PDA

View Full Version : Avic-D3 powering G35 speakers



noooorb
10-04-2007, 01:17 PM
Hi guys. I have a G35 sedan with a Bose. I'd like to bypass the amp and wire the D3 directly to the speakers (to the wires coming out of the Bose amp). Is it safe to do so? I read somewhere that the G35 speakers might be 2ohm... not sure.

chopsu3i
10-04-2007, 01:24 PM
use a multimeter and find out. or if you dont have one/dont want to spend the money on one, take the speaker out physically and look at the bottom. almost all speakers have an impedence rating on the bottom of the magnet or something.

blackmax
10-04-2007, 11:45 PM
G35's (bose) have 2 ohm speakers. Infinity and jbl (and others) make a 2ohm speaker that can be had for around $50 a set.

noooorb
10-05-2007, 10:09 AM
Will the D3 be ok powering the 2-ohm stock speakers? (I'm content with how they sound preety much)

blackmax
10-05-2007, 01:39 PM
I wouldn't do it. I doubt the d3 is 2ohm stable. After you change your mids you will not go back to the bose. btw where did you get your dash kit and what year is your g?

6spdcoupe
10-05-2007, 10:18 PM
Use the factory amp. Metra P/N: 70-7551 or convert the standard RCAs to male RCAs and use the preout section of the D3. Make sure you actually ground the HU and do not try to use the 'ground' wire in the harness.

Fiercetimbo17
10-06-2007, 04:36 AM
Why do you want to bypass the amp?? And no that unit is not 2 ohm stable it will fry it or just constantly go into protect. Use your bose amp and integrate unless it is going bad

noooorb
10-06-2007, 02:37 PM
Ok I'll integrate it. Thanks for the info.

nismos14
10-07-2007, 02:23 AM
2 extra o's and an extra r.