PDA

View Full Version : Question about volume...



05F150SuperCrew
01-15-2008, 04:27 PM
hey guys, new to the forum... got a question that seemed to go ignored somewhere else... how do you know when you've made a box too big? i'm running a single Audiobahn AW1006T... right now the design is at 3.5ft3 @ 36Hz... even if that's not too big, i'd still like to know what the rule is... thanks for the input.

larry

budget76
01-16-2008, 10:47 AM
look up the specs on their web site, then go from there?

Trixter
01-16-2008, 02:31 PM
a box being too big is all relevant to the sub and the power it is receiving. a 200w sub that's in a 2cu' box and getting 200w may perform the same in a 4cu' box with only 100w, 6cu' box with 50w....and so on. the bigger the box, the more efficient the sub becomes, meaning it takes less power to push it. now if you took our 200w sub and put it in the 6cu' box and gave it 200w, more than likely you will damage it. again too big is power and sub dependant, there is no definite answer.

05F150SuperCrew
01-16-2008, 07:04 PM
cool, that makes a lot of sense... so the bigger the box, the less control u have on excursion... as if it were open air... thanks.