PDA

View Full Version : porting help?



phillipcyoung
10-22-2007, 06:33 PM
trying to build my first box for an sql system. almost done building my box but i have to make and tune my ports. its a wedge box and im going to put in aeroports that come down from the top of the box. I have a 10 foot piece of 4'' pvc that i am going to cut and use for the ports. I want to cut and put them in today but i dont know how long they need to be and whether i need to use 2 or 4 also i have no idea how long that they need to be? i would rather go with 2 if possible. trying to tune at around 33hz. have a lot of pics but have to go get the usb cable for the camera b4 i can post them. until i can get them up here is the design link from rf with the dimensions.

http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/rftec...depth2_in=6.25

any help would be greatly appreciated!

dB-SPL
10-22-2007, 09:41 PM
What driver is being used and what is the internal cubic foot of the box (empty)?

-Bill-

phillipcyoung
10-22-2007, 10:03 PM
the rf page isnt working. the drivers are two rd alpha v1's and the internal volume is 5.76 cubic feet. it is a basic wedge design that is 56'' long like 22'' high and 10.75'' deep.

phillipcyoung
10-22-2007, 10:05 PM
http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/rftech/box_wizard.asp?type=wedge&units=standard&wood=0.75&method=internal&wedge_height_in=21.5&wedge_width_in=54&wedge_depth1_in=10.75&wedge_depth2_in=6.25

dB-SPL
10-22-2007, 10:47 PM
After sub + port displacement, the subs will see about 5.3 cu.ft. 5.3-cubes tuned to 33Hz with two 4" ports would make an 8.8" port length.

-Bill-

phillipcyoung
10-23-2007, 12:18 AM
you are the greatest