PDA

View Full Version : aeroports vs slot port



king ranch
01-07-2008, 11:10 PM
whats the pros and cons of both

and also what would be the best aeroports lenght and diameter for a box that is made for 2 12's l7's and the box dimensions are 26long 17.5wide and around 35 deep and i was thinking around 33hz for tuning

and one more question to make a aeroport box isnt just a sealed box with holes cut out and aeroports put in the place of the holes
so if i want to go sealed one i have aeroports i just have to find a way to seal the holes off correct

king ranch
01-07-2008, 11:21 PM
bump

IgnoreMe
01-07-2008, 11:23 PM
sweet, i wanna bump this thread too now.

IgnoreMe
01-07-2008, 11:23 PM
bump

IgnoreMe
01-07-2008, 11:24 PM
bump ^^^

btdickey99
01-07-2008, 11:26 PM
bump

btdickey99
01-07-2008, 11:26 PM
Trend follower^^

IgnoreMe
01-07-2008, 11:26 PM
its been 2 minutes! bump

king ranch
01-07-2008, 11:33 PM
bump

Lakota
01-07-2008, 11:58 PM
The only cons to aero ports, imo, are that they cost more money, and you have less of a selection as far as port area goes.

They're easier to setup, you can literally change the tuning of the box in 2 minutes, cut port area in nearly half and they're loud. Once I started using them I never wanted to go back.

Lakota
01-08-2008, 12:05 AM
and also what would be the best aeroports lenght and diameter for a box that is made for 2 12's l7's and the box dimensions are 26long 17.5wide and around 35 deep and i was thinking around 33hz for tuning

and one more question to make a aeroport box isnt just a sealed box with holes cut out and aeroports put in the place of the holes
so if i want to go sealed one i have aeroports i just have to find a way to seal the holes off correct

For 2 12's I would do 4 4" ports or 2 6". There's a port length calculator on www.psp-inc.com

Yes, it's basically just a sealed box with a pvc tube stuck into or out of it.

djessenz
01-08-2008, 12:11 AM
Wait, so if I took my CVX in a sealed box spec (1.5) and added an aero port would be as good as a CVX in a 1.75ft^3 with a normal port? What would you suggest for 1.5 ft^3 and 32hz tuning if so?

king ranch
01-08-2008, 12:11 AM
does it matter where u put the port

Lakota
01-08-2008, 12:23 AM
does it matter where u put the port

Try to keep the opening of the port as far from the sub as possible.

Here's some examples w/ external ports. As you can notice I have the sub placed as far from the port as I could get.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v231/Lakota/100_1167.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v231/Lakota/100_1049.jpg

king ranch
01-08-2008, 12:36 AM
ok so with 2 12's l7's in a box with the specs of 26long 35 deep and 17.5wide and i would like it to be tuned at 33hz what ports should i put in it
and after port and sub displacement what would each sub have in airspace

Lakota
01-08-2008, 12:43 AM
ok so with 2 12's l7's in a box with the specs of 26long 35 deep and 17.5wide and i would like it to be tuned at 33hz what ports should i put in it
and after port and sub displacement what would each sub have in airspace

Subtract 1.5" from each side and then multiply those dimensions. After that divide by 1728 and you will find the internal volume of the box in cubic feet. Sub displacement is listed on Kickers site. Use the port calculator on www.psp-inc.com to figure out tuning. If you're going to do internal ports don't forget to subtract the volume of the ports from the volume of the box.

king ranch
01-08-2008, 02:11 PM
ok well viveet told me that aeroports cause port noise and slot ports seem to be a better way to port subs whats your oppion on that
and also in 2 ports that are 6 inches in diamter and around 19-20inches long will that work for a box that is only 26inches long
and also for those ports how much airspace would they take up
if somone doesnt mind i was wondeing if they could give me the dimensions for a box for 2 12's l7's after aeroport and speaker displacment so each sub has 3-3.25cuft

thanks

king ranch
01-08-2008, 02:27 PM
bump

BuckyBoy
01-08-2008, 02:33 PM
I think everyone has given up on you. Figure out what you want and then someone might help you.
Aero ports are more expensive and take up less airspace.
Slot ports aren't as expensive and take up more airspace.

