PDA

View Full Version : concrete tube for box?



TeddyUnited
12-14-2007, 10:27 AM
this guy did it with a dyma 12..
looks easy.
http://www.diymobileaudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9256
reccomend it?

skeptikal
12-14-2007, 10:49 AM
I've seen alot of CRX's use those 'boxes'.

theCybe
12-14-2007, 11:42 AM
'sonotube'

lilmaniac2
12-14-2007, 11:42 AM
works fine

audioarsonal
12-14-2007, 12:25 PM
Just need lots of FG.

WrenchGuy
12-14-2007, 12:32 PM
Just need lots of FG.

Actually you don't need any I used em with and without and found the glass is overrated. The tubes shape makes pressure even on all surfaces so its really strong. No braces required like MDF. I used glass to provide a base for Line-X.

audioarsonal
12-14-2007, 01:24 PM
There has to be some vibration being that the tube is only an 1/4 in thick cardboard.Even with it being round it still needs to be solid to reflect the sound waves.

jdawg
12-14-2007, 01:33 PM
i thought those tube were like 1/2" thick

audioarsonal
12-14-2007, 01:55 PM
I don't think they are quite that thick.All the ones I have seen people using for any kinda SPL all had layers of FG.Of course the tube works by itself because its a chamber,but to get the most output I suggest some FG.JMO

jdawg
12-14-2007, 02:00 PM
they are pretty popular in home audio, you can get alot of cubes with one standing up in the corner, up to the ceiling and not use alot of room

edit- here is a neat one
http://www.cwitt.com/building_a_sonotube_subwoofer.htm
edit again- there are alot of neat ones
http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient&aq=t&ie=UTF-8&rls=ADBS,ADBS:2006-42,ADBS:en&q=sonotube+subwoofer

audioarsonal
12-14-2007, 02:04 PM
Yeah,in that application I can see not FG the tube.But for any sort of car audio I would throw a couple layers on.