PDA

View Full Version : How to draw a simple box in SketchUp



JBLCAMRY
12-24-2007, 10:51 AM
Ok, this is going to be a quick how to, using sketchup. This not a tuned box, it is just for demonstration sake.

Start off by measuring out your bottom piece of the box, and drawing it out.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s1.png

Now that you have the bottom of the box measured and drawn, use the push/pull tool to pull it to the desired wood thickness. (Usually 3/4")
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s2.png

Now take your measuring tape, and click on the edge of each side and pull in 3/4" (or wood thickness)
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s3.png

Now draw lines with the guides still there, and then erase the guides
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s4.png

On this example I used a 3" wide vent, so take the tape measure again and measure 3" in from the inside of the walls, on the side and back. Then from those lines measure out another 3/4" with the measuring tape.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s5.png

Then erase the piece in the front of the port and the guides.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s6.png

PV Audio
12-24-2007, 11:00 AM
http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=180054

****IN HOST took down my pictures

:mad:

Carry on :D

JBLCAMRY
12-24-2007, 11:07 AM
Next is the 45 in the port, start out buy measuring from the corner to the interior edge and then measure 3" from the corner. (The little dot)
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s7.png

From that point, drag a square to the edge. And draw a line through the middle. Then from the edge of the square across till it turns a pink color (idk Iím colorblind)
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s8.png

Now erase the square and the guides, so there is only this left.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s9.png

Measure from the middle of that 45, out 3/4" like this
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s10.png

Then draw a line and erase the guide, leaving you with this.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s11.png

Now you have your layout finished for the box.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s12.png

JBLCAMRY
12-24-2007, 11:15 AM
now you start to pull up all of the pieces of the box,
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s13.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s14.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s15.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s16.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s17.png

noe that all of the pices are up, you need to draw the lines that seperate them. like so...
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s18.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s19.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s20.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s21.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s22.png

JBLCAMRY
12-24-2007, 11:25 AM
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s23.png


now you have an almost complete box.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s24.png

next is how i do the top. i draw a line 3/4" up on the corner, then i draw a line the depth of the box, then back down 3/4". leaving this........
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s25.png


now pull it accross.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s26.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s27.png


now is time for the hole cutout, first you want to find out where you want to but it, use the guides to do this. for this box, i pulled from the edge 14". then drew and X using the guides.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s28.png

now draw the circle (this one is 5 1/2" radius) so there is an 11" cutout.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s29.png

now use you push pull tool and push in 3/4" and let go. you will be left with this...
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s30.png

now erase the guides and your done, you have a finished drawing using sketchup
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/s31.png

hope this helps.:D

JBLCAMRY
12-24-2007, 12:04 PM
http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=180054

****IN HOST took down my pictures

:mad:

Carry on :D

lol, hope this helps someone:)

bigdog829
12-24-2007, 12:37 PM
Thanks a ton for this I been messing with it for a couple days now with no success.

:D

JBLCAMRY
12-24-2007, 12:42 PM
Thanks a ton for this I been messing with it for a couple days now with no success.

:D

glad it helped

Immacomputer
12-24-2007, 12:58 PM
I don't like using the guides and find it easier to just let it use the auto length that sets to your last typed in dimension length.

PV's was better but I'm sure people will still benefit from this.

budahbuddy803
12-24-2007, 01:04 PM
where do you get the program to do this with?

Immacomputer
12-24-2007, 01:05 PM
Google. Seriously.

budahbuddy803
12-24-2007, 01:06 PM
Google. Seriously.

oh it is downloadable? awsome thanks.

azimuth
12-24-2007, 01:23 PM
any word on compatibility with vista yet? or another sketchup software that is compatible?

PV Audio
12-24-2007, 02:51 PM
5 works with vista. 6 was just a cluster**** to get to work properly.

bigdog829
12-24-2007, 02:54 PM
Finally got it, LOL

Now just one last question how do you make the boards transparent so you can see the inside of the enclosure ?

Thanks again for this !

EDIT- Nevermind I found it use the x-ray view.

IgnoreMe
12-24-2007, 02:57 PM
i have one question. ive been wondering since i have figured sketchup out yesterday....


how do you make the transparent pieces like that?

edit: lol cant believe i didnt see the above post

IgnoreMe
12-24-2007, 03:54 PM
nvm, found it.

when using the paint tool ( the little bucket), and the window pops up, go to edit, and mess with the opacity.

PV Audio
12-24-2007, 04:09 PM
Or, just click the x-ray button lol.

jesse59672
12-24-2007, 04:14 PM
good tutorial

IgnoreMe
12-24-2007, 05:56 PM
Or, just click the x-ray button lol.

wow...everyone knows shortcuts except for me lol

where is the xray button btw?

JBLCAMRY
12-24-2007, 06:08 PM
wow...everyone knows shortcuts except for me lol

where is the xray button btw?

view, face style, and x-ray is the first option:D

JBLCAMRY
12-24-2007, 06:08 PM
And if there are any other questions or tips that anyone would like added , speak up.

IgnoreMe
12-24-2007, 06:30 PM
view, face style, and x-ray is the first option:D

thank you

JBLCAMRY
12-24-2007, 07:54 PM
now for flaring the vent..

first you start off with the port the regular way.....
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/1radius.png

then you draw a square from the corner of the vent exit to the width that you want to make it , say you want a 3" flare, make the square 3"x3"
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/2radius.png

now draw a circle to from the edge of the square to the edge of the outside of the box.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/3radius.png

next you start from the cender again but go to the inside edge.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/4radius.png

now erase the edge of the square
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/5radius.png

erase the extra part of the circle.........
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/6radius.png

now you have a finished flared vent....
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/7radius.png

now you make a line on either of the ends.....and make the floor of the box solid again....
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/8radius.png

then pull it up and your good to go.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/9radius.png


and if you want the lines to go away where the flare is, hold control and use the erase tool. it will leave the part there and erase the line.


As for adding color and textures go the the paint bucket, and go to carpets for carpet or colors for color. ( pretty self explanitory )

and if you dont want to have to color each piece the same color, courser to select the whole project and then paint it as one object

JBLCAMRY
12-24-2007, 11:23 PM
Any other questions or how to's?

bjfish11
12-25-2007, 11:01 AM
Very nice man. Good work ;)

negative_camber
12-26-2007, 07:46 PM
And if there are any other questions or tips that anyone would like added , speak up.

Hey, thanks for the how-to on drawing boxes... it really helped me out a lot.

Here's a question I have - When viewing the boxes in x-ray mode, I can see how the boards are placed together in the top of the box (red circles), but not in the bottom of the box (blue circles). Is there an easy way to do this or do I have to manually draw each small line in? I tried to draw each little line in once and it messed up some other things in the box :crap:

Here's a couple pics... I borrowed one of yours, I hope you don't mind



http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s91/supercharged232/1box3.jpg

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s91/supercharged232/s31.png

JBLCAMRY
12-26-2007, 08:26 PM
Hey, thanks for the how-to on drawing boxes... it really helped me out a lot.

Here's a question I have - When viewing the boxes in x-ray mode, I can see how the boards are placed together in the top of the box (red circles), but not in the bottom of the box (blue circles). Is there an easy way to do this or do I have to manually draw each small line in? I tried to draw each little line in once and it messed up some other things in the box :crap:

Here's a couple pics... I borrowed one of yours, I hope you don't mind



http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s91/supercharged232/1box3.jpg

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s91/supercharged232/s31.png

you can just draw them in by hand.. in that view, it will go through the pannels to the spot you need.

DeboDaddy
12-30-2007, 10:40 PM
I have a question... How do I make a face of the box angled? I have the top dimension and the bottom dimension I need, but I do not know how to make the front of it angle.

Thanks for any help

negative_camber
12-31-2007, 05:31 AM
I still can't make the radius for a flared port... it keeps erasing the entire circle :crap:

azimuth
12-31-2007, 12:02 PM
i worked with it a little and figured it out pretty well. is there any way to calculate volume other than manually measuring it out? i can get area but can't find volume.

bjfish11
12-31-2007, 12:03 PM
i worked with it a little and figured it out pretty well. is there any way to calculate volume other than manually measuring it out? i can get area but can't find volume.

Area multiplied by height is volume ;)

PV Audio
12-31-2007, 12:08 PM
Area multiplied by height is volume ;):laugh:

azimuth
12-31-2007, 12:08 PM
Area multiplied by height is volume ;)

i know. wink again and i'll poke your ******* eye out;) my box is not a square. it has many odd angles. i'll ask someone that actually knows now. is there an option in sketchup that calculates volume other than doing it manually? same question as my last post.

PV Audio
12-31-2007, 12:34 PM
i know. wink again and i'll poke your ******* eye out;) my box is not a square. it has many odd angles. i'll ask someone that actually knows now. is there an option in sketchup that calculates volume other than doing it manually? same question as my last post.:laugh: Relax son, what BJ told you is what you need to know. Use the dimension tool on the panels of the floor of the enclosure to get the area (click it in the middle), then multiply it by height.

azimuth
12-31-2007, 12:37 PM
:laugh: Relax son, what BJ told you is what you need to know. Use the dimension tool on the panels of the floor of the enclosure to get the area (click it in the middle), then multiply it by height.

i just wanted to get a rise out of someone. i failed so far. thanks.

bjfish11
12-31-2007, 01:19 PM
i know. wink again and i'll poke your ******* eye out;) my box is not a square. it has many odd angles. i'll ask someone that actually knows now. is there an option in sketchup that calculates volume other than doing it manually? same question as my last post.

How am I supposed to know its an odd shaped box if you dont tell us? Post up a pic, I bet there is a pretty easy way to figure it.

azimuth
12-31-2007, 01:35 PM
How am I supposed to know its an odd shaped box if you dont tell us? Post up a pic, I bet there is a pretty easy way to figure it.

i'm just messin' with ya. i thought i'd get a more harsh reaction from you to be honest. i know how to figure it out manually, i just thought the software would make it easy and do it for me. it's nothing but a little laziness on my part. it came out to 2.66^3. i'll have to tweak it a little when it comes down to what subs i'm actually buying and whether i decide on 3 10's or 2 12's.

bjfish11
12-31-2007, 01:43 PM
i'm just messin' with ya. i thought i'd get a more harsh reaction from you to be honest. i know how to figure it out manually, i just thought the software would make it easy and do it for me. it's nothing but a little laziness on my part. it came out to 2.66^3. i'll have to tweak it a little when it comes down to what subs i'm actually buying and whether i decide on 3 10's or 2 12's.

LOL, I dont get fired up too easily.... ;)

negative_camber
12-31-2007, 02:32 PM
LOL, I dont get fired up too easily.... ;)

There you go winkin again... you're gonna get your eye poked out! :laugh::laugh::D

azimuth
12-31-2007, 03:32 PM
There you go winkin again... you're gonna get your eye poked out! :laugh::laugh::D

he's not winking, that eye is gone. tomorrow, he'll look in the mirror and see this>:blackeye:

Immacomputer
12-31-2007, 04:42 PM
Right click on a panel and select Area of selection. Take that number and multiply it by whatever distance that volume extends. It can only be done manually but you only have to multiply by one dimension. If you multiply by inches, make sure that you divide by 12 to get it in cubic feet. If you multiply by feet, then leave it as it is.

JBLCAMRY
01-03-2008, 09:48 AM
if anyone needs this, it is a model i use for a 12" sub, with a hole cutout of 11", and a mouinting depth of 6 1/8.

12" (http://www.mediafire.com/?3ruybwbdnad)

yunvme666
01-03-2008, 07:23 PM
ok ive looked around , i cant figure out how to do aeros, i did manage to make a box last night, its an unroutered version of mine minus the aeros...... any chance theres a way to round over the edges too???

JBLCAMRY
01-03-2008, 10:17 PM
ok ive looked around , i cant figure out how to do aeros, i did manage to make a box last night, its an unroutered version of mine minus the aeros...... any chance theres a way to round over the edges too???

so far i only have the 6" aeros in SketchUp, but ill make a 4" too......

as for rounding over the edges, just find the edge you wanto to round over, and measure from the edge down however far you wand to rout, lets say 3/8" then pull 3/8" sideways. now take the Arc tool, and click it once on the first measurement and then click it again on the second meausrment. then pull it up untill ti chandes color ( pink or somthing ) then click once more. now use your puch pull button and push it all the way to the end and it will leave you with a rounded edge.

JBLCAMRY
01-03-2008, 10:34 PM
6" aero rough machup. not even sure if it is correct or not. but here you go

Click here >>>>>>>> 6" aero (http://www.mediafire.com/?23y1grtmvg4)

JBLCAMRY
01-04-2008, 10:21 PM
Here is the 4" Aero Port. Let me know if there are any other requests.

Click Here>>>>>>>>> 4"Aero (http://www.mediafire.com/?bdtzdptdizx)

mrbomb
01-06-2008, 12:39 AM
how do you get the box transparent in sketchup?

UCF52
01-06-2008, 12:58 AM
how do you get the box transparent in sketchup?

I believe it was mentioned earlier in this thread, but all you do is click "view" - "face style" - "X-ray"

bjfish11
01-06-2008, 09:05 AM
Dylan, Ill still get you those specs... LOL. Kinda forgot :(

DeLuXe24
01-07-2008, 10:05 PM
How would you do an angled back/face of the box?

ALHII303
01-08-2008, 12:39 AM
How would you make the aero port make a 90 degree bend