PDA

View Full Version : Can i run 4 12's with these demensions?



Xtremebass5
12-11-2007, 10:56 AM
seeing if i can run either 4 12's or 4 15's with these dimensions? these are maximum dimensions.. 26" tall 36" wide and 40" deep?? id like to run aero ports.. either internal or external and tuned around 34-38 hz.. thanks for the help! this is going in a scion xb either 4 12" type r's or 4 15" cvrs

CRXBMPN
12-11-2007, 10:58 AM
what kind of 12's or 15's? I have four 12's in my RSX and I'm not happy with it, just too small... but your box would be considerably bigger and probably fine.

MisterGrubbs
12-11-2007, 11:07 AM
What kind of vehicle are yhou in? You should have plenty of room to do the four 12's ported but the 15's would be pushing it too much I think even with external aeros

oxsign
12-11-2007, 11:08 AM
Thats roughly 21.6cubes. I would think that might big enough to run 4 12"s just fine.

Xtremebass5
12-11-2007, 11:17 AM
this is going in to a scion xb.. thanks i want it tuned low!

stuckinok
12-11-2007, 11:20 AM
4-15s is really pushing is in a xb but 4 12s would be cool and get CVXs if anything forget the type R

Xtremebass5
12-11-2007, 11:21 AM
yeah im thinking 4 12's and my cadence zrs10 amp will wang!! hopefully

iamamp3pimp
12-11-2007, 11:30 AM
why not 15's?

you can run 15's in a box that size w no problem....


3.5 cubes per with a lot of port.

helotaxi
12-11-2007, 11:46 AM
I get around 18 cf internal using those dimensions and that't without doubling any of the walls and with no bracing or port. By the time you figure the displacement of a port with enough area for the subs, I don't think that the 15s would be nearly as happy as 12s would be.

ContourSPL
12-11-2007, 12:09 PM
The box I had for my 4 15's was 17 cubic foot before displacement. Doubled everything and still got 160+ square inches of port tuned to the 36 hz, it was down to a little under 14 cubes. 15's don't require 5 plus cubic foot to work properly.

I say go for the 15's.

Xtremebass5
12-11-2007, 12:45 PM
if i do 4 15's im goin with cvrs if i do 4 12's im going with type r's

ContourSPL
12-11-2007, 02:36 PM
Dayton DVC 15's work VERY good in that size enclosure ;)

Xtremebass5
12-11-2007, 10:39 PM
can anyone design something for either 4 12's or 4 15's off them demensions! aero ports

profundus-sanus
12-11-2007, 10:42 PM
any reason you want aero ports so bad? you wont be able to get as much port area with em..