PDA

View Full Version : Help With A Design?



uperformance
12-20-2007, 10:11 PM
hey i got a dd9510g just cant seem to get it loud enough. tried a couple of my own boxes but hard to say my buddy with two type r's is louder in a generic box.

i dont care how big the box is or what dimensions as long as it gets loud but still sounds pretty good.

going in a 91 chevy extended cab pickup with the back seats still in place.

i would greatly appreciate this!!

BuckyBoy
12-20-2007, 10:27 PM
ddaudio.com calls for 1.25-1.5ft^3 at 40Hz. Is that what you want? And how do you want it? Subs up port back? Subs back port back? Sub and port up?

bonesninja
12-20-2007, 10:28 PM
so your goal is to get 1 10" louder than 2 12"s

uperformance
12-20-2007, 10:30 PM
sub and port both facing up. and tunned a bit lower around 32 i went with a 1.5 40hz box last time.

so something around 1.5-1.75 @ 32 hz.

i would love to know of someone on here who ran one of these subs and what worked well for them though.

uperformance
12-20-2007, 10:32 PM
so your goal is to get 1 10" louder than 2 12"s

definately.
hes running two type r 10's with 500rms to both of them also in a prefab box. surface area is not everything. look at the 180 db'ss set with just one 99z and a bunch of stetsom power lol.

im running a good 2200 rms into my sub and ive seen the potential these things have.

BuckyBoy
12-20-2007, 10:33 PM
definately.
hes running two type r 10's with 500rms to both of them also in a prefab box. surface area is not everything. look at the 180 db'ss set with just one 99z and a bunch of stetsom power lol.

im running a good 2200 rms into my sub and ive seen the potential these things have.
any idea what kinda dimensions you got to work with?

bonesninja
12-20-2007, 10:41 PM
definately.
hes running two type r 10's with 500rms to both of them also in a prefab box. surface area is not everything. look at the 180 db'ss set with just one 99z and a bunch of stetsom power lol.

im running a good 2200 rms into my sub and ive seen the potential these things have.

i don't where i got 12" from....so 2 type r 10"s? you should be able to accomplish that with the right box and power

bonesninja
12-20-2007, 10:42 PM
definately.
hes running two type r 10's with 500rms to both of them also in a prefab box. surface area is not everything. look at the 180 db'ss set with just one 99z and a bunch of stetsom power lol.

im running a good 2200 rms into my sub and ive seen the potential these things have.

and don't forget alan dante doesn't have a regular wood box and its definately not a daily driver.

uperformance
12-20-2007, 10:47 PM
hmmm where i would want it to fit would be in between my back seat and front seat.

13" but arond 12.75 to be safe between the front/back seat and about 25" long and however high but 13" high is flush with the back seat


but like i said, if what i need to do to get loud is build a proper box and throw it onto the back seat ill do it. but trying to hide it somewhat is beter

bonesninja
12-20-2007, 10:48 PM
stealth boxes and loud rarely go in the same sentence

uperformance
12-20-2007, 10:48 PM
and don't forget alan dante doesn't have a regular wood box and its definately not a daily driver.

yea i know im just trying to state a fact lol. alot of people think the more subs, the louder it goes, its just that alot of people are misinformed.

but its all good.

uperformance
12-21-2007, 12:09 AM
alright so im going with

12.75 x 25 x 13

volume is 1.76 ft^3

also when i calculate my final volume do i have to subtract the port volume and sub displacement?

also if i 45 my corners does that effect my port length in any way?

how wide and how long do i port it to tune it to 32 hz i lost the link to the port calculator :S

yunvme666
12-21-2007, 12:27 AM
you need atleast 1.5 net , not gross ...... make it sub up port to the side, use an aero port even. itll take up less space then a slot port, if you use it inside the box......

uperformance
12-22-2007, 02:24 AM
you need atleast 1.5 net , not gross ...... make it sub up port to the side, use an aero port even. itll take up less space then a slot port, if you use it inside the box......

so for net i need to subtract the volume of my sub, and the volume of the port area?

and i have no idea how to aeroport stuff.