008, 02:23 PM
Does not have Nav built in, you would need another clarion nav unit to get that one to have it.

Qbenjamin
02-12-2008, 02:25 PM
Navi unit's are going to run north of $650 :fyi:

Shawn F.
02-12-2008, 02:25 PM
Any idea what I would need for it to work? I'd hate to spend $450 bucks and need to spend another few hundred bucks for that to work...

ace_800
02-12-2008, 02:29 PM
Better off just finding a unit that has it built in. It will be cheaper in the long run than buying both units.

Shawn F.
02-12-2008, 02:31 PM
Any suggestions on a good one? I probably need one that flips out because it's going into a 93 Honda Prelude with a 5 speed so the shifter will get in the way if its a fixed built in unit...

ace_800
02-12-2008, 02:34 PM
Either of these is what you would need, from Clarions website

MAX675VD 2-DIN or VRX765VD 1-DIN mulitmedia stations

Or the new one on Online Car Stereo Here, Not Worth it, buy a full Nav ready unit. (http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=17284)

Shawn F.
02-12-2008, 02:38 PM
VRX765VD are you saying this one has it built in already? Or that is needs the thing on the link you sent?

ace_800
02-12-2008, 04:01 PM
VRX765VD are you saying this one has it built in already? Or that is needs the thing on the link you sent?


The VRX765VD woudl be the older version of the one I linked, it would be the Nav HDD portion needed for the Clarion unit you linked in your first post.

I don't have to much experience with any of the full nav units, I do know that most pioneer or eclipse units are good. I would personnal find a pioneer unit.

Shawn F.
02-12-2008, 08:13 PM
I have always had Pioneer too.. I will do that and look for one in Pioneer.
Thanks!