PDA

View Full Version : New speakers - placement

jrotary
02-04-2008, 10:30 AM
I have a 2006 Civic SI and I'm a total car audio newbie - here is a list of items I have going in very soon:

-Kenwood DDX7015 Headunit
-Pioneer TS-A1372R 5-1/4" 3-Way Speakers
-Pioneer TS-G1642R 6-1/2" 2-way Speakers
-OEM Amp Bypass

I ordered these items from Crutchfield (so fitment is confirmed) along with a Schoche dash kit for the installation - a local stereo shop will be handling what I will assume is a simple job.

Which speakers should I put in the door and which should I put in the rear deck? Does it even matter?

These are simply starter speakers. I will be bypassing the OEM amplifier so I will lost my OEM sub and tweeters. I figured I'd order some simple speakers so that I'm not running solely on OEM 1 way speakers.

In the future, I will add a 4 channel amp, nice components and a sub (and run the rears off the HU). That is why I got such inexpensive speakers - later on, I will use one set in the rear and ditch the other when i choose components.

Speaker specs are below:

TS-G1624R
6 1/2
2-way
Dome
Tweeter Composition Polyetherimide PET film
Woofer Composition IMPP composite Carbon Graphite IMPP
Woofer Surround Cloth
Sensitivity 90 dB
Frequency Response 40 - 30k Hz
RMS Power Range 2-30

TS-A1372R
5 1/4
3-way
Tweeter Design Dome
Tweeter Composition PET film
Woofer Composition Carbon Graphite IMPP
Woofer Surround Butyl Rubber
Sensitivity 89 dB
Frequency Response 35 - 31k Hz
RMS Power Range 2-30 2-35

Thank you all!

Jonathan

JeffM
02-04-2008, 06:42 PM
Doesnt the Civic SI come with a Pioneer sound system? If it does, you'll be better off leaving it as it is until you get something better then those Pioneer speakers that you ordered, which will be worst then you current stock system

jrotary
02-05-2008, 04:08 PM