PDA

View Full Version : Hooking a computer up



edoggy88
03-24-2003, 04:52 PM
hey,

i am new to this. i was just wondering if anyone new how to hook up my home computer to a monitor o some kinda screen in my car. what kind of screen do i need and what are the basics for hooking it up

thanks,
eric

cyber256
03-24-2003, 05:18 PM
The screen isn't an issue if your video card has a video out which is the most common method

edoggy88
03-24-2003, 06:17 PM
my video card on my comptuer only has a convertor. this is what i was thinking i can do... is this possible..... run s-video wire from sound card to a s-video to rca adaptor and then rca to the screen?? yu think that will work??

eric

mgaidica
03-24-2003, 10:21 PM
umm.... im pretty sure most screens dont have s-video. All i know is if you run video RCA's to the screen it will work!

fantomas
03-24-2003, 10:38 PM
Originally posted by mgaidica
umm.... im pretty sure most screens dont have s-video. All i know is if you run video RCA's to the screen it will work!

yes. that is correct. on top of that, however, you're going to need a power converter. (12vdc -> 115vac)...and realize that computers were not built to used in cars. the HDDs might not be able to withstand bumps and what not for a long period of time.

mgaidica
03-24-2003, 11:02 PM
YUP... I have problems w/ some signals going to my HU also. I've had problems with a ps2 and home dvd player video signal. Its not the HU though cause ps1 and other things work fine. I'm just sayin that just so u know to test the screen and all that before you do some awsome 5 month long install and the picture is scratchyy...

OJ Simpson 32
03-26-2003, 12:00 PM
Actually it has been done before. I think I have it in an issue of Maximum PC. This guy in Texas has his pc integrated into his Mustang. The monitor is in the dash & the sound plays thru his stereo. I'll look for it.

fantomas
03-26-2003, 02:44 PM
Originally posted by OJ Simpson 32
Actually it has been done before. I think I have it in an issue of Maximum PC. This guy in Texas has his pc integrated into his Mustang. The monitor is in the dash & the sound plays thru his stereo. I'll look for it.

oh, i bet its been done hundreds of times...im just saying that a pc was not meant to perform through bumps and stuff. plus...depending on where you live...the car could get well over 100F for a day...no amount of cooling fans will be able to keep a computer cool enough to run properly in such extreme circumstances

dubsports
04-26-2003, 08:27 PM
A local shop demo car had a pc setup in the trunk and I'll agree its definately worth some props.

You'd be surprised at how well a good hard disk will withstand the torture of the road, just make sure you pick up a good quality one
http://www.dangeo.com/proddetail.php?sku=20316
I'd probably think the drive would last a good year or so. Which is pretty pathetic for a drive, concidering most are rated to run for long after you and I pass on. (well.. im exagerating (<---spelling) but you get the point.)
cost:benefit.. I think coughing up a little cash a year to replace your HDD is well worth it, for having such a cool addition to your ride.

Just make sure you get a motorola blue tooth.. downloading tunes while on the road.. does it get any sweeter?

Good luck with that.

Matador
04-28-2003, 03:46 PM
check this out, i was plannin tog et this for my house, but it could work in the car


http://www.compusa.com/products/product_info.asp?product_code=292419&pfp=BROWSE

fantomas
04-28-2003, 04:24 PM
Originally posted by Matador
check this out, i was plannin tog et this for my house, but it could work in the car


http://www.compusa.com/products/product_info.asp?product_code=292419&pfp=BROWSE


i always thought that some video cards had TV out?

KAMAK
04-28-2003, 04:51 PM
Originally posted by fantomas
i always thought that some video cards had TV out?

My Radeon has an svideo but no other av outs. Gforce might have them on some of there cards.

eengrms
04-28-2003, 06:02 PM
Originally posted by KAMAK
My Radeon has an svideo but no other av outs. Gforce might have them on some of there cards.

That's a major misconception in video cards. The TV-Out is not truly "S-Video", on most cards that is, some cards it does work as "S-video" but only if the manufacturer actually calls it that. For the most part, it is a DIN cable that can connect to multiple types of converter cables. You can get a DIN to RCA converter cable for about $2 at any computer store and make your "S-video" TV-out card talk to RCA. It's pretty simple. Radeon's work like this as well.

As for a computer in the car. The hard drive will probably never suffer any problems from the bumps in the road. The disks are encased pretty well and unless you are off-roading, you shouldn't have any problem. In the near future we will have completely digital computers with no moving parts whatsoever, so it should be easier to integrate into your ride.

fantomas
04-28-2003, 06:59 PM
those head units that store data..is that digital?

