PDA

View Full Version : Which of these would you choose for going active?



ultimate157
01-09-2008, 06:34 PM
So far I'm looking at the all popular CDA-9887, the Eclipse 7100, as well as the Kenwood X991

It seems like all of these have the key ingredients for going active: Time alignment, built in equalizers, 3 preouts, high preout voltage (4v, 8v, and 5v, respectively)

It looks like the 7100 is at the top of the list with 11 EQ bands, next is the 9887 with 7, and the kenwood only has 4.

One thing I don't know about is the differences between their "Sound shaping" abilities. Alpine uses Media Xpander, Kenwood calls theirs System Q EX, and Eclipse has the 24-bit DSP, SRS Circle S.

They basically have all the same abilities for compatability / formats playback, but the kenwood has a nice security code feature. Alpine has the worst display of them, with the generic white grid, whereas the other two have high quality OEL displays.

I'm leaning towards the Eclipse. Hopefully someone can inform me on the differences between each of the sound processing systems.

Thanks,
Matt.

nismos14
01-09-2008, 09:07 PM
I wouldn't even really consider the kenwood... but check this comparison out between the cd7100 and 9887, http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=266406

I've had both and much prefer the 9887.

ultimate157
01-11-2008, 11:37 PM
How much processing does the 9887 have onboard? EG, how accurate can the crossovers be set.

nismos14
01-12-2008, 01:54 AM
How accurate?

mikey7182
01-12-2008, 01:56 AM
Are you referring to the slopes? Up to 24dB/oct. IIRC... If you're referring to the frequencies, i think it is at 1/3 octave intervals... 50Hz/63Hz/80Hz/etc.

XaznKewLguyX
01-12-2008, 02:00 AM
listen to nismo...

i had the eclipse and swapped it over to the alpine

the eclipse felt really cheap and the alpine has a much more solid feel to it. id choose the alpine over the eclipse.

ultimate157
01-12-2008, 02:17 AM
How accurate?

Does the crossover have preset increments that you choose from for setting the crossover points, or is it dynamic?

I'm putting together a pair of mids and tweeters for when I go active, and trying to match their recommended crossover points (Tweet down to 2500hz, mid up to 2500hz) This got me thinking as to how the crossover works on the HU.

nismos14
01-12-2008, 11:00 AM
Does the crossover have preset increments that you choose from for setting the crossover points, or is it dynamic?

I'm putting together a pair of mids and tweeters for when I go active, and trying to match their recommended crossover points (Tweet down to 2500hz, mid up to 2500hz) This got me thinking as to how the crossover works on the HU.

Nope, it's preset like most every other headunit.