PDA

View Full Version : box prices



sk24iam
04-20-2003, 05:51 PM
I'm not going to be getting a box yet, but for future plans, how much would it cost for to have a box made for two subs to specific dimensions with the holes cut and carpeted, all ready to install?

ss3079
04-20-2003, 07:23 PM
If you do it yourself, cheap.

If you get it done at a shop, expensive.

MDF ~ $25-30
Screws ~ $10
Liquid Nails ~ $15
Silicon ~ $10
Carpet ~ $25-50

You can build your own, ready to install box, for about $50 - $100, in most cases.

A shop would charge you $100 +, in most cases, easy.

Keep in mind, ported boxes will usually cost more. Not like that should make a difference, though.

I say build it yourself...its real easy and inexpensive. Basic tools and woodworking skills are all you need.

- Steve

more_spl
04-20-2003, 08:25 PM
^^^ Those estimated prices are in Canadian funds.

Edit: price goes up as fabrications are added. IF you just want "a box" it will cost you about 40$ Canadian. That's for about a double box. I could do that on a budget. But when you add carpet, carpet glue, etc, your price boosts

sk24iam
04-21-2003, 01:53 AM
I don't have the tools most likely or the time. Do people on here build boxes for other? If os, do they do everything like cut holes for subs, carpet, put in wire terminals?

sk24iam
04-22-2003, 02:21 PM
?

ShaunMac
04-22-2003, 02:27 PM
There are some guys on here that build boxes for others.

But depending on the size of the box you want, the shipping
charges can be very high.

If you lived close by me, I'd build it and bring it to ya.

Randy Savage
04-22-2003, 02:49 PM
sk24, it says you are from LI, is that Long Island? If so, I can build one for you, I'm from suffolk County.

sk24iam
04-22-2003, 07:36 PM
Yah snova, that would be great. The only thing is, I'm waiting for the new edesign subs to come out so I won't need it untill june or july. Would you be able to cut holes, carpet and put in wire terminals?

ss3079
04-22-2003, 07:37 PM
Take a look at John's work...

http://www.cardomain.com/id/snova031

Im sure he would do a job and a half for you;)

- Steve

Randy Savage
04-22-2003, 07:37 PM
Originally posted by sk24iam
Yah snova, that would be great. The only thing is, I'm waiting for the new edesign subs to come out so I won't need it untill june or july. Would you be able to cut holes, carpet and put in wire terminals? Yep. Where are you from? If you are close, you can even come by and help out or just watch us do it :D

Randy Savage
04-22-2003, 07:38 PM
Originally posted by ss3079
Take a look at John's work...

http://www.cardomain.com/id/snova031

Im sure he would do a job and a half for you;)

- Steve I took pics of the box we did for the 15" HC, it looks really good, I'll get them up hopefully this weekend. 3.2 cubes tuned to 35 Hz.

ss3079
04-22-2003, 07:39 PM
Originally posted by snova031
I took pics of the box we did for the 15" HC, it looks really good, I'll get them up hopefully this weekend. 3.2 cubes tuned to 35 Hz.

And I bet it still sounds pretty nice:)

- Steve

Randy Savage
04-22-2003, 07:41 PM
Originally posted by ss3079
And I bet it still sounds pretty nice:)

- Steve

WE hooked it up to my amp, ran it at 4 ohms, 600 watts or so, I aws shocked at how loud it got...


Still sounded verrrrry nice, good low end, all around great...made me think about getting 4 HC's....

ss3079
04-22-2003, 07:44 PM
Originally posted by snova031
We hooked it up to my amp, ran it at 4 ohms, 600 watts or so, I was shocked at how loud it got...


Still sounded verrrrry nice, good low end, all around great...made me think about getting 4 HC's....

Yup...they are loud.

Get a new thread going about your SPL plan.

- Steve

Randy Savage
04-22-2003, 07:47 PM
Originally posted by ss3079
Yup...they are loud.

Get a new thread going about your SPL plan.

- Steve

http://forums.caraudio.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=28930

I think the BA D2's are out...Dave, Nick, and Dustin were saying how they did nothing on the Dumax...