PDA

View Full Version : small box's ..ported or seal



i3abyjay25
04-18-2003, 08:54 PM
say i have 1 12.. and its max enclouser is 1.5..is it better to port it or keep it sealed?
for spl..
in a 1.5 box

paikiah
04-18-2003, 08:58 PM
Originally posted by i3abyjay25
say i have 1 12.. and its max enclouser is 1.5..is it better to port it or keep it sealed?
for spl..
in a 1.5 box

max recommended enclosure...

most people here don't go by that, I would imagine. But if space constraints are tying you down, then maybe a sealed would do better. A ported box will be larger, and larger boxes are louder, according to gurus here...

before I came on here, I made my first sealed box, 1.5cubes, cause the recommended size was 0.75cubes, and since I have two, I thought I should simply multiply that number. Well, it sounds alright to me so far...

I'm still working on making a new ported box with jmac's recommendation...

Randy Savage
04-18-2003, 08:58 PM
Originally posted by i3abyjay25
say i have 1 12.. and its max enclouser is 1.5..is it better to port it or keep it sealed?
for spl..
in a 1.5 box

Well, if it recommends a maximum enclosure of 1.5 cubes, is that ported or sealed?

i3abyjay25
04-18-2003, 09:09 PM
Originally posted by snova031
Well, if it recommends a maximum enclosure of 1.5 cubes, is that ported or sealed? it recommends 1.5 sealed..
basically.. what it is is that i have 4 12s.. in a chambered box...3.0 each chamber w/ 2 subs..this is the largest box possible... i was trying o decide if i should port this box.. or leave it sealed..

mykeys
04-18-2003, 10:53 PM
If you already have the box I would leave it sealed. If you really want ported build it yourself or find somewho can help you.. If you have it built by a shop it's gonna cost you big $$$

Mike

i3abyjay25
04-19-2003, 02:50 PM
no, im just wanting more spl... which i will always.. but i built this sealed box for 4 12 and its in the back on a trunk,, and i know ported is louder.. but i dont think my box is actually big enough to port..my box is 3.4 per chamber for 2 subs...total (outside) box is 6.9, but w/ 4 12s.. is it big enough to port?

ShaunMac
04-19-2003, 03:00 PM
I wouldn't try to port that box for 4 12's. I would
leave it sealed...........Or

Go buy some MDF and build a new box that is
ported for 3 subs. Give each sub a little over
2 cu ft each and tune a little high for SPL.

It will be louder than the 4 sealed subs. If built
correctly.

i3abyjay25
04-19-2003, 03:11 PM
should i just build a ported box for 2 12s...run those at 4 ohms w/ 12oo watts
or keep a sealed box for 4 12s. at 2 ohms w/ 2400 watts?
the 2 12s would prob be in a box lil smaller tha 6cuft
same w/ the 4 12s sealed..

ShaunMac
04-19-2003, 03:22 PM
Originally posted by i3abyjay25
should i just build a ported box for 2 12s...run those at 4 ohms w/ 12oo watts
or keep a sealed box for 4 12s. at 2 ohms w/ 2400 watts?
the 2 12s would prob be in a box lil smaller tha 6cuft
same w/ the 4 12s sealed..
All depends on your subwoofers power handling.

If done right the 2 12's in the ported box w/1200w
could sound slighty louder than the 4 12's sealed
with 2400w. It would be close.

I would use 3 12's @ 2.66 ohms with around 2000w ported.
That would be louder than the 4 sealed 12's by far.

i3abyjay25
04-19-2003, 03:25 PM
ok.. Shaun.. r u good at building ported boxes? if so, do u wnat to help me build 1..

ShaunMac
04-19-2003, 03:41 PM
I alright at it. My last box was the first slot port box I
have ever made and it sounds good.

Give me the dimensions you have to work with and
what subs you will use and I'll try to figure out a plan.

Here's my box.

ShaunMac
04-19-2003, 04:48 PM
BTW I made an avatar with your car
for ya. Use it if ya lile.

i3abyjay25
04-19-2003, 05:45 PM
the box i have now.. is 36 x 33.5 x 10..... this biggest i could prob go.. would 36 x 33.5 x 14...but i dont think i could get a 14 into the trunk...the subs i do have... are
4 12Kicker Xpls... 8 ohms.. max is 500...
or 2 12 kicker comps... from like 3 yrs ago.. 4 ohms.. and i think 600 max...
which i dont care if i blow any/all of these.. if i do its good cause then ill finally have to buy something else..like some XXXs

ShaunMac
04-19-2003, 10:17 PM
Well I am not sure if the XPL's would sound good
in a ported box. Kicker doesn't reccomend porting these subs.

You could port the 2 comps but I think you would be better off
with the 4 12's sealed. It would be a lot of work to do and you
wouldn't be gaining a lot of SPL. It would be about the same.

Keep playin' those till they blow, then build a kick *** ported
enclosure for your new XXX's or ED A's or whatever you get.

You need to find someone that has personally tried XPL's
in a ported enclosure and see what they have to say.

If you can find out more information on porting the XPL's let
me know and I'll come up with a design for 3 XPL's ported.