PDA

View Full Version : PICS of my 1st slot port box build



riddla
12-26-2007, 06:21 PM
What do ya reckon,
yay or nay

32 w X 16.5 h X 22 Deep for a single 15 or 2 x 12s

TUNED TO 28hz

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1004.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1003.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1002.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1005.jpg

btdickey99
12-26-2007, 06:22 PM
whats going in it?

riddla
12-26-2007, 06:28 PM
A single 15 or 2 x 12s but I dont know which will be better , heres the 15 pic

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/amps028.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/amps026.jpg

miker
12-26-2007, 06:31 PM
Looks good!

Thats going to fit in your BMW? Or is it for a different car?

riddla
12-26-2007, 06:35 PM
Unfortunately it wont go in my bmw but I have a fiat it will fit it, 2 x 12s or the 15 ?

miker
12-26-2007, 06:36 PM
oh, gotcha.

PV Audio
12-26-2007, 07:25 PM
Waaay too many screws. My method is 2 screws for every 15". Otherwise, looks splendido :)

pioneerpimp
12-26-2007, 08:32 PM
you dont know whats going in it...? but already figured out cubic feet?... not too goof of an idea.

riddla
12-26-2007, 08:56 PM
I know exactly wats going in it thanx, the 15. Was merely asking if 2 x 12s would also sound good in it

luvinthebass
12-26-2007, 08:57 PM
u'll have awesome output in the 30-40 hz range dude, just wait :woot:

riddla
12-26-2007, 09:10 PM
sounds good

riddla
12-26-2007, 09:12 PM
Waaay too many screws. My method is 2 screws for every 15". Otherwise, looks splendido :)

ok, is there a disadvantage of using so many screws? Ill bear this in mind for my next build

riddla
12-26-2007, 09:13 PM
u'll have awesome output in the 30-40 hz range dude, just wait :woot:

sounds good to me, cant wait to test

snoopdan
12-26-2007, 09:14 PM
ok, is there a disadvantage of using so many screws? Ill bear this in mind for my next build

none besides running out of screws :laugh:


seriously, it doesnt matter. You could always put wood filler in the holes where the screws went, and sand them over. That way when you finish it (either paint, epoxy, or whatever) it looks seamless.

60ndown
12-26-2007, 09:16 PM
port looks wider at the back than the side?

luvinthebass
12-26-2007, 09:16 PM
sounds good to me, cant wait to test

hypnotize by young jeezy will just shine with your setup.

riddla
12-26-2007, 09:22 PM
port looks wider at the back than the side?

yer, Its is. Will this have a bad effect on anything ?

riddla
12-26-2007, 09:23 PM
hypnotize by young jeezy will just shine with your setup.

yer, cool, Ive got some deep bass line tunes to test

Random1010
12-26-2007, 09:25 PM
yer, Its is. Will this have a bad effect on anything ?

well...ya,..its supposed to be the same width all the way back. i think if u had put the second port piece on at the end of the first instead of on the side of the first..id have been the same width

pioneerpimp
12-26-2007, 09:29 PM
is yer the new word for yes?

and you said
What do ya reckon,
yay or nay

32 w X 16.5 h X 22 Deep for a single 15 or 2 x 12s

TUNED TO 28hz

so there u didnt know what was going in it, so you should always build a box around a sub, not build the boxes thend ecide on subs

riddla
12-26-2007, 09:31 PM
well...ya,..its supposed to be the same width all the way back. i think if u had put the second port piece on at the end of the first instead of on the side of the first..id have been the same width

ok, i can change that, thanx for the advice, never new this

PV Audio
12-27-2007, 01:57 AM
ok, is there a disadvantage of using so many screws? Ill bear this in mind for my next buildYes, because when you use a screw in a panel, it creates a weak point. When you have too many, you risk splitting down the wood since the weak points are so close together.

IamDeMan
12-27-2007, 06:20 AM
Was merely asking if 2 x 12s would also sound good in itWell, that would depend on the drivers.


ok, is there a disadvantage of using so many screws? Ill bear this in mind for my next build
Yes and no. Basically it is the glue that holds the structure together. You only need enough screws to apply pressure. Yours looks fine though.

To break it all down, I'd say your ability to build a decent enclosure is definitely there, but by reading some responss you have made, you need to learn more about designing a good enclosure.

Take care.

riddla
12-27-2007, 08:11 AM
Well, that would depend on the drivers.


Yes and no. Basically it is the glue that holds the structure together. You only need enough screws to apply pressure. Yours looks fine though.

