PDA

View Full Version : 6x9's in Saturn Doors

Tortooga
10-18-2007, 03:54 PM
Do any of you know if I can fit 6x9's in the front doors of a 99 Saturn SL?

I know that I would have to cut out some metal (the factory holes are for 6.5"- I'm not worried about that), but the depth is the issue... Is there a way around that?
I guess that the other thing would be whether to mount them under the door panel? Or would that be bad?
I am pretty new at car audio stuff, so please excuse me if this is a stupid question...

Thanks.

SethPhillips
10-18-2007, 03:56 PM
make a 3/4 speaker baffle (spacer) to add more depth. and you might not have to cut.. also make sure ur door panel dosent interfear.

Tortooga
10-18-2007, 04:03 PM
If I add 3/4", under the door panel, it will probably stick out enough that I wouldn't be able to re-attach it to the door. Would you recommend cutting out a hole in that for the speaker? Or mounting the speaker on top. I would think that on top would look pretty stupid, but maybe not...

Thanks.

goodstuff
10-18-2007, 04:15 PM
If you don't have the nessacary depth then you will have to make some baffles out of mdf like this picture but for the shape of the speaker you are trying to fit ie oval and not round like these ones for my 6 1/2's.

http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e394/damagedd/S5030393.jpg

you can also check out my door speaker build log for ideas...

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=248366

just dont go crazy and hack the door panel like I did.

Tortooga
10-18-2007, 04:46 PM
Cool. Thanks!

Nice work BTW. You made that look pretty nice.

I'll see what I can do...

Thanks!

mlstrass
10-18-2007, 04:47 PM
Just run 6.5's up front, done deal....

shavenblazer
10-18-2007, 04:49 PM
Why do you want to run 6x9's up front??

Tortooga
10-18-2007, 05:27 PM
I have 6.5's in the front now and 6x9's in the back... back speakers are much better sounding, so I figure if I go 6x9's both places, it would sound even better :)