PDA

View Full Version : factory speaker wire



30mm
10-08-2007, 03:52 PM
i'm going to be installing my system this weekend and i was thinking why buy speaker wire if i could just use the speaker wire from the factory speakers instead of running new wire.

couldn't i do that?

Foote
10-08-2007, 04:14 PM
i'm going to be installing my system this weekend and i was thinking why buy speaker wire if i could just use the speaker wire from the factory speakers instead of running new wire.

couldn't i do that?

depends. Higher gauge wire will usually let you get more power to the speakers. And at certain levels of wattage, your gonna need bigger than (Im guessing 16 AWG) that probably comes factory. Also, people have said that the quality (thread count and oxygen level) of the wire makes an audible difference in component speakers, but not so much for bass. :D

Foote
10-08-2007, 04:14 PM
i'm going to be installing my system this weekend and i was thinking why buy speaker wire if i could just use the speaker wire from the factory speakers instead of running new wire.

couldn't i do that?

depends. Higher gauge wire will usually let you get more power to the speakers. And at certain levels of wattage, your gonna need bigger than (Im guessing 16 AWG) that probably comes factory. Also, people have said that the quality (thread count and oxygen level) of the wire makes an audible difference in component speakers, but not so much for bass. :D

30mm
10-08-2007, 07:13 PM
they aren't component speakers. coax

Gary S
10-08-2007, 08:11 PM
If they are going in the factory locations, sure, why not? You won't hear any difference.

DejaWiz
10-08-2007, 11:01 PM
As others have stated, it's going to depend on the gauge of the factory wire and how much power you intend on sending through them.

If you haven't already, consult the Wiring Guide (http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=166038) thread.

30mm
10-09-2007, 03:31 PM
eeehhhh i might as well just do it the right way and use some new speaker wire.

DejaWiz
10-09-2007, 03:43 PM
Good man.

79corona
10-12-2007, 09:59 AM
30mm, you never stated the kind of power you were going to run to the speakers. Don't use new wire until you've considered that.

30mm
10-12-2007, 03:52 PM
i did in my other post about it.

they're only going to be run off the hu which is 16 watts rms 50 peak

79corona
10-15-2007, 09:52 AM
Your factory wires are probably sufficient.