PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer CD Deck installation - NEED HELP! anybody???



Rookie_80
10-02-2007, 11:58 AM
hi everybody.
just joined this forum. I am a rookie in car audio world. Basically don't know nothing. Don't even know how to install radio. And that's what my post is about.

I recently bought Pioneer Deck (used). when i was buying it the guy hooked i up to the battery and it powered up. I personally can't install nothing and the guy who sold it to me wasn't going to do it. So i asked another person who told me he's been doing installation for years.
Before he uninstalled my old stereo everything was working fine.

After he installed pioneer: Subs are working but car door and back speakers don't.
I don't know if they power up or don't.

1)The guy who installed it says problem is with the Deck. RCA output is fine but speaker output is blown. Also says i shud get another amp (besides the one for my subs) for my door and back speakers.

2)the guy who sold it to me claims that whoever installed it doesn't know nothing about installation and claims everything was working perfectly. And says he did smthing worng.


Anybody had this problem?? Any ideas? Appreciate it a lot.

System: 2 crappy 12's and 1 10 L5 hooked up on sony 600w 4 channel amp.

amigo2u4 at yahoo dot com

TurdFergueson2
10-02-2007, 12:05 PM
which model Pioneer HU? If you are sure that the wiring behind the HU is wired correctly i would try the amp. I did have 2 channels on my amp die on me before.

Rookie_80
10-02-2007, 12:08 PM
The Deck is DEH-P5800mp.

im really short with Cash.

I just hope that he didn't install it right.

Imean is it possible that car speakers output on the Cd player is blown and subs out is working?

And again before he unistalled my old kenwood (plain Cd player) everythin was working in perfect order indoor speakers and subs. Was working fine.

Only reason for purchasing new deck: i was tired o burning CDs --wanted an mp3 deck

TurdFergueson2
10-02-2007, 12:16 PM
I had a similar problem with mine where on the back of my harness the wire was blue and the one to make me hear music from the cd player is blue with a white stripe. The radio would play but not the cd player. After a few hours i figured it out. Before ruling it a bad deck, make sure the wiring is correct. Also make sure it is properly grounded. If you feel uncomfortable, you may have to take it to a shop.

Rookie_80
10-02-2007, 12:23 PM
No actually i have a friend who can take a look at it.

he installed his own in dash a while ago. But he's not a pro.

You are right there was blue with white stripe cable and plus my amp is connected to a swtich cable and that caused a lil confusion to the guy who installed it.

he was pretty much following the manual--- so i don't know if he did a good job or not.

I hope u right and it's just not connected right.

fwb_1234
10-02-2007, 12:26 PM
What the installer guy said makes sense, if he is right. The way that this thing works is this.
The guy who showed you that it powered up hooked up the positive (yellow), negative (black), and remote (red) wires. Once he did that, it probably lit up and would accept CD's, etc. What he showed you does NOT prove that the internal amp on the HU works.
There are actually 2 amps in your car - one in the back for your woofer, and an internal one inside the HU. If the internal amp blew, it would stop sending power to your speakers, but it would not interrupt the signal going back to your sub amp via those RCA cables. So yeah, it is possible for the speaker output to be blown and the sub out continue to work.
If the installer guy wants to clear his name, he should connect your stock HU back up and have the door speakers back up and running. If this is the case, then it's definitely, the Kenwood HU's internal amp.
Do you know why the other guy was trying to sell it? Is he a sleazy guy?
If you find that the HU amp is toast and the guy won't give back you dinero, buy a cheap 4 channel and run a signal back like you did with the sub amp, and that will fix your problem too.

Oh and pick one sub size and type. It's kind of tacky.

mlstrass
10-02-2007, 12:43 PM
Also might want to verify that the HU amp hasn't been turned off via the settings in the HU.

Rookie_80
10-02-2007, 12:45 PM
Thanks that help, but i hope you are wrong, so that i wudnt have to spend for another amp :)))


I will ask my buddy to try to rehook this one if it doesn work again, then im gon ask him to hook the old (kenwood) back on and if that one with the same installation process works fine then i'll have to purchase another 4 channel amp.

Anysuggestion on RMS power of the 4channel then for indoor speakers.

The guy who sold the pioneer deck to me was willing to meet up but he lives too far and when he was selling it he came closer---so u might be right but then again he wudnt go down in price so im not sure which one of them is wrong.

And my subs: i know its tacky but then again im just a starter who doesn know anything pretty much--for now it gives me good bass, its clear and lound enough to rattle my windshield.

fwb_1234
10-02-2007, 12:57 PM
Also might want to verify that the HU amp hasn't been turned off via the settings in the HU.