To break it all down, I'd say your ability to build a decent enclosure is definitely there, but by reading some responss you have made, you need to learn more about designing a good enclosure.

Take care.

Yes ur right. I am & will take on everything on board as this has always been a little hobby of mine. thanx 4 the advice

riddla
12-27-2007, 08:14 AM
is yer the new word for yes?

and you said
What do ya reckon,
yay or nay

32 w X 16.5 h X 22 Deep for a single 15 or 2 x 12s

TUNED TO 28hz

so there u didnt know what was going in it, so you should always build a box around a sub, not build the boxes thend ecide on subs

Yer is a way for yes i suppose down here. Ok I will build around the sub next time. thanx 4 the advice :D

audioarsonal
12-27-2007, 12:12 PM
Not bad couple n00b mistakes but not bad.

riddla
12-27-2007, 02:53 PM
Originally Posted by 60ndown
port looks wider at the back than the side?

Will this affect the tuning in anyway. If I try to take it apart, that might be a pain because the glue has set now

audioarsonal
12-27-2007, 02:57 PM
yes it will affect tuning.try adding a piece of wood sandwiched to the other to make up for the distance.All this will effect enternal volume so you will need to compensate.

riddla
12-27-2007, 03:00 PM
Ok, Ill add another piece the same size behind it thanx

When u say need to compensate, what do u mean please

audioarsonal
12-27-2007, 03:06 PM
you have to subtract the volume of space that the piece of wood has taken up from the total volume.This in turn will change your tuning.

riddla
12-27-2007, 03:10 PM
Ok, I understand now, so obviously each piece of wood or anything added ie bracing must be subtracted from final volume. I follow now

bose301s
12-27-2007, 03:11 PM
Looks to be well built, flush corners, even lines and seems, good wood working skills re definitely evident, just few rookie mistakes that you can fix with your next box. If you fix those mistakes you have the ability to make an excellent enclosure.

audioarsonal
12-27-2007, 03:13 PM
Correct just like subtracting for sub displacement as well.Anything added to those enternal demensions needs to be subtracted from the total volume.It shouldn't change your tuning to much since its only like .16ft3.Just keep this in mind for your next build and make sure the prots are consistant.

riddla
12-27-2007, 03:27 PM
Looks to be well built, flush corners, even lines and seems, good wood working skills re definitely evident, just few rookie mistakes that you can fix with your next box. If you fix those mistakes you have the ability to make an excellent enclosure.

Thanx for the comments. Yes Im quite handy diy wise and will definately make the next box better. Im going to build the same one but instead of 22in deep, Ill be making it 18in deep and the height at 14.5in & will post pics when done tuned between 28-30hz

riddla
12-27-2007, 03:28 PM
Correct just like subtracting for sub displacement as well.Anything added to those enternal demensions needs to be subtracted from the total volume.It shouldn't change your tuning to much since its only like .16ft3.Just keep this in mind for your next build and make sure the prots are consistant.

ok. So if I leave it as it is, would u say the tuning will be higher or lower

85Caprice4d
12-27-2007, 03:32 PM
45 the corners in the port

audioarsonal
12-27-2007, 03:33 PM
it will be higher maybe 1-2hz..?

riddla
12-27-2007, 03:38 PM
45 the corners in the port

what tool does this please

riddla
12-27-2007, 03:39 PM
it will be higher maybe 1-2hz..?

ok, thats not 2 bad, doesnt sound like it will be very noticeable, correct me if im wrong however

audioarsonal
12-27-2007, 03:45 PM
Shouldn't be.To 45 the corners you need a piece of wood about 4" wide, cut the edges on a 45 (both sides) and fit it into the corner.Kinda like crown molding but vertical.Kinda like this
26501062
Just remember this will take away from the internal volume as well.

riddla
12-27-2007, 03:47 PM
ok, thanx, ill have to get some practice in doing this so will enquire into it

audioarsonal
12-27-2007, 04:00 PM
Not that hard really.Can be done with a circular saw but easiest with a table saw.If you build boxes alot I would invest in one.Consistant cuts and less time.

riddla
12-27-2007, 04:12 PM
Not that hard really.Can be done with a circular saw but easiest with a table saw.If you build boxes alot I would invest in one.Consistant cuts and less time.

cool. I would like to see a pic of a box built with this to give me a better idea. I dont build boxes often but will start to and will be bilding some for my home entertainment set up with horns & bullets intergrated. These will be my from now to the end speaker boxes.

Im goning to do the cut out for the box above this w/kend as I want to hear what it will sound like. I have no idea about the different sounds between 28hz, 33hz, 40hz ec although I do understand that the lower the tuning the deeper the bass & the higher the tuning ie 40hz the more hard a bass it will be. I built this box at 28hz (well tryed to) as I like very deep low bass so I hope it doesn't disappoint me, i cant see why it would

tcguy85
12-27-2007, 08:14 PM
28 hz tuning should be sick on hypnotize. my little sub with it's 30hz tuning is sick on hypnotize!

riddla
12-28-2007, 09:28 AM
28 hz tuning should be sick on hypnotize. my little sub with it's 30hz tuning is sick on hypnotize!

sick, yes i like the sound of that

PV Audio
12-28-2007, 10:20 AM
Shouldn't be.To 45 the corners you need a piece of wood about 4" wide, cut the edges on a 45 (both sides) and fit it into the corner.Kinda like crown molding but vertical.Kinda like this
26501062
Just remember this will take away from the internal volume as well.Almost. It's far less effective if the 45 doesn't keep the same port width throughout. Calculate the distance from the port corner to the outside corner the port width away. Draw a line from that point diagonally to the side and rear of the enclosure, and that's the width of the piece you need.

audioarsonal
12-28-2007, 11:01 AM
I just thought he would know that the port needed to be consistant throughout since that was what the problem was with this build.The 4" was just a general number and not to be used exclusivly.
Thanks for the help PV

2000LaDe
12-28-2007, 11:04 AM
port looks wider at the back than the side?

its supossed to be :fyi:

riddla
12-28-2007, 11:17 AM
its supossed to be :fyi:

It is ?

audioarsonal
12-28-2007, 11:21 AM
No you want it consistant throughout in this particular application.Just sandwich that wood on there to get the distances the same and you'll be good to go.

2000LaDe
12-28-2007, 11:24 AM
No you want it consistant throughout in this particular application.Just sandwich that wood on there to get the distances the same and you'll be good to go.

ive always got good output on my L ports when i make the inside part about 1/2" wider. dunno why though.

lilmaniac2
12-28-2007, 11:25 AM
I highly doubt your going to hear a difference by that extra 3/4 of port area back there.... ive accidently put my port on wrong like that befoe and didnt notice til after it was glued, sounded fine tho.... is it optimal, of coarse not. Will it work, it should

riddla
12-28-2007, 11:38 AM
No you want it consistant throughout in this particular application.Just sandwich that wood on there to get the distances the same and you'll be good to go.

Ok, U mean like this. Ill have to cut the right length tho
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1006.jpg

Its to late I think to pull of the other port as its glued down solid so wont do this.

I also have this liquid nails & was going to use as a sealant but I have been told on here b4 NO
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1007.jpg

Im going to cut the hole for the sub but Dont wana open up a new discussion here as to having it sub up on top or on same side as port. Will this make a difference however

2000LaDe
12-28-2007, 11:43 AM
i only use heavy duty liquid nail in building. dont need clamps when u mix liquid nail and brad nails. and u can play it as soon as u get done building it cuz the **** doesnt run everywhere

audioarsonal
12-28-2007, 11:44 AM
That is how you should do it.Screw,glue together and good to go.
And PLEASE don't use Liquid Nails!Just get a tube of silicone and use that.
As for sub placement it depends on the vehicle.Pick one and if you don't like the way it sounds build another box.

2000LaDe
12-28-2007, 11:46 AM
if i was u i wouldnt even worry about putting that board on.

audioarsonal
12-28-2007, 11:46 AM
PVA-II glue is better then liquid nails proven.Don't use the stuff if you don't wanna get flamed.

riddla
12-28-2007, 11:47 AM
Thanx for ur advice on that one. So many mixed reviews on this stuff but Ill bring up another post one day about it.

riddla
12-28-2007, 11:49 AM
PVA-II glue is better then liquid nails proven.Don't use the stuff if you don't wanna get flamed.

Yes, I dont think Ill be using it as Ive heard more NO's than Yes in the past so end of that subject lol

2000LaDe
12-28-2007, 11:49 AM
i heard super glue works best

audioarsonal
12-28-2007, 11:51 AM
Its a rookie mistake to use it. But anyone who builds boxs professionally will never use it, it is an all purpose glue yes, but wood glue chemically bonds the wood and is proven to be far superior to anything else.Hence the name "wood glue".

riddla
12-28-2007, 11:53 AM
That is how you should do it.Screw,glue together and good to go.
And PLEASE don't use Liquid Nails!Just get a tube of silicone and use that.
As for sub placement it depends on the vehicle.Pick one and if you don't like the way it sounds build another box.

