PDA

View Full Version : ported box.. which one



jjoven1225
04-11-2003, 07:14 PM
i never made a ported box before, and im experimenting one for a friend.. which one would be better?? using a PVC pipe (exact port diameter + length) or building the port as a box.. like this http://www.subzoneusa.com/zv_series.htm

do you tune the box? or the amp?

also the sub requires 2 ports, and port length is 14.75" and port diameter is 3"


also anyone have a good link "how to build ported box" or tuning them or whatever
i've built sealed boxes before just never port and would like to learn, thanks for help

Trixter
04-15-2003, 12:00 PM
You tune the box to the freq. you want.

Round ports are good if you have the room and the manufacture gives you the diameter and length. Slot ports are good if you have a small box and need so much port area that a round port would be too long or you know what the port area of the box should be and the manufacture doesn't give you the demensions. It's just easier to figure w/o knowing the length and diameter, just the area.

Since you have the length and diameter, I would go w/ the round ones...provided your box can handle the length. ((That's what I told her.:D )) Anyway, check out this and ignore the formula. It may help.http://jlaudio.com/tutorials/ports/index.html

jjoven1225
04-18-2003, 12:28 AM
i really dont want to go with the round port, cuz i think slot port looks better.. also since i have the length and the diameter, should i just match the length or of port, with the duck (slot) and same thing with the diameter, just get the area of the rectangle, i figure that's the same thing.. someone help..
that formula was way too confusing..

dbirkes
04-18-2003, 12:51 AM
If i use this design of box could i just combine the two slots (the dotted line). or would it sound better to keep them seperated?

dbirkes
04-18-2003, 12:55 AM
so if each port was tuned to 40 and i combined them, it would still be 40?

dbirkes
04-18-2003, 01:03 AM
I just realized that was a STUPID question. how would you fiqure the length?

dbirkes
04-18-2003, 01:07 AM
in regards to my pic, would you measure down to where it splits and then add the length of the horizontal part?

paikiah
04-18-2003, 01:08 AM
Originally posted by Jmac
No ...

jmac? Still alive and well?

where've you been? Last I heard, your health failed you for a moment.. you ok now?

dbirkes
04-18-2003, 01:18 AM
so how would you recommend i build it?

paikiah
04-18-2003, 01:21 AM
Originally posted by dbirkes
so how would you recommend i build it?

man, are you lucky you got jmac to calculate the box for ya...


jmac, just so you know, my box is solid man, your specs... a little too mcuh though, the sub blew its own gasket off, had to get new surrounds...but now it's fine...:) thanks for everything

dbirkes
04-18-2003, 01:24 AM
Would this be better?

dbirkes
04-18-2003, 01:26 AM
I'd have two ports. i have the formula from jl on how to do two ports

Trixter
04-19-2003, 11:40 AM
Two ports would be fine as long as you are calculating the TOTAL port area.

Trixter
04-19-2003, 11:53 AM
Originally posted by jjoven1225
i really dont want to go with the round port, cuz i think slot port looks better.. also since i have the length and the diameter, should i just match the length or of port, with the duck (slot) and same thing with the diameter, just get the area of the rectangle, i figure that's the same thing.. someone help..
that formula was way too confusing..

To find out the size of a slot port using round port numbers....

you said you needed two ports being 3" X 14.75". This gives you a total port area of 277.89" (3 X 3.14 X 14.75 X 2 = 277.89) This is the area your slot port needs be. Take the opening of the slot L x W (let's just say 3" x 9" to get an opening of 27sq.") What X 27 would give you 277.89??...10.29". That is how long the port wound have to be.