I don't think that pioneers have the option to turn of the internal amp, but definitely check your settings before going back to your two guys. You might try to call Pioneer tech too. They can help.

Rookie_80
10-02-2007, 01:00 PM
so Fred you don't think it has internal trun off for the amp form the deck???
im askin you this coz u have 7800MP and mine is 5800MP.
Yeah, i think it might be good idea to call pioneer.

Rookie_80
10-02-2007, 01:13 PM
I called Pioneer Customer Service automated answer for problem with no sound (i have sound comin only as a bass) was:

"Check negative wires for all 4 speakers, make sure they are separated or u will get no sound"

so im gon check that first i guess.

When they say negative which one they mean? i don know much and i saw wires by colors.

Rookie_80
10-02-2007, 01:21 PM
Talked to representative as well.

he suggested unhook it all and then trying to hook the White wire first and check if there's a sound.

He said blown internal amp is possibility but i shud check this first

fwb_1234
10-02-2007, 04:06 PM
No, my HU doesn't have that option. The negative is the one with the stripe on it. There are 4 channels, two wires each, for a total of 8 wires. Of those eight wires, there will be four solid-colored wires, and four white-striped wires in the corresponding colors.

For example. There is a purple wire and a purple wire with a stripe in it. These are the positive and negative leads for one particular speaker.

Rookie_80
10-03-2007, 12:53 PM
well the problem is that, the guy who installed it just was cuttin wires from my kenwwod and connecting pioneer wire to those wires with a tape.

so i don't know man, but he looked in the pioneer manula and said color and kenwood wires match in colors so, he cut the wires and started connecting---white to white, purple to purple, green to green and etc....

Also he left 2 wire from pioneer unconnected coz ---they were if not mistaking: "antenna" and "illumination" wires.

do u know what that is?

DejaWiz
10-03-2007, 01:11 PM
Power antenna wire and dimmer switch wires. They're not needed for the HU to function properly.

What kind of vehicle is this and was there a factory wiring harness adapter used for the Kenwood unit?

Rookie_80
10-03-2007, 01:40 PM
I'm Driving 96 Mustang.

Kenwood was wired 2 years ago by BestBuy professional.

Pioneer came with its own wiring harness.

So when the guy was installing it he just cut kenwood's wires in half, took out kenwood and taped pioneer's wires left out.
And the result is just subs are working--car speakers don't.

DejaWiz
10-03-2007, 01:52 PM
Make sure the output mode for the rears is on Full Range on not Sub mode. I think it's on page 38 in the manual.

Rookie_80
10-03-2007, 02:06 PM
I'll check the outputs, will check the manual too and let u know.

but what do u personally think? i know info is limited but your first though is:

burned internal amp of the HeadUnit or wrong installation?

and in the worst case if it is burned ..i mean how bad is it...is it worth it to run new amp with new RCA's and speaker wires or is it just better to try to gid rid of it LETTIN PPL know whats wonrg with it and just purchase a new one or inout the old kenwood.

DejaWiz
10-03-2007, 02:10 PM
Well, if all the settings in the HU itself are set to default, then it could very well be that the internal amps are done for. Definitely check to make sure the wiring to the speakers is, in fact, correct.


[edit] I agree with what audiobahnuser said about the subs below. Maybe just try the L5 alone. It's likely being starved badly since it's sharing that kind of power with 2 other subs.

audiobahnuser18
10-03-2007, 02:11 PM
Don't mix sub sizes. and man everyone is a rookie when they start out i mean sh*t look at me i picked the name audiobahnuser lol i know sad guys but i knew know better. but youll learn man as you go along im still learning today everyone here on the forums is usually really helpful dude welcome to the forums.

Rookie_80
10-03-2007, 04:13 PM
Thanks for welcoming.

Sure, i can try kjust L5 alone. but the only reason i thought i might get better sound with 2 12' Magnum (noname) and 1 10 L5 kicker just because my amp is not monoblock.

My amp is Sony 600w 4/3 channel amp.

Do u still think i shud just connect 10 L5 alone to it or keep 2 12's running to.

i ran 2 12's bridged on 2 channels and kicker bridged on other 2 channels.
i think....

DejaWiz
10-03-2007, 05:29 PM
What model Sony amp and do you have a dual 2 ohm or dual 4 ohm L5 sub?

Rookie_80
10-03-2007, 05:37 PM
Amp pretty sure its Sony XM4060GTX. Older, red with black edges.