IgnoreMe
01-08-2008, 02:34 PM
I think everyone has given up on you. Figure out what you want and then someone might help you.
Aero ports are more expensive and take up less airspace.
Slot ports aren't as expensive and take up more airspace.

nobody wants to answer his ******* because he bumps his own thread every 10 mins.

bigmandengo
01-08-2008, 02:35 PM
do you duct tape the joints on the ports so you dont have to glue them, making it easier to tune?

king ranch
01-08-2008, 03:55 PM
sorry for me being such a ******* for asking ????'s to learn new things and maybe no longer be a ******* bc i am pretty sure either you asked questions you didnt kno or someone sat down with you and told you everything about audio we all start off knowing nothing so you were once a ******* yourself

i am just wondering how much airspace would the aeroports take up if they are 2 of them that are 6inch in diameter and 19-20inches long

and also is a aeroport or a slot port louder
and which one has the most port noise

can any of you none ********* answer those questions for me

thanks

signed,
*******

IgnoreMe
01-08-2008, 03:58 PM
try searching then.

when i dont know something i search...and guess what? i usually find it when its a topic thats been discussed a thousand times.

i was going to answer some questions yesterday night, until i saw that you bumped your own thread after 10 mins...

IgnoreMe
01-08-2008, 03:59 PM
you dont worry about the flares since they wont make much difference. you get the area of the 6" port which is going to be 28.27 and multiply it by the length of the port. then you divide by 1728

king ranch
01-08-2008, 04:11 PM
ok sorry for posting so much
but can i get one more answer from a box builder
i want to try nd build my own box aeroport box for 2 12's l7
i would like them to have anywhere from 3-3.25cuft per sub after displacement for everything and the tune to be 33hz

and this is the aeroports i guess would work best for my box it said on psp-inc.com
i figured to go with 2 6" flared ports that are 18.14 or straight port at 17.14 which ever is best i heard flared was best

and my biggest box i can go with is 26long 17.5 wide and 35deep so what should the box dimensions be to give each sub 3-3.25cuft after displacement of everything

and also would the 2 6" flared ports that are 18.14inches long come out to being tuned at 33hz

sorry once again

IgnoreMe
01-08-2008, 04:13 PM
you gotta clarify your dimensions.

how tall can the box be?
how wide from left to right?
and how deep from front to back?

as it stands, your dimensions are a little hard to understand. you mean 17.5" tall? etc

king ranch
01-08-2008, 04:21 PM
sorry for not descbribing them better the subs would be facing up towards the roof in my truck so 35deep would be from top to bottom and wide 17.5 would be the width of the box as in right side nd left side and the length would be the lenght of the box from the back wall to the front console which is 26inches

this drawing i made is a top view hope you understand what i am trying to explain
http://i10.tinypic.com/89q4sk0.jpg

IgnoreMe
01-08-2008, 04:30 PM
sorry for not descbribing them better the subs would be facing up towards the roof in my truck so 35deep would be from top to bottom and wide 17.5 would be the width of the box as in right side nd left side and the length would be the lenght of the box from the back wall to the front console which is 26inches

this drawing i made is a top view hope you understand what i am trying to explain
http://i10.tinypic.com/89q4sk0.jpg

hmm, still dont understand whether this is going to be in the back of the truck or betweent he center console somehow. kinda confusing.

well, either way, to design the box i can only use 2 dimensions, leaving the last one as a variable. so you gotta tell me, which two dimensions are the most important to you.

king ranch
01-08-2008, 04:30 PM
do you understand the dimensions now

king ranch
01-08-2008, 04:34 PM
ok it will be in a truck inbetween the rear bucket seats and inbetween the back wall and the front console so the
the wide is the distance between the seats that needs to be only 17.5max the lenght is the distance from the back wall to the front console max of 26inches and the depth would be from the very top of the box by the roof to the bottom of the box and i was planning on mounting the subs on the top of the box by the roof
i hope that helped
and the length and width has to be that size and the depth can be w/e as long as after subs and port displacement each sub has a net cuft of 3-3.25

do you understand what i mean now

king ranch
01-08-2008, 04:40 PM
http://i12.tinypic.com/8fjo2tk.jpg

thats a desgin someone made for me already but i am not sure what the dimensions are but thats how i need the box to look
and i want each sub to have 3-3.25 after displacement of everything and tuned at 33hz