I wont be using liquid nails for sure, Im going to pop out later & buy some sealant.

I will place the sub on the same side as the port as far away from the port as possible as this was my intention in the 1st place

Ill be building another box very shortly, well a couple actually

riddla
12-28-2007, 11:54 AM
if i was u i wouldnt even worry about putting that board on.

To be honest, Im not going to on this occasion as this is my 1st main build and u guys have been GREAT. Im just going to seal, cut the hole & away I go 1st

Cant wait to test it, Ill be testing it on my home set

2000LaDe
12-28-2007, 11:56 AM
its really all personal preference but ive always used this
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a133/hankveach/PIC-0087.jpg

ive yet to have a box break and ive ran pretty big setups.

IgnoreMe
12-28-2007, 11:58 AM
28 hz tuning should be sick on hypnotize. my little sub with it's 30hz tuning is sick on hypnotize!

honestly, for hypnotize you'd want a wee bit higher than 28hz.

IIRC the bassline is right at 40hz.

audioarsonal
12-28-2007, 11:58 AM
Sounds good.Just take it as a learning process and learn from your mistakes.Like lilmaniac said you probably won't even hear the differance.Next time dry fit the parts to make sure your getting what you planed.
And always measure twice cut once....

riddla
12-28-2007, 11:58 AM
deleted dbl post

riddla
12-28-2007, 12:01 PM
Sounds good.Just take it as a learning process and learn from your mistakes.Like lilmaniac said you probably won't even hear the differance.Next time dry fit the parts to make sure your getting what you planed.
And always measure twice cut once....

Yes I will THANX, Ive learn't alot from this post & enjoy building boxes

riddla
12-28-2007, 12:02 PM
its really all personal preference but ive always used this
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a133/hankveach/PIC-0087.jpg

ive yet to have a box break and ive ran pretty big setups.

But do u seal with that out of interest, ill be getting my sealant in a bit as Ive used sealant before & prefer it to be honest

audioarsonal
12-28-2007, 12:05 PM
Its NOT a sealent it is an adhesive.
Liquid Nails is the bastard child of box building.Can you use it yes, SHOULD you use it NO.There have been a many threads explaing why.But if you want to use whats right, its "wood glue" for the joints and "silicone"to seal.

riddla
12-28-2007, 12:07 PM
Its NOT a sealent it is an adhesive.
Liquid Nails is the bastard child of box building.Can you use it yes, SHOULD you use it NO.There have been a many threads explaing why.But if you want to use whats right, its "wood glue" for the joints and "silicone"to seal.

Ok, splendid, ill definately follow this practice as a rule of thumb

IgnoreMe
12-28-2007, 12:07 PM
But do u seal with that out of interest, ill be getting my sealant in a bit as Ive used sealant before & prefer it to be honest

honestly, for me (after trying to argue that liquid nails is good for the longest time, you can probably search for the thread titled "so chevyaudio was right..." where i built a box, and 1.5 or so years later when my buddy took some screws out, the box LITERALLY fell apart. as in, as soon as the screws were pulled a wall fell, and so on.) i use titebond II or elmers probond as my glue, and GE 100% silicone II sealant as, well, my sealant. dont buy the silicone I as on the back they have an adhesion rating.

for wood adhesion, silicone I is a 6 or 7 out of 10. silicone II is a 10/10, so it will stick better in the box seams.

http://www.hardwarestore.com/media/product/211474_front200.jpg

2000LaDe
12-28-2007, 12:07 PM
But do u seal with that out of interest, ill be getting my sealant in a bit as Ive used sealant before & prefer it to be honest

i bead it on the screw it down. then i seal each corner with it as well. nothing is gonna leak and nothing has EVER broke. even at 153+ db at 30hz with everything moving. never failed me so im sticking with it.

2000LaDe
12-28-2007, 12:09 PM
but obviously im not sayin to use it. just giving you my opinion.

riddla
12-28-2007, 12:12 PM
appreciated my friend

audioarsonal
12-28-2007, 12:17 PM
Its not that you can't use it, because it does work.Is there something better and cheaper?Yes the answer is wood glue!We have ALL used Liquid Nails at some point to build a box.But if you progress as a builder you learn that "wood glue" is the superior choice not to mention the savings involved.

riddla
12-28-2007, 12:31 PM
Ok, another question here. When I place the sub on the face, I will have to screw 1 screw into either the top of the box or the bottom as there is not enough room to get the woofer clear ie all screws on the front panel unless I give the sub THE GANSTA LEAN lOOK but I prefer it straight so my question is probably a bit silly but is there any effect on 1 screw going in the top panel or bottom panel, again, excuse the silly question but i'd rather ask ?

