PDA

View Full Version : 2 12" L7 Box designs in a Tahoe



dye4metal
01-10-2008, 06:05 PM
hey im just wondering on a new box for my tahoe, right now mine is around 43x22x14.5 and the port sizes are 2.25 inches wide... now im just wondering i got this design of another forum and ive heard talk i get another box with bigger ports or what not itll be louder. now if anyone has anydesigns that i could use that would be helpful. im going for more loudness than anything and usually rap is about what i listen to. also right now my highs sound kinda weak and the lows are about 3 times louder? is that normal?

dye4metal
01-10-2008, 08:12 PM
up?

bimma85
01-10-2008, 08:27 PM
I have a headache

dye4metal
01-10-2008, 08:37 PM
wanna help?

brokeitagain
01-10-2008, 09:00 PM
theres no one that knows anything here, except how to be asses
you might find some one to help on Souns solutions Audio, Termpro, the 12volt.com

dye4metal
01-10-2008, 09:02 PM
thanx i think ill try the the12volt.com

DarkFox
01-10-2008, 11:53 PM
Hey now I dont think were all Aholes here.

To answer the OPs question. There is some info you did not include such as tunning freq and port length. but it looks like your giving the subs about 2.5^3 ft of space (after all other displacements) each (this is an about number with alot of guess work from your description, but I bet it is close. Also, it looks like you only have about 30^2 in of port area on that box wich IMO is way to small for 2 12" l7s.

If your gonna build a new box I say do something closer to about 3^3 ft each with about 30^2 in of port area each, if not a little more (thats 60^2in for the box, double the port size you got.) Tune it to right around 33. I got a L7 I have run everyday for a year at about 3.25^3 ft with 35^2 in port and 850w RMS, no probs, sounds great.

AlpineUser
01-10-2008, 11:55 PM
Hey now I dont think were all Aholes here.

To answer the OPs question. There is some info you did not include such as tunning freq and port length. but it looks like your giving the subs about 2.5^3 ft of space (after all other displacements) each (this is an about number with alot of guess work from your description, but I bet it is close. Also, it looks like you only have about 30^2 in of port area on that box wich IMO is way to small for 2 12" l7s.

If your gonna build a new box I say do something closer to about 3^3 ft each with about 35^2 in of port area each, if not a little more. Tune it to right around 33. I got a L7 I have run everyday for a year at about 3.25^3 ft with 40^2 in port and 850w RMS, no probs, sounds great.

i agree those subs would pound in that box

dye4metal
01-11-2008, 04:01 PM
sry darkfox, i tried giving as much details to what i want. im not very familiar with tuning setups and what not. i just know the box i have is 43x22x14 and the ports in the middle are about 1-2 inches wide, very skinny. i think a box that would were talking about would work perfect, i can fit about a 45" wide box in the back of my tahoe other than that the depth and height are about endless haha.

dye4metal
01-13-2008, 07:50 PM
up? also wat CAD programs do you use to create your boxes?

thegreatestpenn
01-13-2008, 08:35 PM
I'd do 2cu.ft. per sub tuned to 33hz. Each sub could get a 4" aeroport that's 12" length. Easy as that.

brokeitagain
01-13-2008, 08:36 PM
most are using google sketch up its free to download, easy to use but i **** at it lol

OoMesKoO
01-13-2008, 08:39 PM
What year Tahoe?

dye4metal
01-13-2008, 08:43 PM
02 tahoe. i was thinking what dark fox was saying


If your gonna build a new box I say do something closer to about 3^3 ft each with about 35^2 in of port area each, if not a little more. Tune it to right around 33. I got a L7 I have run everyday for a year at about 3.25^3 ft with 40^2 in port and 850w RMS, no probs, sounds great.
about 3 cu ft or so.

DarkFox
01-14-2008, 02:46 PM
I use WinISD, and calculators you find here:
http://www.carstereo.com/help2/Articles.cfm?id=31

usualy some combination of those two works for me. Also, I dont use a CAD program. I play with numbers till I get something that looks how I want, then make the box match.

dye4metal
01-15-2008, 10:53 PM
it seems you have the same setup as me. what are teh deminsions and what not on your box? wat is yours tuned to.

dye4metal
01-25-2008, 06:23 PM
up

DarkFox
01-25-2008, 11:45 PM
click the worklog link in my sig. box specs on page 1. Though I should add, the box is alot smaller then I would want. Still better then a prefab, but I would normaly go bigger if I had the space.