PDA

View Full Version : What would be the best box



silvercookie
12-09-2007, 02:37 PM
for 2 12" kicker cvr's?

how many cubes???

any help appreciated.

dont have any measurements cause im still undecided bout what car im getting.

but like what is usually a good size?

Edit: meant cvr's

Immacomputer
12-09-2007, 03:09 PM
They sound very nice in ported enclosures that are around 2-2.5 cubes tuned to 30-35hz.

silvercookie
12-09-2007, 07:27 PM
k thanks thats step one
any one got any good diagrams?

BuckyBoy
12-09-2007, 10:34 PM
Here is some measurements you could use...
Width-30
Height-15
Length-16
Port Length-37
Port Area-37

Bottom and Top- 30x16
Left- 15.25x13.5
Right- 14.5x13.5
Back- 30x13.5
Front- 26.5x13.5
Port- 11.75x13.5 and 20x13.5


Should be around 2.2CuFt at 32Hz
I can shoot you a design of that box in SketchUp if you want it.

silvercookie
12-09-2007, 10:48 PM
if you feel like making one that would be great

BuckyBoy
12-09-2007, 11:16 PM
http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee141/smithgt/K.jpg
I didn't draw the holes for the subs, but I am sure you get the point.

silvercookie
12-10-2007, 04:47 PM
yup thanks a bunch.

DarkFox
12-10-2007, 05:32 PM
so you got the 2 cvr's huh? I remember talking with you a bit ago, good choice.

silvercookie
12-10-2007, 07:17 PM
yea in the 14 page long thread which was mostly arguements lol
when i was still a noob lol.

yea i got the hifonics txi1800 or 1008idk a hifonics 4channel i think.
2 12 cvrs, and some other stuff. ill find it in a bit.

DarkFox
12-10-2007, 08:55 PM
not to thread jack, but check my new project yo!
http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=274173

DarkFox
12-10-2007, 08:58 PM
ahh... TXi1008D Not a bad amp for the money. 1000w RMS X 1 (its not a 4 channel, its a class D mono block amp, will work nice with those subs)

silvercookie
12-10-2007, 10:01 PM
ahh... TXi1008D Not a bad amp for the money. 1000w RMS X 1 (its not a 4 channel, its a class D mono block amp, will work nice with those subs)


lol no i was saying a hifonics txi1008 and i meant to put and a hifonics 4ch amp y bad lolz

doyoshuffle5
12-10-2007, 10:05 PM
try the reaudio.com calculator works pretty good and just look at the reconmended cubes for each sub i made a ported enclousure to about 3-3.5 cubes for mine

silvercookie
12-10-2007, 10:34 PM
idk. i heard that the reaudio calculator is off by alot.

i was gonna try winisd but im too lazy and besides bucky boy was generous enough to give me some measurments.

but thanks anyway. its the thought that counts lol.

DarkFox
12-10-2007, 11:08 PM
no offence to bucky but that box is a bit small for the 2 of them. thats only 1.1 per woofer. you can build 2 identical boxes, but I would go much bigger and just make one. Is the 4 channel for the subs or mids and highs? only reason I ask is you will want to make the box different if it is.

silvercookie
12-10-2007, 11:11 PM
na 4ch amp is for front and rear stag.

DarkFox
12-10-2007, 11:21 PM
k good. on a side note, you may want to look at the titan we were just talking about as a amp to power those 12s.

silvercookie
12-10-2007, 11:53 PM
the titan txi is going to be powering the subs