PDA

View Full Version : Help w/ ported box volume



817king
12-04-2007, 09:29 PM
I am going to get 2 kicker CVX 12 inch subs. The hit 750 RMS each, thats a total of 1500 RMS. I want to get a ported box, but on a website it says that the ported box volume should be 1.75-2.25 cubic feet for each sub. My first question is when you are looking at a box's volume and it says the volume is 3.4qft does that mean both sub holes combined or individual. Will 3.4qft be enough or should i go for more of a volume. My second question is.... is it better to go w/ more of a volume (in this case 2.25) or less 1.75 http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_7509_Sonic+Sub+Box-+2SV12.html

IgnoreMe
12-04-2007, 09:36 PM
i always go more. you gain efficiency and bottom end.

i went with a minimal recommendation on a box once for some 18's...there was no low end. and 18's with no low end is a little weird when you see it happening. the highs were there, but the lows ****** balls. i would go for something along the lines of 2 cubes a piece (after all displacements) tuned to 32hz.

it seems like you are going to be buying a prefab box (i really would never buy a prefab ported box. a sealed? maybe, if i knew the quality was good and i could get it real cheap). i would highly suggest building one your self as i see lots of prefab boxes use a terribly tiny amount of port area.

if the box says its 3.4^3ft it should be for both. only thing is, you dont know if that is external volume, internal volume, or if it even includes the port displacement.

3.4 cubes is already getting a little bit small IMO, and then also have the subs displace even more room is just going to give you even less net volume.

817king
12-05-2007, 09:01 AM
This is the box i was looking to buy for the subs what do you think of this http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-DUAL-12-SUBWOOFER-VENTED-PORTED-ENCLOSURE-SUB-BOX-U_W0QQitemZ150187980755QQihZ005QQcategoryZ50566QQc mdZViewItem