PDA

View Full Version : factory speaker wire



30mm
10-08-2007, 03:50 PM
i'm going to be installing my system this weekend and i was thinking why buy speaker wire if i could just use the speaker wire from the factory speakers instead of running new wire.

couldn't i do that?

DejaWiz
10-08-2007, 03:52 PM
Depends on what gauge it is and how much power you plan on sending through them.

If you haven't already, consult the Wiring Guide (http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=166038).

30mm
10-08-2007, 03:54 PM
well they're only going to be run off the new hu i bought so the max wattage would be 50

30mm
10-08-2007, 03:57 PM
well they're only going to be run off the new hu i bought so the max wattage would be 50.


is there a way to figure out what gauge speaker wire i already have?

30mm
10-08-2007, 03:59 PM
well they're only going to be run off the new hu i bought so the max wattage would be 50.


is there a way to figure out what gauge speaker wire i already have?

30mm
10-08-2007, 04:01 PM
oops. stupid school computers i swear

kingpin_jeffie
10-09-2007, 04:31 PM
The stock wiring will be fine for the new HU. Normally auto makers run 18-22 awg.
Someone correct me if I'm wrong.