PDA

View Full Version : NEw 2 boxes



85Caprice4d
12-25-2007, 05:15 AM
Okay well I have made boxes before - but never ported - and sealed is alot easier. I have also never used sketch up, but I have used cad programs so I cought on fast. I I was playing around on here, and even thought I dont know the tuning and am not sure of the sq ft, I made this box :p:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y98/L0ckd0wn2021/1-1.gif
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y98/L0ckd0wn2021/2.gif
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y98/L0ckd0wn2021/3.gif

i know its probably way wack, but lemme know if you think this would be a pheisable desihn - I was thinking running 2 12'2 flush mount (idk the exact radisu or diameter of the subs so i just put in 6" for radius seing as how its a 12" - can be changed later) but yeah lemme know what you think - i think it may be rediculously huge

xhilr8n
12-25-2007, 05:19 AM
yeah man, i think the double layer all the way around is kinda pointless. Keep playing with sketchup etc., you'll have it down in no time.

jason

85Caprice4d
12-25-2007, 05:27 AM
not trying to be an *** - honestly just curious, but why do you think the double layer is pointless? I mean i know i dont know much about building bozes - but isnt one of the main concerns about movement? like box flex? or is 2 12"s not enough to need to worry about that?

hoxie08
12-25-2007, 05:28 AM
yeah i dont think double would really be necessary... guess it can also depend on sub..but idk really lol.

hoxie08
12-25-2007, 05:28 AM
not trying to be an *** - honestly just curious, but why do you think the double layer is pointless? I mean i know i dont know much about building bozes - but isnt one of the main concerns about movement? like box flex? or is 2 12"s not enough to need to worry about that?

i believe that is correct.

85Caprice4d
12-25-2007, 05:32 AM
you think if I took down the doubl wall - this box will be too big?

Pop da Hatch
12-25-2007, 06:00 AM
you think if I took down the doubl wall - this box will be too big?

box looks pretty **** big over 3' deep not really sure the width from that, also with double layers it would be very excessive as well as make the box heavy as *****

BrianChia
12-25-2007, 06:27 AM
No Flex Box

http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/6514/212stroker52cf35hzjy0.png

miker
12-25-2007, 10:00 AM
i believe that is correct.

Wouldn't that depend on the sub?

Immacomputer
12-25-2007, 10:42 AM
That's about 2.8 cubic feet tuned to 21hz... that's not a design, it's a drawing.

85Caprice4d
12-25-2007, 01:48 PM
That's about 2.8 cubic feet tuned to 21hz... that's not a design, it's a drawing.

haha well like i said - this is my first one on the program- as well as my first ported box. not to mention i know nothing of tuning =ported boxes - but **** that box above is confuzzeling - what program?

PSturmer
12-25-2007, 01:55 PM
bracing is better than double layering. on that box i would only double layer the baffle. you could also do this on the inner corner's.

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c8/psturmer/100_0871.jpg

IgnoreMe
12-25-2007, 01:58 PM
i have a easy to follow tutorial in my sig that goes step by step, word for word on how to design one, and ngsm has a good one as a sticky as well.

they will teach you how to design an enclosure. you cant just come up with random measurements and put it together in sketchup. it looks nice, but it really serves no purpose.

miker
12-25-2007, 02:04 PM
I think he was jsut excited about making a sketchup drawing.:)

oh wait this seems to be the smiley of choice....:fyi:

85Caprice4d
12-25-2007, 02:07 PM
I think he was jsut excited about making a sketchup drawing.:)

oh wait this seems to be the smiley of choice....:fyi:

haha word:laugh:
I wasnt really planning on designing or drawing a real box i was gonna make - i was jus fuxin around with it for the first time - and this was the outcome. I guess i kind of started backwards - most start with learning how to calculate boxes - then there are those who **** at math and just wanna play with the fancy drawing tools :p: thats me. but now im gonna learn how to calculate it out haha

Mr Cabinetry
12-25-2007, 02:07 PM
No Flex Box

http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/6514/212stroker52cf35hzjy0.png

Alot of that bracing is complete overkill IMO.

EDIT: ( Proper English Mode )

Jesus Christ, WTF is up with all bracing :)

PV Audio
12-25-2007, 02:20 PM
Holy ****ing Christ, use English please.

IgnoreMe
12-25-2007, 02:28 PM
A lot of that bracing is complete overkill IMO.

i agree, not to mention, that big piece with all the holes in it, will probably severely effect airflow.

you can get by just fine, with dowels and double baffling without any negative effects.

Random1010
12-25-2007, 02:35 PM
**** thats a lot of bracing...that box must way a ton..

miker
12-25-2007, 02:36 PM
haha word:laugh:
I wasnt really planning on designing or drawing a real box i was gonna make - i was jus fuxin around with it for the first time - and this was the outcome. I guess i kind of started backwards - most start with learning how to calculate boxes - then there are those who **** at math and just wanna play with the fancy drawing tools :p: thats me. but now im gonna learn how to calculate it out haha


RE calculator

Here (http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html)

BrianChia
12-25-2007, 05:56 PM
I just made it for fun, not for practicality. :)

Still more rigid and lighter than double walled MDF.

Check out this bracing:

http://www.humblehomemadehifi.com/Andromeda_bestanden/image008.jpg