PDA

View Full Version : tuning sealed box with port tubes



budahbuddy803
12-22-2007, 01:26 AM
I have a box that is 2.55cuft sealed. Can i insert port tubes and get a tuning frequency of about 36-38hz? How would i figure the size tube or tubes i would need to do so?

BuckyBoy
12-22-2007, 01:34 AM
I am assuming you have two 12s in the box by reading your sig and WinISD calls for....
~4x6.25 - ~4x7.25

budahbuddy803
12-22-2007, 01:37 AM
no actually it was for a single 15" but i want to run a single 12" so i will build a baffle and order some flared ports. Would i still need the same dimensions for a single 12"?

ultimate157
12-22-2007, 01:47 AM
4.4 sealed for a mag 15 to using aeros for 32hz tuning ?

helotaxi
12-22-2007, 09:58 AM
The box is going to be marginal on size depending on the sub. If you do internal ports and have enough port area to be able to wang on the sub without port noise, the box is going to be too small after port displacement for most any 12" sub. Also as you decrease the size of the box, the length of the port must increase for the same tuning making the box even smaller.

budahbuddy803
12-22-2007, 11:43 AM
so basically its not possible with a 2.5cuft box

helotaxi
12-22-2007, 11:53 AM
so basically its not possible with a 2.5cuft box

Anything's possible. It will just end up much less than optimal most likely.