PDA

View Full Version : How do i make a perfect 15" circle?



Supatravis
04-04-2003, 07:51 PM
I have to make a box for two 15"s how do i go about finding or making a pattern for a perfect 15" circle?

gellis4
04-04-2003, 09:03 PM
There is some hole making thing for a router. The router clamps onto it, and there is a pin on the end of it. You drill a little hole where you want the dead center of your hole to be, put the device in it. Turn the router on, and move it in a circle.

i wish i had a picture of it..

caraudio shops might have some templates.


And to make your own, you can just use a compass. Make the compass exactly 7.5" from the pen/pencil, to the other tip that holds it in place.

but first, you have to know what size cutout you need for the sub, it may not even be a full 15".

Hope i have been some kind of help, and goodluck

--Greg.

BassBoomer
04-04-2003, 09:20 PM
hey gellis4 what are u gonna use to push that xxx u are waiting for?

ChefJoe
04-04-2003, 10:21 PM
Heh, please don't make a full 15" circle. You'll cry when you try installing the sub.

To make a 13.5" or so circle, take a 13.5" loop of string, anchor one end at the center of your circle with a nail or a pin, then trace out the circle with a pencil anchored on the inside of the string loop. Keep it reasonably taught and you're set.

gellis4
04-04-2003, 10:27 PM
Originally posted by BassBoomer
hey gellis4 what are u gonna use to push that xxx u are waiting for?

right now i only have a 500w RMS PPI. but, i'm leaning towards the RE 35.1 1580w RMS @ 1 ohm. or the BE 1600M1, it's the same amp, but might be cheaper.

gellis4
04-04-2003, 10:28 PM
Originally posted by ChefJoe
Heh, please don't make a full 15" circle. You'll cry when you try installing the sub.

To make a 13.5" or so circle, take a 13.5" loop of string, anchor one end at the center of your circle with a nail or a pin, then trace out the circle with a pencil anchored on the inside of the string loop. Keep it reasonably taught and you're set.

a 13.5 " peice of string would give you a 27" cutout :p

ChefJoe
04-05-2003, 12:26 AM
Originally posted by gellis4
a 13.5 " peice of string would give you a 27" cutout :p

Or a 6.75" loop that could be used to make a 13.5" circle.

Frraksurred
04-05-2003, 01:36 AM
If you do have acces to a router and would like to see one of those "templates" for future use (they do come in handy if you build a lot of enclosures) then go to this site (http://www.eatel.net/~amptech/elecdisc/caraudio.htm) and in the index to the right of the screen pan down towards the bottom to "Basic Enclosure Calculations" Towards the bottom of that tutorial there is a diagram of a router template for various sub sizes.

Just thought I'd throw that in. :)

evo2k3
04-05-2003, 12:46 PM
theres a jig for a router out there -- its called a jeger jig, its like 14, 15 bucks. I use a rotozip, but I dont think it will go past 12.5". You can always draw the circle and just jig it out, you would be surprise at how close to perfect you can make it.

Alphafrog1
04-05-2003, 05:47 PM
Originally posted by gellis4
right now i only have a 500w RMS PPI. but, i'm leaning towards the RE 35.1 1580w RMS @ 1 ohm. or the BE 1600M1, it's the same amp, but might be cheaper.

hey if you like PPI i will sell you my PPI PCX-2350... 1600 watts at 4 ohm.

Jdg784
04-06-2003, 06:40 PM
I built a jig for my Roto-zip, just take a board, but a hole that will fit the end of the roto-zip, and put a screw exactly half of the distance you need from the center of the roto-zip (if you've got one..or osmething similar) and screw the board loosely to the center of the cut out area. Just fire her up and push around the circle...kinda hard to explain w/out pics

Supatravis
04-12-2003, 12:03 PM
is anybody good enough with computers to send me a 13.5in circle you'll i'd have to use a few sheets of paper and tape them up but that would work. If not I'll have to do something else.

i3abyjay25
04-12-2003, 03:35 PM
is every1 sure its 13.5?

Wonderbread
04-12-2003, 03:39 PM
Originally posted by i3abyjay25
is every1 sure its 13.5?

nope, but its a whole hell of a lot easier to make a hole BIGGER than smaller... ;)
its probably closer to 14" depending...

i3abyjay25
04-12-2003, 03:42 PM
yeah i know... u can always cut a lil bigger.. i jus every1 postin 13.5 which to me sounded a lil to small

Slaymon
04-12-2003, 03:51 PM
Don't you have an installation guide telling you the mounting size? What kind of sub is it? I'm sure you can look on the brands website for an installation guide and find the size to cut the hole. For making a whole.. Get a nail and tap it into the center. The get a piece of string or somethin and tie it around the nail and a pencil. But make sure its half of the size of what you need. Then just pull it out and then drag it around in a circle.

Supatravis
04-16-2003, 10:04 PM
Well got the box done thanx for all the help everybody i appreciate it

robby
04-21-2003, 12:16 PM
very carefully :>

Wonderbread
04-21-2003, 12:29 PM
Originally posted by Supatravis
Well got the box done thanx for all the help everybody i appreciate it

no need to bring this thread up from the dead Robby. It's dead, its done, and everything has been resolved... please refrain from dredging up old posts in teh future, it's quite annoying.. ;)