And L5, its dual voice coil, not sure bout ohms.

i wasnt the one installin. can later post a picture though

DejaWiz
10-03-2007, 05:49 PM
Amp pretty sure its Sony XM4060GTX. Older, red with black edges.

And L5, its dual voice coil, not sure bout ohms.

i wasnt the one installin. can later post a picture though

Ah, I just found the specs.

FOUR CHANNEL MODE:
4x60w rms @ 4ohms

THREE CHANNEL MODE:
2x60w rms + 1x150w rms @ 4 ohms

So yeah, that amp is definitely starving the L5 any way you slice it.

Rookie_80
10-03-2007, 05:51 PM
so whats ur suggestion?

better amp ? which one? for reasonalbe price?

and if i keep this one, whats the best way to hook it up?

DejaWiz
10-03-2007, 06:00 PM
so whats ur suggestion?

better amp ? which one? for reasonalbe price?

and if i keep this one, whats the best way to hook it up?

Here's what I would do:

1. Use your Sony amp to run the interior speakers. If the HU's internal amps are fried, then it should not be a problem running an external amp.
2. Determine if your L5 is dual 2 or dual 4 ohm and provide us as much details on the 12's as you can so we can better determine if those or your single L5 would provide a better sub stage.
3. Once we've determined what would make for a better sub stage, buy an appropriate class d mono amp.

Rookie_80
10-03-2007, 06:34 PM
well those 2 12's are Magnum subs. Not so good but still givving me bass.
Claiming to be 1000w max, 500w Rms. Being sold in C.City.

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Magnum-Dual-12-Loaded-Enclosure-Magna-Bass-Amplifier-Combo-MB212P/sem/rpsm/oid/162819/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do

(i still have the magnum mono D 1000w amp (well site claims it to be 1000w, but since its not brand, it might be lower in wattage)

since it was affordable and it was my first subs ever i went for it.
Then i got L5 10 which is 450w RMS.

so... maybe 600w sony for internal speakers and that mono sub for the kicker and get rid of 2 12's???

or?

DejaWiz
10-03-2007, 07:56 PM
well those 2 12's are Magnum subs. Not so good but still givving me bass.
Claiming to be 1000w max, 500w Rms. Being sold in C.City.

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Magnum-Dual-12-Loaded-Enclosure-Magna-Bass-Amplifier-Combo-MB212P/sem/rpsm/oid/162819/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do

(i still have the magnum mono D 1000w amp (well site claims it to be 1000w, but since its not brand, it might be lower in wattage)

since it was affordable and it was my first subs ever i went for it.
Then i got L5 10 which is 450w RMS.

so... maybe 600w sony for internal speakers and that mono sub for the kicker and get rid of 2 12's???

or?

Might as well use what you got!

Take the L5 out for now.
Hook the Magnum amp up to the Magnum subs and run that for now. hey... at least it'll be covering the lows, right?
Use the Sony amp for the interior speakers.
Find out if the L5 is D2 or D4 voice coils and buy an appropriate mono amp for it when money permits.
Build an appropriately ported box for the L5 if it's not already in one.
Test both the Magnum and the Kicker sub setups separately and decide which setup fits your needs better.That outta do the trick.

Oh, and can you find out what the total fuse value is for that Magnum amp?

Rookie_80
10-03-2007, 08:16 PM
yeah shud tell u by tomorrow.

and kicker is boxed already was bought from Circuit city with a grill on.

really don want to take it out.

Rookie_80
10-04-2007, 05:24 PM
Hey by the way one more thing:

Which are negative wires and which are positive.

To me they are all colored ones--prurple, green, blue white etc...

and as customer support was tellin me two negative shud not be connected together right?

See guys, thats how much i know :)

DejaWiz
10-04-2007, 05:42 PM
For the purple: Positive will be a solid purple, Negative will be purple with some kind of line on it (black solid, white solid, silver striped, black striped, etc etc).

Rookie_80
10-04-2007, 07:33 PM
so just to make it clear all positive are solid color and negative is the matchin color but with a stripe on it?

and u shud connect it like solid color to mtaching color with a stripe on it?

DejaWiz
10-04-2007, 07:59 PM
so just to make it clear all positive are solid color and negative is the matchin color but with a stripe on it?

and u shud connect it like solid color to mtaching color with a stripe on it?

Solid to solid, striped to striped of the same color.

electropro
10-04-2007, 11:43 PM
Power antenna wire and dimmer switch wires. They're not needed for the HU to function properly.

What kind of vehicle is this and was there a factory wiring harness adapter used for the Kenwood unit?

