PDA

View Full Version : Crystal CTS30T's



Grinder1989
10-15-2007, 11:04 PM
Would these tweets be ok with 50-75 watts RMS? I bought tweets and 6.5's separate and I'm not really sure how to wire them up. Obviously I want them on the front channels of my amp but I'd have 4 speakers and only four channels......I also have rear fill in ATM so how would I wire them?

Latina33
10-15-2007, 11:44 PM
Would these tweets be ok with 50-75 watts RMS? I bought tweets and 6.5's separate and I'm not really sure how to wire them up. Obviously I want them on the front channels of my amp but I'd have 4 speakers and only four channels......I also have rear fill in ATM so how would I wire them?

No, I don't think so, especially for long playing durations. I had a set of Crystal SSCS6's a while back I was trying to go active with, and after going through 3 sets of tweeters, I found out the hard way that the titanium dome they come with is only rated for 25w RMS.

Grinder1989
10-15-2007, 11:51 PM
No, I don't think so, especially for long playing durations. I had a set of Crystal SSCS6's a while back I was trying to go active with, and after going through 3 sets of tweeters, I found out the hard way that the titanium dome they come with is only rated for 25w RMS.

ok well then how would I set it up correctly if my mids need 75 RMS?

dragnix
10-15-2007, 11:56 PM
if u only have 2ch. of amplification then I think ur only way is to use a passive crossover. Btw, i had the same tweets on more than 25watts and it was fine

Grinder1989
10-15-2007, 11:58 PM
I have 4 channels and I have a xm-6

dragnix
10-16-2007, 12:00 AM
then ur amp should have separate gains for the 1/2 channel and the 3/4 channel correct? Then just lower the gain on the channels powering the tweets. I think the xm6 has a gain function on it also tho, correct?

Grinder1989
10-16-2007, 12:03 AM
then ur amp should have separate gains for the 1/2 channel and the 3/4 channel correct? Then just lower the gain on the channels powering the tweets. I think the xm6 has a gain function on it also tho, correct?

yes it does.....its just a cheapie amp....my concern is if I get a more powerful amp....for example my ProMos450.....50x4 @ 12volts......I just don't want to destroy my new tweets.

The Xm-6 does have gain control.

dragnix
10-16-2007, 12:08 AM
u can't blow it as long as u set the gain correctly.

Grinder1989
10-16-2007, 12:11 AM
OK well then I'll make sure everything is perfect (I'll get some help from a friend) Thanks man.