PDA

View Full Version : Porting question



DeboDaddy
12-29-2007, 12:51 AM
I just built a sealed box for my 2 Phoenix Gold RSD12's. The box is 2.05 cu.ft per chamber after subtracting woofer volume. The optimum sealed spec was 1.8cu.ft, but I built it at ~2cu.ft for the option of retaining some SQ if I decided to port it later.

I want the ports to be on the front of the box so they point towards the front with
my rear seats down. The problem is that there isn't much room next to the woofers on the baffle to fit ports.

Ok, so for my questions: Can I use two 2" diameter ports instead of a single 4" port? I cannot safely fit anything greater than a 2"dia port on the front. If I port the box, I plan to tune it to about 32hz, and from my calculations, this would require two 2" ports approximately 6.5" long. Would it be better to use four 2" ports at about 14" long in order to cut down on port noise? My box is 18" deep, so I can go up to about 15.5" long on the ports.

Here's a little sketch what I'm talking about for four 2" ports (if I do it at all) Don't laugh at my MS paint skills... :D

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x104/DeboDaddy/sketch.jpg



Is there a better way to do this without redesigning the entire box? and no I don't want to slot port it. Any help is appreciated.

hoxie08
12-29-2007, 12:53 AM
im not sure.

hoxie08
12-29-2007, 12:53 AM
why not one big port?

DeboDaddy
12-29-2007, 01:00 AM
why not one big port?

haha, I thought I covered this, but ok...

I want the ports on the baffle, so the ports and the subs both face forward. In order to do this, I do not have room for one big port. The box is two seperate chambers, so there's a 3/4MDF divider in the center, cutting down on many of my options...

DeboDaddy
12-30-2007, 11:11 AM
Anyone have an answer for me on this?