Kinda makes you wonder if he has an OEM amp, and if so, is he powering that up via the remote/p. antenna wire allowing signal to reach speakers? :crazy::veryhapp::crazy:

What vehicle???

Rookie_80
10-05-2007, 11:24 AM
It's 1996 Mustang V6 3.8L

so about that monochannel Magnum Mono Amp that claims to be 1000W.
The fuse on it, its yellow color with number 20 on it.

Does it say anything bout its power? is it Overrated? is it gon be enough to push 300-450 RMS 1 Sub?

I mean coz if internal amp is blown and the mofo who sold it to me don give my moeny back (which im pretty sure he won't) -- then maybe I shud in fact disconnect my 4 channel Sony from 2 12' and 1 10" , and connect it to 4 speakers inside and take that monochannel and connect it to kicker 10" and just take 2 12's out.


What u guys think?
if u buy used stuff on a street or offline and its messed up and if u still have contact of the seller, can u kinda get ur money back or get him if he doesnt give it back?
pretty sure i cant but just wanted to ask.

DejaWiz
10-05-2007, 11:48 AM
It's 1996 Mustang V6 3.8L

so about that monochannel Magnum Mono Amp that claims to be 1000W.
The fuse on it, its yellow color with number 20 on it.

Does it say anything bout its power? is it Overrated? is it gon be enough to push 300-450 RMS 1 Sub?

I mean coz if internal amp is blown and the mofo who sold it to me don give my moeny back (which im pretty sure he won't) -- then maybe I shud in fact disconnect my 4 channel Sony from 2 12' and 1 10" , and connect it to 4 speakers inside and take that monochannel and connect it to kicker 10" and just take 2 12's out.


What u guys think?
if u buy used stuff on a street or offline and its messed up and if u still have contact of the seller, can u kinda get ur money back or get him if he doesnt give it back?
pretty sure i cant but just wanted to ask.

It's probably only going to output about 200-250w rms at the most. And yes, I'd use just the Kicker.

Rookie_80
10-05-2007, 11:53 AM
Hmmmmm. ok ok.

what about my setup now ---how much RMS u think im gettin now?

with 4 channel 600w Sony connected 2 12's 500rms and 1 10" 450rms


Thanks

DejaWiz
10-05-2007, 12:05 PM
Hmmmmm. ok ok.

what about my setup now ---how much RMS u think im gettin now?

with 4 channel 600w Sony connected 2 12's 500rms and 1 10" 450rms


Thanks

Here's what your Sony amp (http://www.amazon.com/Sony-4-Channel-Amplifier-XM4060GTX-XM-4060GTX/dp/tech-data/B0001XQNAM/ref=de_a_smtd/002-6723677-6384843) is rated at:

Power output (RMS):
Minimum continuous average power (supply voltage at 14.4V):
4 speakers: 60 watts x 4 (20 to 20 kHz, 0.08 percent THD, into 4 ohms), 75 watts x 4 (20 to 20 kHz, 0.1 percent THD, into 2 ohms);
3 speakers: 60 watts x 2 plus 150 watts x 1 (20 to 20 kHz, 0.1 percent THD, into 4 ohms)




If you use the Sony for the front and rears and the mono for the sub:
The Sony amp is rated for 4x60W rms at 4 ohms, so 240w rms there.
Plus the 250ish w rms from the mono amp.
You'll be running just shy of 500w rms with those amps.

Rookie_80
10-05-2007, 12:12 PM
Good. thanks,

but with this setup, i mean front an rears on their own.
how much RMS u think im gettin out of sony amp connected to subs only - 2 12's and 1 10' ?

DejaWiz
10-05-2007, 03:11 PM
Good. thanks,

but with this setup, i mean front an rears on their own.
how much RMS u think im gettin out of sony amp connected to subs only - 2 12's and 1 10' ?

As it says... 2x60w + 1x150w rms.

Rookie_80
10-05-2007, 11:40 PM
Guys, update!!!

me, myslef after all your help did the following unhooked pioneer deck put back kenwood, but how?

connected ground, yellow and red first and then just connected the front speakers and guess what? no sound!

when he pulled out my kenwood it was perfect after he installed this one no sound....

is it possible that by his connection he blew my speakers?????????????

tomorrow he's meeting me up to install 4 channel to indoor speakers and his 400 punch to my kicker , and will take my 12's out. u guys think this config will be better than previous?

anyway,
he still thinks problem was with the stereo.

i am 95 sure i connected errthing right, i listened to u guys plus foloowed the manual. ---- even kenwood powered on but no sound,

any thoughts?