IgnoreMe
01-08-2008, 04:40 PM
ok it will be in a truck inbetween the rear bucket seats and inbetween the back wall and the front console so the
the wide is the distance between the seats that needs to be only 17.5max the lenght is the distance from the back wall to the front console max of 26inches and the depth would be from the very top of the box by the roof to the bottom of the box and i was planning on mounting the subs on the top of the box by the roof
i hope that helped
and the length and width has to be that size and the depth can be w/e as long as after subs and port displacement each sub has a net cuft of 3-3.25

do you understand what i mean now

ahh, makes much more sense now. give me a minute.

king ranch
01-08-2008, 04:40 PM
hahah sorry for not explaining it that well

BuckyBoy
01-08-2008, 04:42 PM
http://i12.tinypic.com/8fjo2tk.jpg

thats a desgin someone made for me already but i am not sure what the dimensions are but thats how i need the box to look
and i want each sub to have 3-3.25 after displacement of everything and tuned at 33hz
Dimensions of that box-
17.5Wx30Hx26D
Nearly 3ft^3 per sub. Like 5.8 total.

king ranch
01-08-2008, 04:46 PM
ok to get 6-6.5 after displacement for the subs and the aeroports which are 2 of them 6inches that are 18.14inches long
what would the depth be

IgnoreMe
01-08-2008, 04:46 PM
external / internal

29" / 27.5" tall

17.5" / 16" wide

26" / 24.5" deep

using the 18.14" flared aero ports, this would give you ~6^3ft @ 33hz.

edit: you also dont need to account for woofer displacement as kicker includes it in their recommended volume.

king ranch
01-08-2008, 04:52 PM
ok and one more question just for further help what website or formula did you use to figure that out and also how did you figure out how much airspace each aeroport takes up

so should i have each sub at 3cuft or more or less kicker remcommends from 1.75-3.25

IgnoreMe
01-08-2008, 04:58 PM
ok and one more question just for further help what website or formula did you use to figure that out and also how did you figure out how much airspace each aeroport takes up

so should i have each sub at 3cuft or more or less kicker remcommends from 1.75-3.25

i already told you how you figure out how much air space an aeroport takes up. did you even read my post?



you dont worry about the flares since they wont make much difference. you get the area of the 6" port which is going to be 28.27 and multiply it by the length of the port. then you divide by 1728


i would just use 3 cubes, like bucky boy and i made. should get down, although i dont really like the orientation of the box in the truck. as for what website i used...i use my own tutorial that i made a couple years back after having the old timers teach me....its in my sig, next to the red part of the Ethiopian flag in my signature.

king ranch
01-08-2008, 05:02 PM
ok sorry completely forgot you already told me that

and what else can i do for subs w/o that box in the truck
i hve a 01 f150 king ranch with bucket seats all four and 2 center conosles with no room behind or under seats

only way i could do behind seat is do a 2 inch seat lift and a 2inch forward seat move and pull the back panel off the wall and cut part of the back wall that sticks out and i could get 4 12's back there like i seen a guy do on f150online.com

what else would you suggest for subs

IgnoreMe
01-08-2008, 05:05 PM
ok sorry completely forgot you already told me that

and what else can i do for subs w/o that box in the truck
i hve a 01 f150 king ranch with bucket seats all four and 2 center conosles with no room behind or under seats

only way i could do behind seat is do a 2 inch seat lift and a 2inch forward seat move and pull the back panel off the wall and cut part of the back wall that sticks out and i could get 4 12's back there like i seen a guy do on f150online.com

what else would you suggest for subs

honestly, if you dont have the room to go behind the seats, i cant see too much wrong with what you plan on doing.