HybridMike
05-01-2003, 03:54 PM
Hey Guys, I was surfing along and found this forum, My company is Hybrid Mobile Solutions... I was rather intrigued by the talk of the Computer for your car, this is going to come alot sooner than most of you might realize. We are Introducing a new product this year at SEMA, (Specialty Equipment Market Association) Part of which includes a dash mountable PC with DVD playback, TV and FM stereo receiver, MP3 w/ Thumbdrive, Voice Recognition, GPS Navigation, and a UXGA (1600 x 1200) Touch Screen. The computer itself has 4 USB ports, 2 1394 (firewire) Ports, Composite out, SVideo Out, 20 to 80gig HD, up to 512MB Ram 10/100/1000 Gigalan, 56k Modem, 16bit sound w/microphone input. This in conjunction with the Hybrid CECU, (Computer Enhanced Control Unit) and our own software to simplify the Front end operation, makes for a powerful system...our website is new and offers some information, but the best info is in our forum for now...we are in the prototype phase and expect a solid product available by Jan 04....any feedback is welcome, we are offering a partnership program so you could purchase the core cpu at a extremely discounted rate. thank you
Mike

Woodmister
05-01-2003, 08:17 PM
eengrms where can I get that connector? Is it really only 2ish?

Mac11
05-01-2003, 08:26 PM
Originally posted by HybridMike
Hey Guys, I was surfing along and found this forum, My company is Hybrid Mobile Solutions... I was rather intrigued by the talk of the Computer for your car, this is going to come alot sooner than most of you might realize. We are Introducing a new product this year at SEMA, (Specialty Equipment Market Association) Part of which includes a dash mountable PC with DVD playback, TV and FM stereo receiver, MP3 w/ Thumbdrive, Voice Recognition, GPS Navigation, and a UXGA (1600 x 1200) Touch Screen. The computer itself has 4 USB ports, 2 1394 (firewire) Ports, Composite out, SVideo Out, 20 to 80gig HD, up to 512MB Ram 10/100/1000 Gigalan, 56k Modem, 16bit sound w/microphone input. This in conjunction with the Hybrid CECU, (Computer Enhanced Control Unit) and our own software to simplify the Front end operation, makes for a powerful system...our website is new and offers some information, but the best info is in our forum for now...we are in the prototype phase and expect a solid product available by Jan 04....any feedback is welcome, we are offering a partnership program so you could purchase the core cpu at a extremely discounted rate. thank you
Mike


Is this gonna be like a dash mounted laptop style computer or like an in dash HU style unit?



-Mac

DiB
05-01-2003, 09:13 PM
On tech tv they put this in their car:

Fujitsu Plasmavision SlimScreen 61-inch monitor (http://www.plasmavision.com/index(3).html)

HybridMike
05-02-2003, 07:32 AM
Is this gonna be like a dash mounted laptop style computer or like an in dash HU style unit?


Right now its a 7"x4" High res touch screen that will fit in a double din mount, the cpu has the footprint of a CD Jewl case stacked 4 high...but we are in the process of finalizing a double din mount motorized indash all in one unit, which hopefully will be ready by November when we go to sema, otherwise we will use what we are using.

eengrms
05-02-2003, 09:00 AM
Originally posted by Woodmister
eengrms where can I get that connector? Is it really only 2ish?

http://www.extremecomputing.com/svideorca.html

Here is an example of the cable. It's $4 here, but you might be able to find it cheaper. You can find them anywhere to be honest, Staples, Radio Shack, maybe even Best Buy or Circuit City?



Originally posted by HybridMike
Right now its a 7"x4" High res touch screen that will fit in a double din mount, the cpu has the footprint of a CD Jewl case stacked 4 high...but we are in the process of finalizing a double din mount motorized indash all in one unit, which hopefully will be ready by November when we go to sema, otherwise we will use what we are using.

This sounds pretty cool. Do you have a website we can go to and look? I'm sure there will be some interest in this board for this product.

Mac11
05-02-2003, 08:53 PM
Originally posted by HybridMike
Right now its a 7"x4" High res touch screen that will fit in a double din mount, the cpu has the footprint of a CD Jewl case stacked 4 high...but we are in the process of finalizing a double din mount motorized indash all in one unit, which hopefully will be ready by November when we go to sema, otherwise we will use what we are using.

That does sound pretty tight man. I personally think the idea of the dash mounted screen and the seperate cpu instead of the motorized screen. mount the cpu say in te glove box of the center console or the trunk and have a remote for it....i dont really like the motorized screen style even in the in dash dvd players now. so is this intended to run the whole audio system or integrate with factory/aftermarket systems?


-Mac

HybridMike
05-03-2003, 12:51 PM
Yeah we have a website for you guys to look at. the best info is withen our forum, as the sites structure is still under construction....by the way the site is a full flash site so make sure you are using a high speed connection....some of the prototype cars are being documented as they are built, so I encourage anyone who is interested to sign up for our forum and give input....when we reach the market I want as much user input as possible....there are new developements on a daily basis, and we will try to keep the info coming into our site. Sorry I didnt post earlier but our server lost a drive yesterday, its been rebuilt and is working good now

http://www.hybridmobilesolutions.com

HybridMike
05-03-2003, 01:08 PM
Oh yeah this is going to be intended to replace everything and be a one purchase solution "do all" However you will be able to do many things that are not possible with devices on the market today. and our target price range is well under what one might pay for an Alpine DVD indash....we are looking at a basic unit for around 1700.00 which is upgradeable from there. we will also be offering different packages that have features acustomed to specific groups...

