PDA

View Full Version : Best solution for speaker wire through a box?



cheeto
02-06-2008, 07:27 AM
I've seen it done multiple ways - through the port, through the back of the box, through a terminal, through a mounting hole in the sub, etc.
What's the best way to get it done? Is there anything wrong with drilling a hole in the back and running speaker wire through that?
Do places like radioshack sell the terminals that run through the box? I don't wanna wait on another shipment to get this **** box done.

Yeah, if anyone has answers for that in general, that would be helpful.

Oh and how would 12ga speaker wire hold up for 800 or so watts to an sd2.515?

ramdaspadhye
02-06-2008, 07:37 AM
A bolt?

2critical
02-06-2008, 07:42 AM
When it is not going to be seen, or need to be removed I like to drill hole run wire from sub to amp. Liquid nails to seal the hole. If it needs to be removed or it will be seen, terminal cup.

PSturmer
02-06-2008, 08:12 AM
i just make the whole a little bigger and put the wire through and on one side put hot glue. this way in the future you can remove the glue and still have a long piece of speaker wire.

Immacomputer
02-06-2008, 08:12 AM
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2102834&cp=&pg=1&sr=1&retainProdsInSession=1&origkw=terminal&kw=terminal&numProdsPerPage=100&parentPage=search

Those are pretty sturdy and your local radio shack should carry them. I use them all the time and yes, the 12 gauge speaker wire will be just fine with 800watts.

cheeto
02-06-2008, 04:10 PM
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2102834&cp=&pg=1&sr=1&retainProdsInSession=1&origkw=terminal&kw=terminal&numProdsPerPage=100&parentPage=search

Those are pretty sturdy and your local radio shack should carry them. I use them all the time and yes, the 12 gauge speaker wire will be just fine with 800watts.

Ok, I'll try to pick one up today.
Just built my first box and it kinda turned out ****** but it'll work. Unfortunatley all the panels aren't flush and the baffle angles in a bit... I guess thats what I get for not being skilled in woodworking at all and goin and building a box.

mlstrass
02-06-2008, 04:31 PM
Gotta start somewhere. Your skills will improve as you do more builds.

I juse nuts/bolts/washers for the terminals. Usually 5/16" diameter a few inches long works fine. I also prefer nylon locknuts...

jdc753
02-06-2008, 04:44 PM
I would say hunt down some terminal cups locally, make for a nice clean install. Otherwise I would go for the bolt and nut/washer deally. Least something that doesn't look like an after thought or just being lazy.

Cravingbass123
02-06-2008, 04:47 PM
wait what gauge you guys use for around 2500 rms?

Immacomputer
02-06-2008, 04:54 PM
12gauge if the run is short. The longer the run, the lower gauge I would go.

BrianChia
02-06-2008, 05:02 PM
I like these:

http://www.partsexpress.com/images/091-1154m.jpg

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=091-1154