i would try to get a hold of tommyk90 and ngsm13 to see if maybe you could get better performance, by maybe doing a side firing or up firing port. i know ngsm has experience with the upfiring port and tommyk with the side firing. try to see if you can get an idea of whats best based on what they tell you.

king ranch
01-08-2008, 05:06 PM
slot port or aeroports and if you dont mind i would really appreciate you asking them bc i dont kno how to find their profile and you kno way more about this stuff than i do
i am like in a jungle with this

IgnoreMe
01-08-2008, 05:10 PM
http://www.caraudio.com/forum/member.php?u=4703 tommyk90

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/member.php?u=4240 ngsm13

would be a lot easier if you asked them yourself, since you actually have the truck and know the ins and outs of it. ive never seen the inside lol. it would just become a cluster**** with trying to get information back and forth.

king ranch
01-08-2008, 05:11 PM
ok i appreciate the help like you dont even kno lol

BuckyBoy
01-08-2008, 05:27 PM
Like I said before king, once you get everything how you want it just let me know and I will be happy to make you another design. I'm sure you can understand my frustration from designing the boxes and then you changing something.
Your setup should sound great.

king ranch
01-08-2008, 05:42 PM
ok well the first guy tommy i think u recommend me to said 4.5net for both subs
and bucky send me a pm wih the price for a box like that with carpet and just a estimated price
and also how much does shipping run

BuckyBoy
01-08-2008, 05:58 PM
ok well the first guy tommy i think u recommend me to said 4.5net for both subs
and bucky send me a pm wih the price for a box like that with carpet and just a estimated price
and also how much does shipping run
YGPM

king ranch
01-08-2008, 09:21 PM
ok tommy from team kicker said 4.5net after sub and port displacement
so this is what i came up with for the dimensions

the sub displacement is .27 per sub correct
and the port displacement will be .30 each port bc 6" port which is going to be 28.27 and multiply it by the length of the port(18.14--33hz tune). then you divide by 1728
which would be .30 so for subs and ports the total displacement would be
1.13cuft

so these are the dimensions i came up with for a box to have 4.5net

tall 28/26.5
width 17/15.5
lenght 26/24.5

should be 5.8 before displacement and then total displacement should be around 1.15 which leaves 4.6 left which would equal 2.3 net for each sub

could someone check to see if all thats right and if not let me kno whats wrong

king ranch
01-08-2008, 09:54 PM
bump

mokedaddy
01-08-2008, 10:00 PM
You may want to double check port length since you are making the box smaller. I didnt check the exact math but the way you are going about it is correct.

king ranch
01-08-2008, 10:26 PM
well the port lenght would need to be 18.14 each and my box is 24.5 internal on the length and thats the way the ports would be put in so there would be over 6 inches from end of port to the wall is that enough

mokedaddy
01-08-2008, 10:27 PM
I just meant port tuning changes with the size of the box. I wasnt concerned about there not being enough room inside the box.

king ranch
01-08-2008, 11:48 PM
yes i see your point exactly the ne volume changes the lenght of the port and at 5net is calls for 24 inch long ports if i do 2 6inch diamter ports and that wont work bc my internal where the port will be is 23.5

so my question is to keep my 33hz tune at 5cuft net what should i make the aeroports have 4 4inches or what

king ranch
01-08-2008, 11:53 PM
one more question when it says 24.5 flared port length when i pick 2 aeroports at a 6inch diameter is that with both combined or each one has to be 24.5

mokedaddy
01-08-2008, 11:53 PM
Thats a tough one but yes you most likely will be able to get away with 4 four inchers. Or you could maybe even do just three. The best way is to test but four 4" sounds like a good place to start.

Lakota
01-08-2008, 11:53 PM
one more question when it says 24.5 flared port length when i pick 2 aeroports at a 6inch diameter is that with both combined or each one has to be 24.5

Each port must be that length.

mokedaddy
01-08-2008, 11:53 PM
The length is for each aero port.

king ranch
01-09-2008, 12:00 AM
ok i cant do 4 4inchers bc it comes out to be 22.95 and thats too big i can do either 3 or 2 4 inchers

also how do you figure out the airspace that 4inch aeroports take up (whats the area of a 4inch port i kno how to do the rest of the math

Colt9699
01-09-2008, 12:06 AM
Good job explainging this stuff to him.

