PDA

View Full Version : so i finished the box for my 9512g today....



04_edge
12-02-2007, 08:12 PM
i didnt really get time to take pics of the whole build process as i was in a hurry today. i hooked my 20.1 up to it for a few minutes just to make sure it works, and i can definately tell this sub was just begging for more power...the amp was seeing 2.2ohm, so it was getting around 800 watts id guess and the sub was barely moving, once i get some real power on it, im betting its going to be pretty **** close to my btl in loudness....

what i started with...15" btl ~4.5 cubes ~32hz, 20.1 at .7
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a232/in_tragedy/100_2757.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a232/in_tragedy/100_2554.jpg


and now.....9512g 2 cubic feet @38hz w/ 35 in^2 of port
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a232/in_tragedy/000_0187.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a232/in_tragedy/000_0188.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a232/in_tragedy/000_0190.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a232/in_tragedy/000_0194.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a232/in_tragedy/000_0196.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a232/in_tragedy/000_0197.jpg

04_edge
12-02-2007, 08:13 PM
the only thing i can complain about is somehow i screwed up and the top part has some leaks, which is why there is all the silcon on the outside, so hopefully that fixes the wierd noise i was hearing.....
o and its definately not done yet, i still have to carpet it and make a deal for it to sit on, and i still need a new amp.....

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a232/in_tragedy/000_0191.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a232/in_tragedy/000_0147.jpg

IgnoreMe
12-02-2007, 08:14 PM
2.2 ohms? im guessing its a dual 1 ohm sub then (ie, 2 ohms plus the .2ohms that most meters are usually off by)

wire it down to .5 ohms....

04_edge
12-02-2007, 08:17 PM
2.2 ohms? im guessing its a dual 1 ohm sub then (ie, 2 ohms plus the .2ohms that most meters are usually off by)

wire it down to .5 ohms....

no its dual 4...

IgnoreMe
12-02-2007, 08:18 PM
no its dual 4...

well **** me in the *** lol. i thought DD only used D1 and D2 :crap:

i thought you just wired it in series, which is where my logic came in...obviously my logic *****

85Caprice4d
12-02-2007, 08:25 PM
lol looks nice

04_edge
12-02-2007, 08:32 PM
well **** me in the *** lol. i thought DD only used D1 and D2 :crap:

i thought you just wired it in series, which is where my logic came in...obviously my logic *****

haha i wish, i wouldnt need a new amp then...

jmanpc
12-02-2007, 08:34 PM
how's it compare to the BTL so far?

04_edge
12-02-2007, 08:36 PM
how's it compare to the BTL so far?


well i only had ~800 watts on it and only played around for about 10 minutes which is when i found a few leaks:crap:
so i just fixed those and then called it a night....
but i really think when ive got ~2500 on it, this thing is REALLY gonna shine..

RAM_Designs
12-02-2007, 08:38 PM
I have the same plastic saw horses...just a tad too short to use as outriggers for my table saw :(...nice build, even nicer sub.

jmanpc
12-02-2007, 08:40 PM
I have the same plastic saw horses...just a tad too short to use as outriggers for my table saw :(...nice build, even nicer sub.

a little ghetto magic can fix that.

RAM_Designs
12-02-2007, 09:03 PM
a little ghetto magic can fix that.

Trust me, I've tried...I normally use a couple of tool chests on wheels as my outriggers. I can't seem to boost these saw horses up right since the base it so large, it's just a PITA that I don't feel like messing with.

tapout
12-02-2007, 09:09 PM
looks like it will be nice bro.

yunvme666
12-02-2007, 09:21 PM
not bad, just save up for an amp. anything ya got in mind or a price range??

04_edge
12-02-2007, 09:22 PM
not bad, just save up for an amp. anything ya got in mind or a price range??

i really want a kx/zx 2500.1
and ill have the money as soon as i sell my 20.1...

RAM_Designs
12-02-2007, 09:25 PM
i really want a kx/zx 2500.1
and ill have the money as soon as i sell my 20.1...

there's an hk4000d for sale right now in the classifieds...3600 @2ohms @14.4V.

04_edge
12-02-2007, 09:26 PM
there's an hk4000d for sale right now in the classifieds...3600 @2ohms @14.4V.

ya i just saw that, i asked the guy if hed be interested in a trade...

RAM_Designs
12-02-2007, 09:27 PM
ya i just saw that, i asked the guy if hed be interested in a trade...