Mac11
05-03-2003, 04:20 PM
im about to head over to your forum to check it out but i ha a question or a suggestion....since its going to replace everything you will be able to hook up external amplifiers to it right?



-Mac

HybridMike
05-03-2003, 04:36 PM
yes, and we will offer a amplifier module as well for the CECU that will give you 50w x 2 if you just wanted simple solution! but yes this is intended for high end systems as well

Mac11
05-03-2003, 04:57 PM
Originally posted by HybridMike
yes, and we will offer a amplifier module as well for the CECU that will give you 50w x 2 if you just wanted simple solution! but yes this is intended for high end systems as well

i would think that most people that are gonna be looking at this unit are gonna wanna run ther systems off external amplifiers. one way you could dump some size/weight/cost of the unit would be to just exclude an internal ampliier and give it a bunch of preamp outputs. say 4 channel full range + non fading sub out. just a thought.


-Mac

PS If you need anymore test cars feel free to throw one of those units in my car. I'd be happy to try it out for ya.:D :D

HybridMike
05-03-2003, 05:33 PM
I gonna try to explain the main unit here.... what we have is a control unit that hooks up via USB to the PC, inside this CECU is a buss structure similar to that of PCI type cards....(much smaller though) the Basic unit would only be a power supply for the computer, (18vdc) with power consumption monitoring, this allows you to leave the PC on, when the battery starts to lose current, the pc is shut down automaticly...(approx. a day and a half, depending on your batterys current state) ....however if you wanted to add aditional cards that have specific applications you can do so without having to purchase new equipment...this gives the user a variety of options and flexibility as well as upgradeability. some of the expansion cards in production are: OBDII Diagnostic Engine management, Accelerometer (0-60, 1/4mi, Braking, and slalom), General Purpose I/O, Switching Relays, Analog Metering inputs..ie...(Rms metering, sensor readings), 2 Channel Amplifier cards...which can be stacked to make 4 or 6 channel...ect.. true most of you will use this for external amps, but we had to make this product "out of the box" friendly, just like when you buy a Alpine head unit, it has 4 speaker outputs...however they never get used when you use external amplification.:eek:

HybridMike
05-03-2003, 05:36 PM
PS If you need anymore test cars feel free to throw one of those units in my car. I'd be happy to try it out for ya.


What kind of car do you have?...we are offering the main pc and touchscreen at a significant discount in order to get prototype testing done...its a possibility:D

Mac11
05-03-2003, 07:00 PM
03 Hyundai Tiburon

discount...errm. its gonna have to be a hell of a discount...im poor as hell right now but lets talk. you can email me at mciverkr@uindy.edu or im on AOL at 'IN Heat72'


-Mac

Mac11
05-03-2003, 10:23 PM
hey mike

you guys got a hell of a site there. i just registered for your forums. the whole thing has got me stoked on that little pc. sounds like its gonna be tight. hopefully we can work something out.


-Mac

HybridMike
05-04-2003, 03:38 AM
you should check it out now, i was up till 3:30 this morning working on it! Now there is feature specs in the products site, (far right) there you should find some interesting specs on the PC

fantomas
05-04-2003, 02:33 PM
Originally posted by HybridMike
you should check it out now, i was up till 3:30 this morning working on it! Now there is feature specs in the products site, (far right) there you should find some interesting specs on the PC

nice.....except....56k modem? im not quite sure i want to be driving around with a telephone wire connecting my car and the nearest phone jack. lol.

Mac11
05-05-2003, 02:18 AM
Originally posted by fantomas
nice.....except....56k modem? im not quite sure i want to be driving around with a telephone wire connecting my car and the nearest phone jack. lol.


i hope your joking?

HybridMike
05-05-2003, 10:31 AM
that might cause a problem unless you have a very very very long phone line....haha...just kidding, I was just letting everyone know what features are on the pc itself...this thing is so small that one could have this in a glovebox, and if say you wanted to take it in to work you could unhook it and take it inside to use as your office too...hence a 56k modem might come in handy....the key word here might...its just a feature...it does have an ethernet too and an option for a wifi adapater if you wanna get really tricky

Mike:crazy:

Rmsanger
09-21-2003, 10:52 AM
Hey I might be kinda interested in trying something like that out. I work at Gateway in SW Florida and I've had a couple people who have talked about integrating their laptopts into their big rig trucks so that might be an interesting idea. I'll give them a link to your forum. How much are you discouting the sytems right now, I've got a 00 Civic. You can pm me if you want.

jonboy385
11-02-2003, 08:05 PM
Hybrid Mike, I am very interested in your product. Because i am in the computer business, but also in to cars a lot. I have an external amp and a whole stereo system in my car. But i was thinking of putting a laptop in my car, but its just a lot of hassle and your product seems to do it all. I have a 97 Nissan altima with double din. I will buy the product for sure when it comes out. But if i can get a prototype, that would be great. The $1700 is a lil bit too much for starting price.
Thanks Jon
johnnyboy32485@yahoo.com
aol: dubelog7
Thanks