I actually had some of the same questios about areo's ad this thread put them all the rest for me.

Thanks to the OP for asking and thanks to Ignore, Lakota, mokedaddy, and bucky for makig it all make sese.

king ranch
01-09-2008, 12:16 AM
could one of you guys that have been answering everything so far answer the last questions i have

thanks

btdickey99
01-09-2008, 12:22 AM
so when the hell will this box be given the go ahead to actually get built?

king ranch
01-09-2008, 12:27 AM
not sure yet i am going to just get a general idea of the box and everything and go from there when i get the subs and amp in my hand havent even ordered them yet

Lakota
01-09-2008, 12:28 AM
could one of you guys that have been answering everything so far answer the last questions i have

thanks

Be patient, it's a message board not a chat room:) 3 4" should work fine. You may even bump that tuning a tad bit higher to 35hz or so if you wish(that's the area I prefer for daily) and the port length will decrease a little bit. Volume = LxWxH. Area of a circle = (pi)(radius)^2. Multiply that area you get (should be 12.xx) by the height and you have the approx. volume of the port.

JimJ
01-09-2008, 12:29 AM
so when the hell will this box be given the go ahead to actually get built?

He builds boxes on my schedule...I bought my drivers in April, it's now January and I'm just getting ready to put the first coat of stain on the enclosures :D

btdickey99
01-09-2008, 12:33 AM
He builds boxes on my schedule...I bought my drivers in April, it's now January and I'm just getting ready to put the first coat of stain on the enclosures :D

lol are you his daddy??

I just ask bc there are about 5 threads out on this subject and seems to be anxious, and has had like 3 diff boxes designed....just wont pull the trigger for the build

king ranch
01-09-2008, 12:34 AM
Be patient, it's a message board not a chat room:) 3 4" should work fine. You may even bump that tuning a tad bit higher to 35hz or so if you wish(that's the area I prefer for daily) and the port length will decrease a little bit. Volume = LxWxH. Area of a circle = (pi)(radius)^2. Multiply that area you get (should be 12.xx) by the height and you have the approx. volume of the port.

is that the height of the box or is that supposed to be length i am confused

BuckyBoy
01-09-2008, 12:34 AM
For 3 4"x14.5" ports tuning @ 35Hz the port displacement is .32ft^3

For 3 4"x16.75" ports tuning @ 33Hz the port displacement is .37ft^3

Add whichever of those to your subs displacement.
Then, add that to 5. And that is what you internal volume should be.

king ranch
01-09-2008, 12:46 AM
15.5 x 23.5 x 27.5= 5.796 internal
mins .20 for both sub displacement and .37 for aero space
equals 5.22 for subs and comes out to 2.6 per sub

that should be the final dimensions correct

well i have to go to bed i have school tommorow so i will talk to you on bulding me a box like that and prices and everything

BuckyBoy
01-09-2008, 12:47 AM
15.5 x 23.5 x 27.5= 5.796 internal
mins .20 for both sub displacement and .37 for aero space
equals 5.22 for subs and comes out to 2.6 per sub

that should be the final dimensions correct

well i have to go to bed i have school tommorow so i will talk to you on bulding me a box like that and prices and everything
Looks good to me. :)

nineballsafety8
01-09-2008, 02:30 PM
alright... since nobody has put it out there yet... just a little math tutorial for the OP
since you know how to get your box volume.. i will give you a little help with port area and port displacement.
area of a circle (port in this case)=piR^2
where as pi is a mathematical constand roughly equal to 3.14159
R= the radius of your port (half the diameter)...
so you take your radius and multiply it by itself and then multiply that answer by pi.
as an example a 4 in port
half of 4 is 2... so u take 2 and multiply it by itself and get 4... times pi (3.14159)=12.56636
so that is the area of a standard 4 inch round port... to get port displacement you take the area (which you just found out) and multiply it by the length of the port.
now i know the math is different for area of an aero... but this is just a little insight on how **** works.

