PDA

View Full Version : So, whats going on here

Konstantin
10-01-2007, 09:28 PM
So 3 days ago I finally got my new amplifier in the mail (Diamond Audio D7 152) and went ahead and installed it. Didnt have much time lately so I only got to finally hear some songs today. Long story short, there are some weird background noises, probably coming from the tweeters.

The speakers are Rainbow Germaniums, rated for 150w per side, and the D7152 is rated 150w x2 so its good match :)

I first noticed these weird sounds in music with lots if guittar and drums, like Metallica. I then tried other CDs to make sure the tweets werent blown and they arent, because the other CDs I tried sounded awesome.

I dont really know how to explain the noise, I notice it when there are lots of drums/guitar notes playing fast, like if there is a small ammount of static in the background.

Now, this is my first time dealing with good quality items so maybe I am reproducing post production distortion, or something like that? Maybe this is what a harsh tweeter means? I have no idea. Could be the music source (I try to have all mp3s at 320kbps, but that doesnt mean that they are free of all errors like distortion or pops). I have the crossovers for the Germs set at the default they come (I think 2200 or 2600). Should I try other settings? Should I go higher, or lower?

I am really lost since I am not used to this :P Could I just be hearing things? Most songs sound crystal clear, at any volume.

mlstrass
10-01-2007, 09:32 PM
Could be crappy recordings or the speakers being pushed too hard and distorting. Is our tweet/treble EQ cranked all the way up? If so try turning it down some...

Konstantin
10-01-2007, 09:44 PM
I had the treble up, but now I turned everything to 0 and all eq off, including Loud. The HU is a kenwood kdc-x890. I turned all EQ off, but didnt have time to listen to many tracks. Will be doing that tommorow.

I guess I should say that I have the gain all the way down.

thefunkybunch