It be perfect for your sub...hopefully you've got some electrical mods to go with it.

Lakota
12-02-2007, 10:27 PM
Wow that 4.5 cube box looks bigger than 4.5.

04_edge
12-02-2007, 10:29 PM
Wow that 4.5 cube box looks bigger than 4.5.

its tall and wide, but not very deep....

04_edge
12-02-2007, 11:57 PM
It be perfect for your sub...hopefully you've got some electrical mods to go with it.


i dont as of yet but i definately plan on it, it was on my to do list with my 20.1, but the amp never really got hot, and i always kept an eye on the voltage so i wasnt to worried about it, but big 3 and new batts are definately on the way...

IgnoreMe
12-03-2007, 12:20 AM
ill sell you my 2.9kw kx2500 for 250 shipped



just kidding

04_edge
12-03-2007, 12:34 AM
ill sell you my 2.9kw kx2500 for 250 shipped



just kidding

i almost shat my pants.
thanks :(

IgnoreMe
12-03-2007, 12:35 AM
i almost shat my pants.
thanks :(

lol sorry man. i was just messing with ya :crap:

04_edge
12-03-2007, 12:36 AM
lol sorry man. i was just messing with ya :crap:

how about 250 + shipping?

jk jk

IgnoreMe
12-03-2007, 12:39 AM
how about 250 + shipping?

jk jk

lol.

hey, you should try selling on ROE. i sold my 20.1 over there for a little over $400 IIRC.

hell even termpro.

dont know if you only listed it on this site, but just try to put it out there.

04_edge
12-03-2007, 12:41 AM
lol.

hey, you should try selling on ROE. i sold my 20.1 over there for a little over $400 IIRC.

hell even termpro.

dont know if you only listed it on this site, but just try to put it out there.

well i never go over there, and i dont know any of the names over there of ppl i could/couldnt trust...ill prob give it a couple more days and see what happens

RAM_Designs
12-03-2007, 07:41 AM
well i never go over there, and i dont know any of the names over there of ppl i could/couldnt trust...ill prob give it a couple more days and see what happens

as long as they send money first it's all good.

audioholic
12-03-2007, 02:50 PM
The only thing I would change is the baffle. It should be mounted to the very top edge of all the pieces on the box, as in lay it on top of box and screw it down. On 2 sides you cross drill/screw into it. From a stress standpoint, that design is weaker, it transfers much of the weight directly through screws. If the baffle sits on top of all 4 walls, it transfers weight evenly and straight down through the 'leg' walls, to the floor. It is also probably the reson for your leakage problems... not to mention makes it obvious you only did a single wall baffle. tsk tsk ;) Screw another baffle board to the top of that (with the speaker cutouts obviously) and I think you'll be golden. :)

SeanDub
12-03-2007, 06:50 PM
The only thing I would change is the baffle. It should be mounted to the very top edge of all the pieces on the box, as in lay it on top of box and screw it down. On 2 sides you cross drill/screw into it. From a stress standpoint, that design is weaker, it transfers much of the weight directly through screws. If the baffle sits on top of all 4 walls, it transfers weight evenly and straight down through the 'leg' walls, to the floor. It is also probably the reson for your leakage problems... not to mention makes it obvious you only did a single wall baffle. tsk tsk ;) Screw another baffle board to the top of that (with the speaker cutouts obviously) and I think you'll be golden. :)

^^^It's a good idea. I had to double baffle and sit the double baffle on top of the four sides for my DD 9917 in order for it to support the weight.

04_edge
12-03-2007, 07:10 PM
well ive already got a piece of wood cut out for the double baffle, its going to sit on top of the piece thats there...i just wanted to get it hooked up yesterday and make sure the sub worked and stuff, so yes, the next day i have off ill be doubling it up :)

yunvme666
12-03-2007, 11:00 PM
get yourself a router if ya dont have one and round over all the edges too itll look even better.....

TheFiverMan
12-03-2007, 11:02 PM
how sit compare to ur btl?

04_edge
12-03-2007, 11:05 PM
how sit compare to ur btl?

not sure yet, ive only put ~800 watts on it, i think it will be pretty close though...

fwb_1234
12-11-2007, 03:03 PM
^^^It's a good idea. I had to double baffle and sit the double baffle on top of the four sides for my DD 9917 in order for it to support the weight.

You would have been fine with one baffle.

I saw that thing.