also....
in my personal opinion, givin the equipment you are talking about using and the space you are allowing for your enclosure... with a little bit of time from a box designer (i recommend IONSQL or JBLCAMRY) an isobaric single reflex bandpass with a down firing port will give you alot better performance in your application... just my opinion though.

nineballsafety8
01-09-2008, 02:32 PM
oh yeah the above math gives you cubic inches... so just divide your displacement by 1728 to get cubic feet

king ranch
01-09-2008, 03:12 PM
ok not sure what type of box you are explaning could you give me better details and pics
and why it would work better

chillin
01-09-2008, 03:33 PM
good explanation nine.
I was just going to suggest googling Cylinder Volume

nineballsafety8
01-09-2008, 03:50 PM
a single reflex bandpass is a sealed box inside a ported box...
isobaric loading is where you mount your drivers face to face with one wired 180 degrees out of phase... what this does for you is it divides the VAS of the drivers in half...
so essentially you can run 2 subs in half the space you would normally be able to run one in...

take ported for example... a normal volume for a single 12 is like 2.5 cubes...
but if you run 2 isobaric you could get 2 of them in 1.25... make sense?

the only draw back is you only utitlize the cone area of one driver... so you are pretty much making 2 subs into one ****** small box sub.

lets you make your enclosure ALOT more efficient in given space and utilize the same amount of power

nineballsafety8
01-09-2008, 03:50 PM
i would post some pics but am at work and everything is blocked

king ranch
01-09-2008, 03:52 PM
ok well i have enough room to do 5.2net so it would be like a 2.6 for both subs and would tht be louder than what i have planned on doing

and which going with that kind of box is it possible to get 4 12's in my room i have

17wide 30 tall and 26 long

nineballsafety8
01-09-2008, 03:54 PM
sure could... i did 6 12's in a toolbox blow through in a f-150 one time that was pretty sick...
didnt meter all that well but would rattle your chest better than meade's truck ever did.

nineballsafety8
01-09-2008, 03:56 PM
you could even do external aero ports that go across under the rear seat and have some pretty wicked corner loading (which is the port config tommyK is running, im pretty sure)

nineballsafety8
01-09-2008, 03:59 PM
however if you do go with 4 of them... aero ports are the ONLY way to go... you will get some pretty high vent velocities and aero ports minimize port noise at high velocity

btdickey99
01-09-2008, 04:23 PM
sure could... i did 6 12's in a toolbox blow through in a f-150 one time that was pretty sick...
didnt meter all that well but would rattle your chest better than meade's truck ever did.

uh oh...encouraging for another 25 threads

nineballsafety8
01-09-2008, 04:25 PM
oh yeah i forgot you can mention steve's name around here without somebody freakin out... sorry didnt mean to stir up a hornets nest

king ranch
01-10-2008, 05:09 PM
ohh and for the few of you box builders that kno what you guys are doing will the 3 inch aeroports be enough for this setup read what this guys says

http://f150online.com/forums/showthread.php?t=315580

is he right or wrong

BuckyBoy
01-10-2008, 05:31 PM
lol. you ask us to help you out. and then when we tell you what will sound good you go ask someone else if we are right or wrong.

king ranch
01-10-2008, 06:12 PM
i am not saying anyone is wrong i was getting many oppions dont u do the same on other stuff

king ranch
01-10-2008, 06:20 PM
one more question if i have enough room to make a box that gives me 6.9cu ft before displacement of a slot port how much cuft would the port take up at 33hztune

Boominator
01-12-2008, 01:46 AM
I just picked this dual 12" Spl aeroport enclosure tonight from my buddy at Re Audio for $20 bucks. He was hitting in the 150's in this box. I cant wait to hear it.

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f194/1mikeknight/kinetik022.jpg

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f194/1mikeknight/kinetik025.jpg

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f194/1mikeknight/kinetik023.jpg

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f194/1mikeknight/kinetik024.jpg