heres a pic
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1.jpg

2000LaDe
12-28-2007, 12:35 PM
Ok, another question here. When I place the sub on the face, I will have to screw 1 screw into either the top of the box or the bottom as there is not enough room to get the woofer clear ie all screws on the front panel unless I give the sub THE GANSTA LEAN lOOK but I prefer it straight so my question is probably a bit silly but is there any effect on 1 screw going in the top panel or bottom panel, again, excuse the silly question but i'd rather ask ?

heres a pic
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1.jpg

it should be fine. just predrill a small hole before u screw into the top and bottom plates so u dont split the wood.

riddla
12-28-2007, 12:37 PM
ok, will do, is there a rule of thumb on how far to place the sub from the port

Immacomputer
12-28-2007, 02:19 PM
honestly, for hypnotize you'd want a wee bit higher than 28hz.

IIRC the bassline is right at 40hz.

Well that would depend on the sub. As for hypnotize, its main bassline is 34, 39, 52, 62.

miker
12-28-2007, 02:25 PM
Why don't you just rotate the ring a bit?

BuckyBoy
12-28-2007, 02:36 PM
Why don't you just rotate the ring a bit?
That's what I was thinking.

2000LaDe
12-28-2007, 02:38 PM
That's what I was thinking.

that means the logo of the speaker is more than likely not gonna look right thats why.

miker
12-28-2007, 02:40 PM
Yeah.. But... You do what you have to..

I would rather have a tilted sub, than a cracked box, or a poor seal..

riddla
12-28-2007, 03:03 PM
Ok, i've cut the hole & its all fine, the cut is however quite close to the top panel of the box but no cracks or any problems I can see & nothing a bit of wood glue wont sort to bond it all tight once I glue the top panel down & seal the hole box up which im going to do shortly & let it air dry for at least 24hrs, correct me if im wrong however on the length of time needed. I didnt want to give it the gangsta lean so did it this way but I know better next time round.

1st thing tho is to sandpaper the lot & smooth it all up with my DA, hoover it all out, seal it up & hopefully bobs ur uncle, THE TEST LOL

What do u think ?
opinions always appreciated good or bad & thanx again for all your advice & info, I really appreciate it

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1018.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1011.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1012.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1017.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1014.jpg

audioarsonal
12-28-2007, 03:13 PM
Not bad!The hole in the top and bottom won't leak air so don't worry bout that.Should have centered the circle a little better and you would have had a little more wood at the top but its still all good.Just pre-drill and you shouldn't have a problem with splitting.

riddla
12-28-2007, 03:17 PM
Ok, I will do that

2000LaDe
12-28-2007, 03:23 PM
Not bad!The hole in the top and bottom won't leak air so don't worry bout that.Should have centered the circle a little better and you would have had a little more wood at the top but its still all good.Just pre-drill and you shouldn't have a problem with splitting.

see my predrill idea works

audioarsonal
12-28-2007, 03:24 PM
^^^^^Yes it does!!!

miker
12-28-2007, 05:50 PM
Eh... Not really... You still get splits even when you pre-drill............

2000LaDe
12-28-2007, 05:58 PM
Eh... Not really... You still get splits even when you pre-drill............

yah if you ****. you ****???

called predrill large enough where the screw still has bite but not have to split the wood to go in.

BuckyBoy
12-28-2007, 06:10 PM
yah if you ****. you ****???

called predrill large enough where the screw still has bite but not have to split the wood to go in.
whether you predrill or not, if you get too close to the edge it will still split sometimes.

riddla
12-28-2007, 06:16 PM
I dont have any cracks in my wood just a few small splits in the wood but nothing detrimental, there like hairline cracks but I wont make the same mistake twice

David12460
12-28-2007, 10:05 PM
Looks good.

riddla
12-29-2007, 06:27 PM
Ok, Today I finally tested the box after sealing & letting it dry etc.. I tested it with my hifonics brutus 1600w RMS amp & what can I say, this thing DROPS. I listened for port noise, couldn't detect anything but only know to listen out for chuffing. I listened around the box for any airleaks, none to find. I think maybe the box is slightly to big for the sub cant justify the reason why. Summing up tho, this thing DROPS LOW. im happy :D
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc89/speng1/myspeakerboxbuild1017.jpg

miker
12-29-2007, 10:15 PM
yah if you ****. you ****???

called predrill large enough where the screw still has bite but not have to split the wood to go in.

So you've never split the wood when drilling into the sides?