PDA

View Full Version : Internal box bracing... Needed?



OoMesKoO
10-03-2007, 10:53 AM
Hey guys. All this talk about bracing this, and bracing that... i figured id ask. I built this a while back, and am very satisfied with it. Although, there only gettin about 1200w probably even less... from a hifonics BX1500D. Much overrated.




http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v685/oomeskoo/IMAG0005-1.jpg





Although, im not sure if it needs to be braced on the inside at all. Its 4.5 cubes tuned to 35Hz. I didnt use any bracing. I wasnt sure if i needed it. now that its built, i figure i can take the subs out, and maybe figure out some sort of bracing. But is it needed, or should i just leave it alone?

Trixter
10-03-2007, 01:30 PM
if it sounds good why mess with it?

if you do, to not take up a lot of your volume, just use some triangle pieces about 4" long or so and have them in the corner in the center of the panels.

Lakota
10-03-2007, 06:12 PM
Threaded rod works best.

IgnoreMe
10-03-2007, 06:15 PM
how long is that port?

sometimes you can get lucky and the port wall is nice and long, and will act as its own brace, so none is really needed.

anyway we can get a shot of it? or can you tell us?

iagrdshaka
10-03-2007, 09:41 PM
Threaded rod works best.

:word: