PDA

View Full Version : logitech z2300?



AllDayMJ
01-07-2008, 01:58 AM
im planning on getting the Logitech z-2300 to hook up to my home computer, and then later on to my laptop in college, &maybe even my tv...

it has pretty good reviews and for 125 shipped from PE its not terrible price for 40w RMSx2 for satellites and 120w for the 8" sub in a 6th order..

im planning on re-designing the sub box with 3/4" MDF in either a T-line, Voigt pipe, or something along those lines to increase its output..

what do u think? should i buy it, build my own..or get something else..thanks-mj

ultimate157
01-07-2008, 03:02 AM
6th order? Logitech does simple bass reflex enclosures.

ArrizX
01-07-2008, 03:12 AM
Just make your own, period.

AllDayMJ
01-07-2008, 08:35 PM
6th order? Logitech does simple bass reflex enclosures.

i know i read somewhere it was a 6th order..which also surprised the hell out of me because of the location of its port... but tigerdirect has it listed as 6th order (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1068243&Sku=L23-6326)

otherwise what should i use instead for <125 for atleast a 2.1, i have all MDF i need so i can build box and pods if needed..thanks -mj

mike11202
01-07-2008, 08:38 PM
I have the 2300 and its fine the way it is.. awesome

mike11202
01-07-2008, 08:39 PM
It's ALOT louder then your expecting

you won't need anything more

Crodski
01-07-2008, 08:40 PM
yea i like the Z2300 we have it in the front room and it puts out some Great bass. i almost like it more than my Z-5300,for some reason, the sub has a lot of noise comin from it on high frequencies...

AllDayMJ
01-07-2008, 08:41 PM
thats what i thought a single 8 with 120w rms...and in either a 6th order or ported..lol, way too loud for my dorm use next year at least..

AllDayMJ
01-07-2008, 08:42 PM
yea i like the Z2300 we have it in the front room and it puts out some Great bass. i almost like it more than my Z-5300,for some reason, the sub has a lot of noise comin from it on high frequencies... which one has higher Hz coming from it the 5300 or the 2300? and do u mean like high bass, or noise? i cant tell if this is good or bad..lol

Crodski
01-07-2008, 08:44 PM
no not the 2300 , my 5300, when playing certain songs, the sub makes some odd noises. i know my post was confusing when i wrote it lol. i meant to say thats why i liked the 2300, it didnt have any.
im thinking they might have messed my box up or something because it is a bandpass, and a small one at that

mike11202
01-07-2008, 08:46 PM
stick with the 2300.. best 2.1 system for the money

it has a bass output knob on the switch.. easy to adjust as well

AllDayMJ
01-07-2008, 08:55 PM
lol, im hoping to actually switch it to a nice voigt pipe design, but im not sure how well it will improve output..

thxsubwoofers
01-10-2008, 01:36 AM
The logitech 8" or 10" subs are amazing. They are made from TangBand audio. In my opinion, logitech puts there subs in tiny enclosures. I tested my logitech Z680 sub, and placed it in a different enclosure. The enclosure i used was a onkyo SKW-200 sub box. In my opinion, in a bigger enclosure it sounded deeper and louder. Plus it was on a 75rms onkyo amp. Before it was powered by a 188rms logitech plate amp.

BrianChia
01-10-2008, 01:38 AM
It's not 6th order. 6th order design is patented by BOSE :fyi:.

I agree about DIY period. Why not just buy better drivers to start off with?

Immacomputer
01-10-2008, 03:20 PM
lol, im hoping to actually switch it to a nice voigt pipe design, but im not sure how well it will improve output..

It really wouldn't improve output. I would really only use a voigt pipe for full range drivers. A transmission line wouldn't really improve output either; both would change the frequency response though.

AllDayMJ
01-14-2008, 01:58 AM
It really wouldn't improve output. I would really only use a voigt pipe for full range drivers. A transmission line wouldn't really improve output either; both would change the frequency response though.

lol so the frequency response would change, but how would that happen without increased output...responsiveness? because the small ported box i think will have a little more control...compared to the free air nature of the TL..lol?:rolleyes::confused:

and im just drew up some plans of a 2.67ft^3 net TL tuned for 28hz, does anyone know how i could get ahold of the T/S paramaters of the Logitech driver?

are those really made by TB that really reassures me that its a quality product.

BrianChia
01-14-2008, 02:23 AM
lol so the frequency response would change, but how would that happen without increased output...responsiveness? because the small ported box i think will have a little more control...compared to the free air nature of the TL..lol?:rolleyes::confused:

and im just drew up some plans of a 2.67ft^3 net TL tuned for 28hz, does anyone know how i could get ahold of the T/S paramaters of the Logitech driver?

are those really made by TB that really reassures me that its a quality product.

What are you talking about? :confused: