PDA

View Full Version : 3 15" HX2- 2door Blazer box???



GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 10:59 AM
i just picked up 3 15 hx2's and i have no idea where to start with a box plan for these. i plan on keeping them for a while so i want it to look nice and not too obnoxious to where i cant see out my rear view.any ideas on this setup in a 2001 2 door blazer?:confused:

SeanDub
12-15-2007, 11:09 AM
If you're going ported you need around 12 cubes net plus volume for the sub, wood, and port displacement. Good luck getting that low enough to use you rear view in a little Blazer.

jblayz1
12-15-2007, 11:12 AM
use only 1 instead of 3.

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 11:42 AM
im sure it has been done before . It is a must that i use all 3...no pics or links of a similiar setup anyone??

lilmaniac2
12-15-2007, 11:51 AM
i ran a single 15 in my 2 door 98, same body style, and did over a 150 with it. 2 15s is all you can fit back there effectively. I have pics, but since you say you MUST use all 3 im not gonna post em :p

lilmaniac2
12-15-2007, 11:59 AM
i guess ill be nice
2 memphis HPO 15s, 1000 watts = 148 db

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b276/lilmaniac2/IMG019.jpg

heres the back of my single 15 box
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b276/lilmaniac2/clean_install.jpg

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 12:02 PM
how did it sound subs back/port back like that? ive always done subs up/port back or subs up/ port up

lilmaniac2
12-15-2007, 12:03 PM
sounded fine, was louder than subs up port back with that volume

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 12:04 PM
im going to make all 3 fit :Dand ill post pics for the next guy:D Now to put my thinking cap on lol

lilmaniac2
12-15-2007, 12:05 PM
can you fit them ... yes

will it be louder than 2 in a proper box, probably not

good luck :)

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 12:06 PM
ive tried flipping my box around with my old setup and "to me" it felt louder when they were facing up

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 12:07 PM
what would you say a proper box is for these subs? thinkin about tuning to 40-45hz

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 12:09 PM
http://www.adleraudio.com/kevin/ .... Link of the guys truck that i got the subs from .his box is like 7.5cuft SEALED hitting 148-150db

revrider1
12-15-2007, 12:16 PM
You really aint gonna see much differance between 2 and 3, all your gonna do is give up more room and need more power for the third one. Really aint worth all the work and sacrafice...

oxsign
12-15-2007, 12:52 PM
You really aint gonna see much differance between 2 and 3, all your gonna do is give up more room and need more power for the third one. Really aint worth all the work and sacrafice...+1


his box is like 7.5cuft SEALED hitting 148-150dbHmmm...... 148-150 sealed with 3 or 150-155 with 2 ported........Hmmm. You might as well fold down your back seat to keep them under the window.

From this angle it doesn't look like it, but it is right at the window line. 153.9 with 2 RL-p 15"s.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v221/oxsign/the%20blazer/IMG_0636.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v221/oxsign/the%20blazer/IMG_0638-1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v221/oxsign/the%20blazer/IMG_0633.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v221/oxsign/the%20blazer/hotridesmag.jpg

Brian_smith06
12-15-2007, 12:57 PM
+1


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v221/oxsign/the%20blazer/hotridesmag.jpg

nice blazer

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 01:13 PM
This is my DD so im not looking to fold down seats. Theyre has to be someone that has done like a 4 15"s setup that i could get an idea from.

15nissen
12-15-2007, 01:27 PM
you do not have to room / more is not always better. teammate runs same truck with 2x 15's. Its loud, and hes building a wall, so pm him about old box. Abel is his screenname. He is from south side as well.

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 02:27 PM
Is ok to have 2 subs facing up and 1 back in the same box?

KidThump
12-15-2007, 02:33 PM
Why not run 2 of them ported?
Or you could run 3 of them sealed
But imo i dont think you can fit 3 15s in a correct size for the subs ported under the window line and behind ur seats

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 02:37 PM
THEY ARE DUAL 2!!!! I want to get the most out of my amp (1.3ohm) with the 3 of them.

revrider1
12-15-2007, 02:38 PM
Why not run 2 of them ported?
Or you could run 3 of them sealed
But imo i dont think you can fit 3 15s in a correct size for the subs ported under the window line and behind ur seatsTrue, its never gonna happen. Give it up...

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 02:43 PM
revrider1, you give up way too easily
I cant believe everyone is soo unsupportive ....:(

KidThump
12-15-2007, 02:45 PM
Well heres your choices put all 3 in a way too small of a ported or 3 of them sealed you choose.

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 02:46 PM
Whats the optimum size for these ported (each) ??

KidThump
12-15-2007, 02:46 PM
THEY ARE DUAL 2!!!! I want to get the most out of my amp (1.3ohm) with the 3 of them.

Good reason but 3 of them will not fit in a good size ported under window line and behind seats

revrider1
12-15-2007, 02:46 PM
revrider1, you give up way too easily
I cant believe everyone is soo unsupportive ....:(I give up to easy, I have been into car audio for 12 years. You aint gonna get it right in that small a space. It can be done, but it aint gonna be right. Do it, and you will see first hand...

tapout
12-15-2007, 02:47 PM
revrider1, you give up way too easily
I cant believe everyone is soo unsupportive ....:(

See, I can support the 3 15 idea. Just not without the rear seat down.

You do not have the room for the proper size box in the hatch area alone.

Keyword here is PROPER

revrider1
12-15-2007, 02:48 PM
See, I can support the 3 15 idea. Just not without the rear seat down.

You do not have the room for the proper size box in the hatch area alone.

Keyword here is PROPERThere...

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 02:49 PM
well whats the proper cuft each sub should get ported?? approximately.....

dcole18
12-15-2007, 03:17 PM
well whats the proper cuft each sub should get ported?? approximately.....

atleast 4 cubic ft each... and thats actuall volume, not counting sub and port displacement... im sorry but if your gonna be too stubborn to belive every one then go on and waste your time... but im gonna laugh in your face when someone comes in here and is louder with 2 ;)

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 05:53 PM
im not stubborn its just that i want to get the most out of my amp.If i only run 2 of them ill have 2ohm or .5ohm. I have a mmats 2100.1 , will it handle a .5ohm load daily?? :crap: I hear that alot of people run their hifonics amps at real low ohms??

DBfan187
12-15-2007, 05:54 PM
Go sealed then.

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 05:57 PM
Hmmm iono havent went sealed in a while....last time i did i was kinda dissapointed....

DBfan187
12-15-2007, 05:59 PM
7.5cF should be right.

mrbomb
12-15-2007, 06:05 PM
go out and measure the area behind the seats and up to the window and you will find out that the only way you could do it is if you cut out the floor

revrider1
12-15-2007, 06:05 PM
This is still going, geeezzz.

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 06:10 PM
revrider1 , get the F*CK out of my thread ! you havent been giving any usefull info at all so why even bother making your ignorant comments.

mrbomb
12-15-2007, 06:11 PM
:uhoh:

i might have jumped in a little late, but i saw it at the top of the recent post list and didnt look at the times of the other posts

Abel
12-15-2007, 06:22 PM
I can help give you some great ideas cause i have tried many different set ups in my 2 door jimmy. But like everyone else has said in order to keep the rear seats you will have to use only 2 of the subs.

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 06:23 PM
he says only use 2 of them... my question to that is if i could run my mmats2100.1at .5ohm daily,because at 2ohm theyre not going to be getting that much power???
I am unsure about running the 3 sealed, yeah the guy i got them from was running them in a 7.cuft box but he was pushin them w/ a 3000bd. Im open to using only two of them if i could run my amp at .5 safely so i could get a decent amount of power to them. You know what im saying...wasnttrying to come off as a ***...

Abel
12-15-2007, 06:24 PM
atleast 4 cubic ft each... and thats actuall volume, not counting sub and port displacement... im sorry but if your gonna be too stubborn to belive every one then go on and waste your time... but im gonna laugh in your face when someone comes in here and is louder with 2 ;)

Wrong 4 cubes each will be to much for those subs. But yes 2 are the way to go for this setup.

Abel
12-15-2007, 06:27 PM
he says only use 2 of them... my question to that is if i could run my mmats2100.1at .5ohm daily,because at 2ohm theyre not going to be getting that much power???
I am unsure about running the 3 sealed, yeah the guy i got them from was running them in a 7.cuft box but he was pushin them w/ a 3000bd. Im open to using only two of them if i could run my amp at .5 safely so i could get a decent amount of power to them. You know what im saying...wasnttrying to come off as a ***...

I would also like to add that i have used the HX2's in my car and have done well with them. Where are you located? I could help you out with this setup and possible give you a box that is taking up space.

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 06:28 PM
ive been trying to pm you Abel but your box is full... That would be great im right by Joliet,IL

Abel
12-15-2007, 06:30 PM
Pm box is now empty and if you in Joliet then you have most likely seen my car, i am out that way alote.

revrider1
12-15-2007, 06:33 PM
Im not dumping, just telling you you aint gonna get 3 15" subs ported in the hatch area. It aint gonna happen, im not the only one telling you this. Do 2 of them, they will sound better since you do have room for the right box for a pair...

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 06:36 PM
Pm sent Abel.

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 06:37 PM
ok im going to run 2 of them but as far as my amp goes, will my mmats 2100.1 be ok at .5ohms daily?

MisterGrubbs
12-15-2007, 06:43 PM
Talk to Abel. See if he can help you figure out how much your imp rise is with the box and your setup if you get a box from him. Or someone local could help.

Mmats are great amplifiers and I wont tell you for sure they'll hold .5 daily, but I will say this. After imp rise you shouldnt be too far below 1ohm, say .75-.95 just a random wild guess but you wont be right at .5 ohm remember that. Talk to Abel about that if he's willing to give some advice.

Congrats on picking some good equiptment. That Mmats is a hell of an amp and those HX2's are ****** little fosgates. Best of luck

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 06:51 PM
MisterGrubbs, thanks alot , and hopefully Abel will help me out, I sent him a PM

revrider1
12-15-2007, 06:52 PM
I have never seen that amp run at .5ohms, but you never know. They are solid amps...

MisterGrubbs
12-15-2007, 06:55 PM
No problem buddy. Now, post that third Punch HX2 up for sell and start working on either your Electrical or highs/mids

;)

What electrical upgrades do you have so far. Batteries, alts, if any. I'm hoping you at least have some batteries in mind.

And what for highs/mids?

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 07:00 PM
I have got a pretty much stock electrical besides the big 3 and everything else is pretty much stock as well.:crap: yes i do plan on adding a 2nd battery, but never really thought about other interior speakers..

revrider1
12-15-2007, 07:03 PM
You may have to upgrade your interior speakers, I dont think they will keep up with 2 15" subs to well...

What did you have in there before? System?

MisterGrubbs
12-15-2007, 07:04 PM
You wont go for long with those subs without new speakers. Unless you are a complete freaking basshead it will get on your nerves. You listen to country and you still dont hear the **** words. Take my word for it, haha

Worry about beefin up that electrical first :-)

tapout
12-15-2007, 07:06 PM
I have got a pretty much stock electrical besides the big 3 and everything else is pretty much stock as well.:crap: yes i do plan on adding a 2nd battery, but never really thought about other interior speakers..

Do not run that amp at .5 without some electical upgrades.

revrider1
12-15-2007, 07:06 PM
You wont go for long with those subs without new speakers. Unless you are a complete freaking basshead it will get on your nerves. You listen to country and you still dont hear the **** words. Take my word for it, haha

Worry about beefin up that electrical first :-)x2

GrnZ28
12-15-2007, 07:07 PM
thanks for all the help guys

SeanDub
12-15-2007, 09:23 PM
Just get a new amp that'll let you run 2 of them well.

audioholic
12-15-2007, 10:11 PM
I stopped reading after page 2. I just wanted to say I think you can do 3 ported behind the back seat, but you'll have to wall it off to do so (floor to ceiling).

sqhertz
12-15-2007, 10:16 PM
my fi q 15 almost takes up my whole cargo area with my spare in there. 29 x 25 x 16 iirc. 3.8 @ 30 hz. thats right at the window line. i wouldnt even bother with 3 15's unless you plan on keeping the rear seat folded.

IamDeMan
12-16-2007, 08:21 AM
im sure it has been done before . It is a must that i use all 3...no pics or links of a similiar setup anyone??

For ported on all 3 the box will HAVE to be huge. No if, and or buts about it. I would knock down to 2. Or say F it to any space and wall them bishes :)

Good luck.

dcole18
12-16-2007, 02:40 PM
Wrong 4 cubes each will be to much for those subs. But yes 2 are the way to go for this setup.

ok... thats just what worked best for me in the past... ported atleast...

GrnZ28
12-16-2007, 04:49 PM
Abel is going to hook me up with one of his old boxes. So im in good company.

GrnZ28
12-22-2007, 03:02 PM
Maybe not he doesnt answer his phone:crap: